"Meet the new Ramona Quimby!" -- Entertainment Weekly

Gertie Reece Foy is 100% Not-From-Concentrate awesome. She has a daddy who works on an oil rig, a great-aunt who always finds the lowest prices at the Piggly Wiggly, and two loyal best friends. So when her absent mother decides to move away from their small town, Gertie sets out on her greatest mission yet: becoming the best fifth grader in the universe to show her mother exactly what she'll be leaving behind. There's just one problem: Seat-stealing new girl Mary Sue Spivey wants to be the best fifth grader, too. And there is simply not enough room at the top for the two of them.

From debut author Kate Beasley, and with illustrations by Caldecott Honor artist Jillian Tamaki, comes a classic tale of hope and homecoming that will empty your heart, then fill it back up again--one laugh at a time.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on October 4, 2016 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0374302618
ISBN-13: 9780374302610
15 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • din10
    din10Sunday, July 16, 2017 at 6:24 pm
    i really recommend this book it was amazing gerties leap to greatness read it i loved it and dont know why you wouldnt thanks dogo
    • llpanda
      llpandaThursday, June 8, 2017 at 5:49 pm22 stars
      Gertie is on a mission. She never fails her mission so this will work out for her....right? The thing is Gertie never counted on the new snobby girl from California becoming the greatest kid of the fifth grade. Now it seems as if Gertie's whole life and plan is being ruined. All she wanted to do was prove to her mother(she walked away from Gertie and her dad) that she was a worthy daughter and that she didn't need a mother anyway. This was an okay book at the beginning I thought I was going to like it but then it turned terrible. Although what Gertie is doinng in the book is a noble idea it seemed as if she was just a selfish complainer who didn't care about her friends or anyone else that came in the way of achieving her goal. It was because of this that I really didn't like this book.
      • princess09
        princess09Monday, June 5, 2017 at 5:16 pm44 stars
        Gertie Foy is a fifth grader in Carroll Elementary. She wants to be the best fifth grader ever. When she goes to school on the first day, she meets a new girl from California. She is smarter than anyone else in Gertie's class. Gertie is determined to outsmart the new girl, Mary Sue Spivey. I liked this book because I liked how she outsmart Mary Sue.
        • rrwwnn
          rrwwnnSaturday, June 3, 2017 at 10:34 am55 stars
          Gertie is trying to prove to her mother who left her and her dad that she does not want her anymore and she wants to give her the necklace back to her when she is the best 5 th grader in the world.
          • snicker9
            snicker9Thursday, May 25, 2017 at 2:03 pm44 starsFeatured
            Gertie has a goal. She is going to be the best 5th grader. Her reason for her goal? So that her distant mother(who is moving away and getting married), will realize that Gertie doesn't need her. But someone else has the same goal. Enter new girl, Mary Sue Spivey, who just moved from California while her dad is filming a movie here. All of a sudden she is the most popular girl in school. Mary Sue knows the most famous child actresses in the country, she knows all the answers in class, she's the teachers favorite. According to Gertie, she is just plain evil. So now Gertie must come up with a new plan. How can she become the best fifth grader ever? How can she become the smartest, the funniest, the most popular? And how can she do it while keeping her friends? I think this book was an interesting view on not-so-average families. Gertie's mom left them when Gertie was very little, but she lives just across town. Now Gertie's Great-Aunt Rae stays with her and her father and takes care of them. And Gertie's father works on an oil rig, so he is gone for two weeks and then home for two weeks. At the beginning of the book Gertie is very self-involved. However, as the book goes on there is character development, and she is a better person at the end. I recommend this to elementary students who like realistic fiction. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.
            • lrohne2005
              lrohne2005Thursday, December 1, 2016 at 2:19 pmFeatured
              After winning this book from Dogo Books, I knew I'd like it. And boy was I right. Gertie Reece Foy is on a mission. Not just any old mission, but an extra special mission. Gertie is on a mission to be the best fifth grader in the entire world. Gertie has never failed her missions, and she is determined to not fail this one either. She starts out the year feeling confident with her summer speech. She knows that she will have the best one. Just When she feels great, Mary Sue Spivey has a better story than hers. As the year goes on, she battles her friend turning on her, her class giving her dirty looks, and Mary Sue making her and her daddy look bad. Yet Gertie is determined to continue with her mission. Finally, she finds a chance to prove she is the best fifth grader ever. But suddenly, everything comes crashing down. Gertie wonders if this will be the first time she failed a mission. I recommend this book to boys and girls ages 9-12.
              • nerdyrkewl
                nerdyrkewlThursday, November 3, 2016 at 6:44 am
                They don't lie it's like a new Ramona!
                • coolgirlzara
                  coolgirlzaraMonday, October 24, 2016 at 3:31 pm55 stars
                  Love it
                  • thankfultip3465
                    thankfultip3465Sunday, October 9, 2016 at 4:39 pm55 stars
                    I think I would love this book because i'm in 4th grade and I love to read. Lol
                    • felicisowl
                      felicisowlSaturday, October 8, 2016 at 8:56 pmFeatured
                      "She, Gertie Reece Foy, was going to be the greatest fifth grader in the whole school, world, and universe! And that was just Phase One." Most people are scared of heights or spiders or something considered even REMOTELY frightening - but then again, Gertie Reece Foy isn't normal.. in the best possible way, of course. It's safe to say that she was.. rather intimidated by a blindingly white "For Sale" sign situated in her mother's well-kept front yard. It's funny, really, that a sign (or a Mary Sue Spivey) could get in the way of Gertie's insanely complicated "plan" for world domination.. but the truth is, Gertie can't deny that she's a lot more.. human than people think. But what she doesn't realize is that others aren't as "perfect" either - EVERYONE has problems of their own, but some are better at hiding their fears.. especially one Rachel Collins. "Gertie's Leap of Greatness" made me cry. No, really - Gertie has a heart of gold, you just have to dig a little to find her "soft part." On the outside, she seems like a seven-year-old in a fifth-grader's body - you have to admit, she has a HUGE ego and kind of likes taking people down.. some people might find her intolerable, even by the end of the book... but that's kind of what makes her fun. A hilarious, "short and sweet" debut - read!

                      Summer Reading 2017 ends in:

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books being read:2890
                      Books reviewed:917
                      Lip Moisturizer won:121
                      Belle's Library won:81
                      Blu-ray Combo Pack won:44
                      Schools participating:99
                      Libraries participating:1

                      Members (495)

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      rrwwnn
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      addglitter
                      dictionary
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      llpanda