Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.2105365

The New York Times bestselling The School for Good and Evil is an epic journey into a dazzling new world, where the only way out of a fairy tale is to live through one. Start here to follow Sophie, Agatha, and everyone at school from the beginning!

With her glass slippers and devotion to good deeds, Sophie knows she'll earn top marks at the School for Good and join the ranks of past students like Cinderella, Rapunzel, and Snow White. Meanwhile, Agatha, with her shapeless black frocks and wicked black cat, seems a natural fit for the villains in the School for Evil.

The two girls soon find their fortunes reversed—Sophie's dumped in the School for Evil to take Uglification, Death Curses, and Henchmen Training, while Agatha finds herself in the School for Good, thrust among handsome princes and fair maidens for classes in Princess Etiquette and Animal Communication.

But what if the mistake is actually the first clue to discovering who Sophie and Agatha really are?

Hardcover, 496 pages
Published on May 14, 2013 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062104896
ISBN-13: 9780062104892
279 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • NikaSaturday, March 28, 2020 at 7:43 am
    I love this book it's great!! Try reading it.
    • memelord51
      memelord51Wednesday, March 25, 2020 at 10:39 pm55 starsFeatured
      This is an absolutely amazing book, and will always surprise you. It's about two 16-year-old girls One is good and one is bad. Sophie, a perfect girl, a reader and a dreamer. And there's Agatha, rebelious and also a reader, but she never will dream about finding a true love. Sophie has always hoped she will go to the School for Good, but Agatha has only ever thought once about going to the School for Evil, and her 'mother' Callis, has been preparing her. But when they get to the school, Sophie is thrown into the School for Evil and Agatha is thrown into the School or Good. They think it's a mistake. And Sophie is hell-bent on proving it's a mistake. As it follows their time in the school, Agatha finds her power to grant wishes and Sophie, the power to turn into a powerful withery hag. I won't say anything else, you can find out by reading the book, and I highly reccomend this for all ages and hope you will consider my request.
      • ghostadventures
        ghostadventuresFriday, January 24, 2020 at 8:52 am55 stars
        It is a very good book that shares the differences between good and evil and how easily you can get them confused.
        • BeeTree17Wednesday, October 16, 2019 at 7:37 pm
          I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!! ITS MY FAVOURITE AND I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE!!!!!!
          • ishcup
            ishcupWednesday, October 16, 2019 at 4:43 pm
            This book was to me one of the best books next to the Land of Stories and Harry Potter! At first, I thought that why had Sophie been dropped into Evil and Agatha dropped in Good? Though later in the book I knew that Sophie belonged in Evil, Because Agatha was always being nice to her and Sophie wasn't treating Agatha as her real friend. I overall this book was fantastic in my opinion.
            • AnnaFriday, October 4, 2019 at 12:41 pm
              This book was amazing
              • 13iamgroot
                13iamgrootFriday, August 9, 2019 at 1:40 pm55 stars
                I really loved this book. It is about two girls who are unlikely friends. One is Good and one is Evil or at least that is what they thought, because it turns out to be the other way around.
                • hedgeguin2
                  hedgeguin2Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 3:21 pm44 stars
                  The School for Good and Evil is a pretty good book. It’s about Sophie and Agatha, who go off into the forest to find that Agatha, who likes things grim and gloomy, is in the School of Good, and Sophie, who is beautiful and longed for this moment forever, is in the School of Evil. The two know they aren’t in the right schools, just look at them compared to their classmates. But when they try to switch lives, or like Agatha wants, to leave and go home, they find out they can’t. Through an adventure, Agatha and Sophie find who they really are, deep down in their souls. This book is action-packed, with so much detail in it. I reccommend The School for Good and Evil to people who like adventure and surprises! :)
                  • applemango
                    applemangoTuesday, July 16, 2019 at 2:43 am55 stars
                    This is about Sophie and Agatha....Sophie is supposed to go to he nice school and Agatha is supposed to go to the evil school. They get misdropped by birds and soon they must live their story because the storian a pen who writes stories has already started theirs.....then they find the school master's true colors, he is to love Sophie....and he is devilish.....Sophie TURNS EVIL and try's to make a war....Mistaken love for Tedros and fire and fury erupts!!!!!
                    • jamieloo
                      jamielooMonday, July 8, 2019 at 6:46 am55 stars
                      The School for Good and Evil was an absolute favorite for me. No wonder it is a New York Times best seller! It is a story of action, friendship and romance. The character's emotions jump out of the page and makes them relatable. You have go tot read this book.

                      Summer Reading 2013 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 14, 2013
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2013 Stats

                      Books read:3999
                      Books reviewed:934
                      Prizes won:230
                      Schools participating:285

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      ocelot
                      ocelot
                      bookish5
                      bookish5
                      sparkling5
                      sparkling5
                      bookworm890
                      bookworm890
                      ilgrocks
                      ilgrocks
                      super
                      super
                      xxpish
                      xxpish
                      r0shni07
                      r0shni07
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      slappy
                      slappy