Catrina and her family are moving to the coast of Northern California because her little sister, Maya, is sick. Cat isn't happy about leaving her friends for Bahía de la Luna, but Maya has cystic fibrosis and will benefit from the cool, salty air that blows in from the sea. As the girls explore their new home, a neighbor lets them in on a secret: There are ghosts in Bahía de la Luna. Maya is determined to meet one, but Cat wants nothing to do with them. As the time of year when ghosts reunite with their loved ones approaches, Cat must figure out how to put aside her fears for her sister's sake -- and her own.

Raina Telgemeier has masterfully created a moving and insightful story about the power of family and friendship, and how it gives us the courage to do what we never thought possible.
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on September 13, 2016 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540615
ISBN-13: 9780545540612
231 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • maddyloveshorse
    maddyloveshorseTuesday, July 25, 2017 at 10:07 pm55 stars
    Raina Telgemeier has done it again with this sad and inspiring book about two sisters, Cat and Maya. Maya has Cystic fibrosis a condition that infects her lungs so they move to the Oceanside. Cat is reluctant to leave her friends in her old town but she starts making new friends and realizes that this isn't so bad and its best for Maya. 5 stars because this book is good for every age.
    • nonstopreader
      nonstopreaderMonday, July 24, 2017 at 1:40 pm55 stars
      This book is VERY good it is a quick read and a graphic novel. It has some plot twist and is moving in some parts. I recommend it to anyone.
      • danipuppygirl
        danipuppygirlSunday, July 23, 2017 at 3:58 pm44 stars
        My older sister let me use her book. She liked it. When i read it I liked it too. The art work was awesome. This book was about remembering those who have died and help us remember good things.
        • howlergirl
          howlergirlSaturday, July 22, 2017 at 7:17 pm55 stars
          I love Raina Telgemeier and her books, they are just amazing! This book is about a girl named Cat, and her little sister Maya. In this book, they move to California and Cat doesn't like hearing that the town is full of ghosts and that on one special day, the day of the dead, ghosts come and reunite with their loved ones. At the end of the book, Cat and Maya discover that ghosts really do exist!
          • momoko12
            momoko12Wednesday, July 19, 2017 at 10:43 pm55 stars
            I loved this book so much. Raina Telgemeier makes some of the best graphic novels, her work is a big inspiration to me. Ghosts is a graphic novel that deals with a lot of hard topics like making new friends, sickness, death . The are work is beautiful and the story telling is amazing, I also really like how she incorporates The Day of the Dead and Spanish culture.
            • jo13
              jo13Tuesday, July 18, 2017 at 9:17 am22 stars
              Not the best book by Raina Telgemeir, but it was pretty good. Its about this girl who has to move due to her younger sister's breathing problems and she meets ghosts inside of the book. I didn't really like it but the drawings were good! :) I also liked the phone that the girl used inside of it lol cuz I'm such a tech freak.
              • hon99Monday, July 17, 2017 at 5:29 pm
                I love this book
                • kgautam
                  kgautamMonday, July 17, 2017 at 1:14 pm44 stars
                  Ghosts is a great book! This book shows the true meaning of friendship and family. I would reccomend it to kids who like graphic novels and Raina Telgemeier's books
                  • wiseowlbookworm
                    wiseowlbookwormSunday, July 16, 2017 at 9:16 am55 stars
                    This book is about Kat (Katherine) and her sister Maya. Maya has breathing issues, so they have to move. Now in the new town Kat learns that ghosts are for real. This is a true master piece by Raina Telegemeier. This book is great book for all ages.
                    • wiseowlbookworm
                      wiseowlbookwormSunday, July 16, 2017 at 9:01 am55 stars
                      This book is about Kat (Katherine) and her sister Maya. They have to move because Kat's sister has breathing issues. The new town they live in believe in ghosts. This is a true master piece by Raina Telegemeier. This book is great book for all ages.

                      Summer Reading 2017 ends in:

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books being read:2890
                      Books reviewed:917
                      Lip Moisturizer won:121
                      Belle's Library won:81
                      Blu-ray Combo Pack won:44
                      Schools participating:99
                      Libraries participating:1

                      Members (495)

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      rrwwnn
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      addglitter
                      dictionary
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      llpanda