Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.65487
Catrina and her family are moving to the coast of Northern California because her little sister, Maya, is sick. Cat isn't happy about leaving her friends for Bahía de la Luna, but Maya has cystic fibrosis and will benefit from the cool, salty air that blows in from the sea. As the girls explore their new home, a neighbor lets them in on a secret: There are ghosts in Bahía de la Luna. Maya is determined to meet one, but Cat wants nothing to do with them. As the time of year when ghosts reunite with their loved ones approaches, Cat must figure out how to put aside her fears for her sister's sake -- and her own.

Raina Telgemeier has masterfully created a moving and insightful story about the power of family and friendship, and how it gives us the courage to do what we never thought possible.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on September 13, 2016 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540615
ISBN-13: 9780545540612
383 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • oceandragon
    oceandragonWednesday, October 16, 2019 at 6:02 pm55 starsFeatured
    If you love things to do with ghosts and the day of the dead fest+halloween, then you`re in for a treat! It is about a girl named Catrina, or Cat. Her younger sister Maya is suffering a sickness and that made the family move north. Catrina doesn't like that place and misses her friends, yet maya is perfectly fine with it. One day, Catrina and Maya was taking a stroll until Cat lost sight of Maya. She finds a place and meets a boy named Carlos and he is leading a "Ghost tour". Turns out, his family are one of cat's neighbors. Another time, Maya and Carlos left Cat and she didn't know where to go. She looks to find them and then found them in between many "ghosts". Turns out, the ghosts love this type of orange drink. If you share some of you, they can come and talk to you! Cat makes 2 new friends at her new school. For halloween, Cat dresses up as a Day of the dead icon, named Catrina! On the day of the dead, cat will finally notice how incredible the place actually is! Se had loads of fun with Carlos and met a ghost very similar to her grandma. Read the book, you'll love it! I recommend this book to everyone!
    • marcela24
      marcela24Wednesday, October 16, 2019 at 3:57 pm55 stars
      this book is the best book I ever saw and read. it I love it. I recommend it to all my friends. love marcela24
      • epicMonday, October 14, 2019 at 8:53 am
        cool book 100%
        • AynnaTuesday, October 8, 2019 at 5:50 pm
          I love this book
          • Xenoblade5744Monday, October 7, 2019 at 5:07 pm
            I Actually Have This Book At My House, And I Love It!
            • ida b appl woodMonday, October 7, 2019 at 3:58 pm
              its pretty awsome
              • 13iamgroot
                13iamgrootMonday, October 7, 2019 at 11:34 am33 stars
                I have been reading all of Raina Telgemeier's graphic novels and have been impressed so far. My favorite has to be "Smile" but "Ghosts" is good as well. It is about a girl named Catrina whose family has to move to California because her sister is sick, and the cool and salty air will help her health not get worse. Cat's neighbor educates them on the ghosts that live in their town, but Cat thinks he is just trying to scare them. It isn't until she sees a ghost with her own eyes, however, that her views begin to change. This book had a wonderful message and was a good story. On the other hand, it didn't really follow the general story arch that I have gotten used to when reading novels. This book was just a little different style for me but I still liked it and it just took a little getting used to. This is an easy read and my sister (who is in elementary school) loved it and would recommend it to others.
                • carebear0518
                  carebear0518Thursday, October 3, 2019 at 9:42 am
                  It was such a great book I don't know how I was so lucky to get it☺
                  • idman123
                    idman123Tuesday, September 17, 2019 at 4:10 pm
                    Parents need to know that Ghosts is a fantasy graphic novel by Raina Telgemeier, author of Drama and Smile. It features a young character coping with cystic fibrosis. One sister wants to meet a ghost, while the other is frightened by the idea. The ghosts chase Catrina and Maya, but their intentions are friendly.
                    • lorebear20624
                      lorebear20624Monday, September 9, 2019 at 6:06 am
                      i is really good b/c the book is about ghosts come back to live and it is myay that has a breathing treatment that the kid has to have and they have to shake to and than put it in her and she just goes to sleep and than she looks at the river and she falls down the steps than they find a cat the black cats are cured and she was about to touch the cat and the big sis told she no so she bib not touch the cat she was sad and she was sad that she could not touch the cat and than they want to a party at the nadders and she wanted to go home but they stayed a long time and they want home so the holl book is about to be kind and respectful

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonder
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      belle252