Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
2615 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • maddyloveshorse
    maddyloveshorseWednesday, July 26, 2017 at 8:09 am55 stars
    Based on Raina Telgemeier's childhood, Raina is just a normal 6th grader until one night as she is racing her friends home after a Girl Guide meeting, she trips and smashes her face into the concrete knocking out her two front teeth. After that everything changes. I recommend this book because the auther gave us a piece of herself in this story and her resilience was incredible.
    • wiseowlbookworm
      wiseowlbookwormSunday, July 23, 2017 at 6:09 pm55 stars
      This book is about Raina. She knocks out her 2 front teeth. This book tells of her story of her dental chaos. You will love this book. This is a great.
      • happyace
        happyaceSunday, July 23, 2017 at 8:04 am55 stars
        I really like Raina Telegemiers books. I have read almost all off them. I am really hoping if any more of her books comes out
        • smallpaul12
          smallpaul12Saturday, July 22, 2017 at 1:42 pm
          love this book!!!!
          • ☺☺☺☺swimmerThursday, July 20, 2017 at 3:42 pm
            omg this book is really good I totally recommend this book
            • luna83281
              luna83281Monday, July 17, 2017 at 8:42 pm44 stars
              i loved it! it was a very good slice of life novel.i am so happy for Raina. evan though it was a long,long complicated journey with lots of twist and turns ,and embarrassing experiences;everything turned out all right.for all the people that are thinking about reading it,this what i have to say:go for it! i promise that you that this book will go beyond your expectations.
              • hon99Monday, July 17, 2017 at 5:25 pm
                I love this book I read this 10 times
                • Sas21Monday, July 17, 2017 at 4:28 pm
                  This book is amazing! I read a few months ago and it is one of the best books I have read! I would definitely recommend this book.
                  • summerstar
                    summerstarMonday, July 17, 2017 at 2:42 pm
                    This book is great! You should really read it if you haven't. Raina is such a great character, especially in this book. You will smile while you read the book smile!
                    • kgautam
                      kgautamMonday, July 17, 2017 at 2:01 pm55 stars
                      smile is one of the greatest autobiographies ever written! Raina Telgemeier is a great storytelleter, and this story flows so smoothly! Smile shows the hardships of life, through a funny but heartwarming book.

                      Summer Reading 2017 ends in:

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books being read:2890
                      Books reviewed:917
                      Lip Moisturizer won:121
                      Belle's Library won:81
                      Blu-ray Combo Pack won:44
                      Schools participating:99
                      Libraries participating:1

                      Members (495)

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      rrwwnn
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      addglitter
                      dictionary
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      llpanda