Lea Clark is ten years old and ready to explore the whole world, just like her grandmother! But first she'll start with a family trip to Brazil, where her big brother, Zac, is studying the rainforest. Lea is really excited to see the ocean and when she does, she realizes she'd rather take picture of it than swim in it. Can she overcome her fear and dive in? Then she meets a fun new friend who inspires her to embrace the thrills and beauty of Brazil. But when the fun turns to danger, Lea must find the courage to face adventure head on! Where will the next adventure take her?
Paperback, 160 pages
Published on January 1, 2016 by American Girl
ISBN-10: 1609589971
ISBN-13: 9781609589974
103 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • smallpaul12
    smallpaul12Saturday, July 22, 2017 at 1:45 pm55 stars
    I have had this book at my house for a while and started it when I was young and didn't understand it but now I am older and understand it and love it!
    • lilibelle
      lilibelleTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 8:28 pm44 stars
      Lea dives in was another great American Girl book. It is amazing how the story of each and every one of the American Girl's is truly unique in it's own way.
      • ashtynfavero
        ashtynfaveroMonday, July 17, 2017 at 9:28 am
        Lea lives in St Louis Missouri, with her brother, Zach, her mom and dad, and her turtle, Ginger. Her grandmother, Ama, passed away, but before she did, she gave Lea her compass necklace. For Leas 10 birthday, Ama gave her a waterproof camera. Lea wondered why, because she was afraid of water. Ama said, she would help Lea overcome her fears. Lea said Ama was the most adventurous person ever. When Zach went to went to college, he went to Brazil. Now, Lea and her family are going to visit Zach. When they got there, Lea hardly recognized him. Lea really wanted to see the beach, so in the morning, she got her family up, and Zach ended up taking her. Zach splashed Lea, and she got very, very, mad. Later that day, Lea and her family went to the turtle sanctuary, and found out that baby turtles were hatching that very night. So, Lea and her family went to dinner. Lea poured onions and spices over her food, and Zach tells her to stop, but she doesn't. Soon, she feels like her mouth is on fire, and a girl just smiles and waves. The next day, Lea meets the girl again, and finds her name is Camila. Lea and Camila become friends. Lea and Zach meet Camila's cousin, Paloma. Then, their family goes on a snorkeling trip, and Lea loves it. They go again the day after that, but they all have a suprise for Lea, since it is their last day. They all go on a snorkeling trip, to the shipwreck, and Lea loses her camera. She finds it, and the Lea, Zach, and their Dad go hiking, and Lea's dad falls of a cliff. Zach and Lea get help, and their mom, who is on a surfing lesson, says Zach and Lea are her heros. Then, Camila gets Lea a dress, and they go to the celebration of Yemanja. Lea gives Yemanja her compass, and she and Zach watch as it floats away.
        • springchick114
          springchick114Wednesday, June 28, 2017 at 2:42 pm55 stars
          I read this book and I think it is amazing. Honestly, I love all books that involve the ocean. I love the ocean. I also think the american girl doll for Lea is beautiful. She has beautiful, wavy hair and bright green eyes. I absolutely adore it!
          • pizzagirl7
            pizzagirl7Friday, June 23, 2017 at 7:16 pm33 stars
            Lea (a 10 year old) was going on a trip to Brazil and she is going to go there with her brother and she has not seen him in a long time but he looks different now! 😢But she has a great time with her brother and makes new friends!πŸ’‹πŸ˜ I liked it a little bit I just could not really get into it tho but that my opinionπŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜† I would rate it 3/5🌟#i love reading so muchπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ
            • ajg15
              ajg15Friday, June 23, 2017 at 7:05 pm33 stars
              Lea Clark is a 10 year old girl who gets to go to Brazil! She is going to see her big brother Zac who she has not seen in 3 years. When she sees him she notices he looks different... Lea is so so so excited to go see the ocean but she soon realizes she is scared and would much rather take pictures... She meets some great new friends and goes on a great adventure! But will Lea ever dive in? Read more to find out. 3/5🌟
              • levi0sa
                levi0saThursday, June 22, 2017 at 1:05 pm33 stars
                At first I didn't think I would like this book. But I stayed with it and ending up really liking it in the end. I think the character Lea would be a fun person to hangout with. I liked learning about Brazil and the rain forest.
                • levi0sa
                  levi0saThursday, June 22, 2017 at 12:43 pm33 stars
                  I liked this book. I started off kind of boring but I stayed with and and wound up really liking it. I thought Lea seemed like she would be a really fun to hang out with. I loved the adventure and hearing about Brazil was neat.
                  • e06
                    e06Monday, June 19, 2017 at 8:38 am55 starsFeatured
                    In the beginning I thought, I will NOT enjoy this book, I mean before this, I didn't like *AmericanGirl stories. But this is awesome, it's about adventure, nature, and friendship you have to read this book because it is awesome! If you are nearby an *AmericanGirl Store, a bookstore, or a library, please pick it up!
                    • lilibelle
                      lilibelleThursday, June 15, 2017 at 8:44 pm44 stars
                      Lea dives in was another great American Girl book. It is amazing how the story of each and every one of the American Girl's is truly unique in it's own way.

                      Summer Reading 2017 ends in:

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books being read:2890
                      Books reviewed:917
                      Lip Moisturizer won:121
                      Belle's Library won:81
                      Blu-ray Combo Pack won:44
                      Schools participating:99
                      Libraries participating:1

                      Members (495)

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      rrwwnn
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      addglitter
                      dictionary
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      llpanda