Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard Book 1 The Sword of Summer

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.8118701
Magnus Chase has seen his share of trouble. Ever since that terrible night two years ago when his mother told him to run, he has lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, staying one step ahead of the police and truant officers.
One day, he's tracked down by an uncle he barely knows-a man his mother claimed was dangerous. Uncle Randolph tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.
The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants, and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.
When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.
Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

Paperback, 544 pages
Published on April 4, 2017 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423163370
ISBN-13: 9781423163374
152 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ryanng1letsgopa
    ryanng1letsgopaThursday, October 3, 2019 at 1:30 pm55 stars
    I have read most of the books that Rick Riordan has wrote within the past few years and they were cool. He puts little funny things in it too.
    • koalacloud
      koalacloudWednesday, June 19, 2019 at 10:40 am55 stars
      I've read this book over and over because I love it so much. I like the Norse Mythology and that it's different from the Greek Mythology from Rick Riordan's other books. It's funny and I love how different Thor is from all the movies I've seen. I recommend this book!
      • xx6figuresxx
        xx6figuresxxFriday, June 14, 2019 at 9:52 am55 stars
        This is the first book of my favorite series read it a million times.
        • peppa_pigSunday, June 2, 2019 at 6:30 pm
          at the beginning it is good but once you get to chapter 30 or so it is very boring but at the end it is kinda interesting.if you like percy jackson then i think you would like this book.
          • watercolrwonder
            watercolrwonderThursday, May 23, 2019 at 7:22 am55 stars
            This was a very good book. Rick Riordan has created and spun new twists on Greek and Egyptian mythology, and this book does a great job of telling classic Norse mythology in his own humorous manor.
            • lavoiem
              lavoiemMonday, May 6, 2019 at 7:48 pm44 stars
              I thought I wasn’t going to like this book because I was so into Percy Jackson books and they were still very fresh in my mind but I was wrong! I liked this book a lot! It was funny and actually very interesting. I was proven wrong in the best way possible and enjoyed this book a lot!!! Although it took me to the second book to realize that Annabelle from this book is the same one form the Percy Jackson series :)
              • AlexandraTuesday, April 9, 2019 at 6:12 pm
                this is a great book if you love adventure, mystery, and humor.It teaches you a lot about norse mythology.First read Percy Jackson.
                • pokemonlover405
                  pokemonlover405Saturday, March 16, 2019 at 4:18 pm44 stars
                  love this book but not as interesting as the Kane chronicles
                  • i play fortniteMonday, February 25, 2019 at 5:17 pm
                    I love this book!!!!!! I just finished it and I'm on the second book!! I definity recommend!!
                    • RobloxIsMehMonday, January 7, 2019 at 9:15 pm
                      I love this book so much. It began when I saw me classmates reading Rick Riordan's books. Then I thought maybe they are good. Then when I read Percy Jackson I realized it was amazing.( Percy Jackson and the Oylmpians The lightning theif was my first Rick Riordan book I read) I think all of us should read this book. I love this book so much!

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonder
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      belle252