Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
3271 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Liany Tuesday, July 16, 2019 at 2:18 pm
    This is an awesome book!! I rember reading this in the third grade book fair. I got it to help me to get ready for my braces. I'll recommend it to anyone who is looking for a nice, fun, and quickly read.
    • FarisyaSunday, July 14, 2019 at 4:56 am
      This is the best book !!!!😁😁
      • loveyoutoo
        loveyoutooSaturday, July 13, 2019 at 1:02 pm55 stars
        I have not read the book but I well read it.
        • reader_red
          reader_redFriday, July 12, 2019 at 12:23 pm33 stars
          Raina has to get braces, but it gets even worse when she falls and damages her top two front teeth. after that, Raina is sent on a whirlwind adventure full of dentistry, friends, and former friends, new schools and even an earthquake.
          • kgautam
            kgautamThursday, July 11, 2019 at 9:43 am44 stars
            a great book by raina telgemeier ! she is an amazing author! this was a very entertaining autobiography, and it was cool to see what kind of stuff she went through.
            • selife
              selifeWednesday, July 10, 2019 at 1:30 pm44 stars
              It was totally awesome sause. I will read it over and over and over again! I was wheat book for young adults! This was a kid rating!
              • xeta
                xetaMonday, July 8, 2019 at 1:04 pm44 starsFeatured
                I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves quality graphic novels, experiences the pain and struggle of attempting to fit in, is dealing with social issues, or has/is currently suffering through an injury. I read this book years ago and yet the story has stuck with me till this day. It's an inspiring example of someone sharing their life story and doing what they love. As an aspiring comic book artist and author, and someone who has dealt with an embarrassing and painful injury, more specifically a mouth injury, I relate and deeply connected with her story. It was well written with an interesting, moral infused plot that kept me reading and learning(and laughing); talented and expressive illustrations; and relatable characters that kept me thoroughly entertained. There's truly something in this book for everyone. :) ~Xeta <3
                • sylvie55555
                  sylvie55555Saturday, July 6, 2019 at 5:20 pm55 stars
                  I love this book and how Raina Telegraimer manages to tell such a meaningful story through pictures. I would totally recommend this book. It tells a story about fitting in and how sometimes, you would rather do something that doesn’t make you fit in. Follow Raina through her middle and high school life.
                  • jini0710
                    jini0710Saturday, June 29, 2019 at 3:15 pm55 stars
                    This is a nonfiction that is in a comic. This happened to the author. This book is great and I learned a lesson. The lesson is... BE CAREFUL ALL THE TIME. try reading this BOOK!
                    • soccerchick03
                      soccerchick03Wednesday, June 26, 2019 at 5:37 am55 stars
                      This book was my favorite out of all of Raina Telgemeier graphic novels. This book was very fast moving about an early fall that changed her mouth for years of pain. This book talks about her school years and how to stand up to bullies. I recommend this book 9+

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonder
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      belle252