Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.65487
Catrina and her family are moving to the coast of Northern California because her little sister, Maya, is sick. Cat isn't happy about leaving her friends for Bahía de la Luna, but Maya has cystic fibrosis and will benefit from the cool, salty air that blows in from the sea. As the girls explore their new home, a neighbor lets them in on a secret: There are ghosts in Bahía de la Luna. Maya is determined to meet one, but Cat wants nothing to do with them. As the time of year when ghosts reunite with their loved ones approaches, Cat must figure out how to put aside her fears for her sister's sake -- and her own.

Raina Telgemeier has masterfully created a moving and insightful story about the power of family and friendship, and how it gives us the courage to do what we never thought possible.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on September 13, 2016 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540615
ISBN-13: 9780545540612
393 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ohiostaterules
    ohiostaterulesThursday, February 13, 2020 at 8:21 am55 stars
    i think I might like the book called ghosts
    • avascooperia
      avascooperiaFriday, February 7, 2020 at 3:18 pm44 stars
      This is a pretty good book. If you like the day of the dead or by its you will like this graphic novel!
      • bookfan2008
        bookfan2008Saturday, January 25, 2020 at 6:31 pm22 stars
        its okay honestly didin't really like it
        • amisha640
          amisha640Tuesday, January 14, 2020 at 9:33 am55 stars
          this book is really good it ids an adventures book about a girl named catrina and her little sister one day they go on a path and meets carlos catrina has feelings for him but dosent show it.hope u like the book .i stopped here bc i dont want to spoil it for anywon
          • emilyyadron
            emilyyadronWednesday, January 8, 2020 at 6:31 am55 stars
            One day a girl and her sister were moving. When they got there they met a boy. They went on an avenger in a ghost toun. when they turned the corner they saw..... I gave this book a five-star rating because it had good dental and it was suspenseful.
            • stellaluna
              stellalunaTuesday, December 17, 2019 at 6:25 pm55 starsFeatured
              I will just tell you this:if you love ghosts, you will love it. This is not a scary book. It is actually about a girl named Katrina with a sister named Maya. Maya is suffering from Cystic Fibrosis, a lung and digestion disease that really has no cure. Maya's parents are very concerned and decide to move up north from the south. Of course, Katrina misses her old life, and thinks this one sucks. Kinda until she meets a boy, that she secretly likes, but shows nothing. Carlos, the boy, also known as ghost tour man, takes them on a tour of Bahia de la Luna, and Katrina is really scared. Maya on the other hand has many questions for them. Kat really has to get over her fears and grow up when Dia de Los Muertos begins (Day of the Dead) or she will be "weird". Can she get over her fears, and figure out where she belongs in the town? I highly recommend this book to all readers.
              • 299
                299Thursday, November 14, 2019 at 5:16 pm55 stars
                I love this book I was amazing I love how it showed some culture about the girl. it is wonderful that the little girl can still have fun.
                • sitra501
                  sitra501Wednesday, November 6, 2019 at 4:15 pm55 stars
                  OMG LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • setherboss1
                    setherboss1Tuesday, October 22, 2019 at 10:27 am
                    she has a super crazy life but i don't blame anyone because she was the one who made it that way.....
                    • ahinoanime
                      ahinoanimeFriday, October 18, 2019 at 6:06 am55 stars
                      I give this book a 5 star rating, because I do plan on reading all of Raina Telgemeier's graphic novels because of how interesting each graphic novel is. Some of her stories even connect to each other in a way.I really enjoyed reading this book for entertainment.

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonder
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      belle252