Write This Book: A Do-It-Yourself Mystery (The Secret Series)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a
This imaginative companion to the New York Times bestselling Secret Series teases, prompts, and leads readers through the steps of writing a story. Bosch's signature rip-roaring voice delivers an engaging narrative (for the reader to help complete!) and interactive puzzles and games. Readers get the chance to create their own story while enjoying a satisfying mystery as well.

Here's a note from our fearless "author":
I feared this might happen. I knew reading was a dangerous business, but now it's not safe for writers either! You see, the author of this book is missing. Well, maybe not "missing." A certain author whom I won't name (okay, me) has abandoned his book and has left his readers hanging out to dry. This is a crime, I admit, but there it is. Most of this book, well, I just haven't written it. And I'm not going to, either.

Why? Oh, I have my reasons. Big. Grown up. Author. Reasons. Unfortunately, I can't reveal them yet. Let's just say a life is at stake (mine) and leave it at that. So will you do it? Pretty please? You'll do it? Thank you! But please hurry! Time is of the essence and you can't wait any longer. You must WRITE THIS BOOK!
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on April 2, 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316207810
ISBN-13: 9780316207812
31 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • iifreeze
    iifreezeSaturday, October 1, 2016 at 11:23 am44 stars
    The Secret series is very fun, and now this! It's 4W350M3!!!
    • sawa37
      sawa37Wednesday, April 1, 2015 at 3:52 pm55 stars
      This book is the best!
      • ifeelbookish
        ifeelbookishFriday, September 19, 2014 at 7:15 pm
        I'm literally so excited because I just finished this book (finally!) and I just found out that I'm going to Mr. Bosch's book signing for his new series! I grew up reading the Secret series, and I've been waiting for a new series from him since he's a very quirky author. This book was so much fun and I can't wait for more of his illustrious novels. -ifeelbookish
        • sweetpicks
          sweetpicksSunday, August 31, 2014 at 7:01 pm
          this book gives you great types of advice
          • horseluber
            horseluberSaturday, August 23, 2014 at 6:34 am
            I love this book
            • headream100
              headream100Friday, June 20, 2014 at 3:48 am
              I love all the books in the secret series and i was dying to have this book, but it was sold out in the bookstore downtown :(
              • yona123
                yona123Tuesday, April 8, 2014 at 6:44 am
                yea this is great and I think the idea of creating your own book is cool :)
                • AnonymousThursday, October 3, 2013 at 4:11 pm
                  WHAT IS THE SECRET!!!!
                  • written_dance
                    written_danceSunday, June 2, 2013 at 9:19 am
                    I WON TOO!
                    • dogguy234
                      dogguy234Saturday, June 1, 2013 at 8:22 pm
                      OMG i was like screaming when i got this email XD

                      Summer Reading 2013 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 14, 2013
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2013 Stats

                      Books read:3999
                      Books reviewed:934
                      Prizes won:230
                      Schools participating:285

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      ocelot
                      ocelot
                      bookish5
                      bookish5
                      sparkling5
                      sparkling5
                      bookworm890
                      bookworm890
                      ilgrocks
                      ilgrocks
                      super
                      super
                      xxpish
                      xxpish
                      r0shni07
                      r0shni07
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      slappy
                      slappy