Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.741907

"Meet the new Ramona Quimby!" -- Entertainment Weekly

Gertie Reece Foy is 100% Not-From-Concentrate awesome. She has a daddy who works on an oil rig, a great-aunt who always finds the lowest prices at the Piggly Wiggly, and two loyal best friends. So when her absent mother decides to move away from their small town, Gertie sets out on her greatest mission yet: becoming the best fifth grader in the universe to show her mother exactly what she'll be leaving behind. There's just one problem: Seat-stealing new girl Mary Sue Spivey wants to be the best fifth grader, too. And there is simply not enough room at the top for the two of them.

From debut author Kate Beasley, and with illustrations by Caldecott Honor artist Jillian Tamaki, comes a classic tale of hope and homecoming that will empty your heart, then fill it back up again--one laugh at a time.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on October 4, 2016 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0374302618
ISBN-13: 9780374302610
38 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • DabgirlMonday, March 25, 2019 at 5:09 pm
    It's a very good book
    • ajg16
      ajg16Thursday, August 30, 2018 at 12:52 pm33 stars
      Gertie Reece Roy is a fifth-grader on a mission. She lives with her aunt rae and her dad. Her mom left when she was baby an moved to a different neighborhood. Gerties #1 mission is to become the world's greatest fifth-grader!! There's just one teeny tiny problem, the new girl Mary Spivey who moved all the way from California to Alabama, her dad is a movie director and everyone thinks she is just the greatest thing ever. Gertie is not about to fail her mission and she is prepared to do WHATEVER it takes to become the best! I loved the book I thought it was cute and I liked Gerties fiery spirit. Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
      • pizzagirl7
        pizzagirl7Tuesday, August 28, 2018 at 10:48 am44 stars
        Gerties leap to greatness /////////////ok I loved this book!I didn't like it last year I don't know what was wrong with me!!LOL ok so I rate this 4 stars and recommend it to preteensπŸ˜ƒ ok so this book is about gertie Reece foy. so Gerties mission is to help a big bill from come back to life and it worked ! πŸ˜ƒ πŸ˜ƒ πŸ˜ƒ now Gerties mission is to be the best fifth grader in the world! But Mary sue (Gerties classmate) during this book there is so much adventure and gerties aunt ,aunt rae helps her through out the book does gertie become the best fifth grader ever???you have to read the book allllll the way!!!!it was AMAZING! Thank you so so so much for reading πŸ“š-pizzagirl7!!! πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜ƒ πŸ˜ƒ πŸ˜ƒ πŸ˜ƒ πŸ˜ƒ πŸ˜ƒ πŸ˜ƒ
        • lumos
          lumosFriday, August 10, 2018 at 9:33 am55 stars
          Gertie Foy is mad 😑 . *really mad*. Mrs. Foy, her mother, wants to move away from the beloved town that they dwell in! 😞 But Gertie won’t go without a fight πŸ‘ŠπŸ» . She has a goal to become a great 5th grader - the greatest to ever live! But things don’t always come on a silver platter... Snotty Mary Spivey also has her piercing eyes πŸ‘€ on that goal, too! What was a girl to do? Find out with this πŸ˜† humorous story! Beasley really knows how to write her books β™₯️
          • jwarne
            jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 1:37 pm44 stars
            I didn't want to read this book based on the cover, but I gave it a chance, and I'm really glad I did. I was really sad that Gertie's mom was so absent. I was sad that she felt like she had to get her to love her. But, I really liked her friends. She was lucky to have such good friends.
            • readingkendal
              readingkendalTuesday, July 17, 2018 at 12:23 pm55 stars
              Gertie has her eye on becoming greatest 5th grader in the world but every time she tries things don't go right because of the new kid in her class, Mary Sue Spivey ( who’s dad is a filmmaker and gets to hang out with movie stars). Though Gertie never gives up because Gertie is not like most kids. There is a reason that she wants to become the greatest 5th grader, to impress her mom ( who is divorced with Gertie’s dad) that she was wrong about leaving Gertie and her dad .Gertie tries and tries to beat Mary Sue. Will her efforts pay off or will it all be for nothing?
              • jso6
                jso6Sunday, July 1, 2018 at 1:53 pm11 star
                I thought this book would be better than it was because of all of the positive reviews, but it was pretty boring. Gertie wants to be the best fifth grader in the world, to try to impress her mom, but a girl at school wants to the best, too.
                • belle252
                  belle252Thursday, June 28, 2018 at 7:30 pm44 stars
                  This is such a nice inspiring book i read this again after finishing it its about a little girl that is amazing and this book is abut that one step which is all it takes
                  • extrememsb
                    extrememsbSaturday, June 23, 2018 at 9:39 am44 stars
                    Meet Gertie Reece Foy, a fifth grader who never gives up on missions. She has completed everyone of her missions. After her mother( Rachael Collins) left and gt married to this guy named Walter, Gertie has a new mission, to become the best fifth grader ever. Easy, right. the only new problem is the new seat stealing girl Mary Sue Spivy. Her father is a film producer and worked in a lot of films with this actress named Jessica Walters. Her mother is this environmental protection agent. Everybody loves this new girl, even the teacher ms Simms loves her. Gertie never gives up so, she will do anything it takes to complete her missions. Even if it means that people don't like her. Follow her adventures as she tries to complete her mission to become the best fifth grader ever. I think this was a great book. I think it would be for grades three and up. This was an awesome book. I would recommend it to anyone! This was a great book!
                    • awesomessb
                      awesomessbTuesday, June 19, 2018 at 5:40 pm44 starsFeatured
                      Gertie Reece Foy never gives up on her missions. She hasn't and she will never. She lives with her dad and her great-aunt-Rae. When her absent mother decides to move away with someone named Walter, Gertie decides she will become the greatest fifth grader ever. There is also a new seat steeler, Mary Sue Spivey this year. Her father is a famous director. She is also smart. With her two best friends Junior Parks Jr. and Jean, they will help Gertie become the best. Gertie decides to do something she has never done before- study! However, new problems also arise. Half the plot was a little basic, but the twists and turn were unique. I enjoyed this book. It is a great story for grades 3 and up.

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonder
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      belle252