Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.647079

Stanley Yelnats is sentenced to dig holes at Camp Green Lake detention centre for stealing a pair of trainers. Stanley's quest to discover what he is digging for leads to danger and adventure and to a confrontation with his family's past.

Paperback, 233 pages
Published on May 9, 2000 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0440414806
ISBN-13: 9780440414803
458 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • orangefoxes8
    orangefoxes8Thursday, May 30, 2019 at 6:37 am55 stars
    I decided to read this book-- well, our teacher did. We are still reading this book 'till this day! There is a kid named Stanley Yelnats, turns out his last name was spelled backwards and the same letters spelled forwards. So Stanley was innocent and told the officers he didn't steal it from the showcase. He was guilty and had a poor family. So all he had to do, was getting sent to camp for his own good. Not just any camp, Camp Green Lake. He told his cabin-mates he found the shoes by the shoes falling out of the sky for no reason. He thought it never belonged to someone. So he took it, and ran. He never knew why he was running. Probably from the guilt, or just running from another school day.
    • ilikebunnies
      ilikebunniesWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 6:56 pm
      this is a really good book about stanley yelnats and Zero try to get away. My favorite part was when they found gods thumb and were living there.
      • im-riddikulus
        im-riddikulusFriday, May 17, 2019 at 2:00 pm55 stars
        Ever complained about having to do a few chores? I know I have! However, after I read this book, I'm definitely glad that I only have to do a few! Holes is about Stanley Yelnats (yes his last name is Stanly spelled backward) who got in trouble for a crime he didn't commit. He has to go to Camp Greenlake (disclaimer: it's a dried up wasteland) and dig a hole every day that is 5 feet wide and 5 feet deep. As mysteries slowly unravel, Stanly has to decide where he stands and what he's going to do about his situation. I suggest this book to 4th grade and up. This is a great book!
        • jayjay_girl46
          jayjay_girl46Friday, May 17, 2019 at 7:50 am55 stars
          Actually best times of my life
          • jayjay_girl46
            jayjay_girl46Friday, May 17, 2019 at 7:49 am55 stars
            I used to read this with my old class. Ah such good times
            • DEVILMonday, May 6, 2019 at 9:40 pm
              i think this is the best book i have ever read other then the B.F.G. which you should go read. I think the B.F.G. and the Malala Yousafzai book are one of the best books including this book, i have ever read.
              • angelMonday, May 6, 2019 at 3:29 pm
                so good. I read it in one afternoon when i was in 2nd grade!
                • nunyaFriday, May 3, 2019 at 11:26 am
                  i love this book and movie
                  • TyannaFriday, May 3, 2019 at 9:24 am
                    it is good
                    • aubreWednesday, May 1, 2019 at 9:52 am
                      i rally like this book i have one at home and i read it over and over

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonder
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      belle252