Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.2105365

The New York Times bestselling The School for Good and Evil is an epic journey into a dazzling new world, where the only way out of a fairy tale is to live through one. Start here to follow Sophie, Agatha, and everyone at school from the beginning!

With her glass slippers and devotion to good deeds, Sophie knows she'll earn top marks at the School for Good and join the ranks of past students like Cinderella, Rapunzel, and Snow White. Meanwhile, Agatha, with her shapeless black frocks and wicked black cat, seems a natural fit for the villains in the School for Evil.

The two girls soon find their fortunes reversed—Sophie's dumped in the School for Evil to take Uglification, Death Curses, and Henchmen Training, while Agatha finds herself in the School for Good, thrust among handsome princes and fair maidens for classes in Princess Etiquette and Animal Communication.

But what if the mistake is actually the first clue to discovering who Sophie and Agatha really are?

Hardcover, 496 pages
Published on May 14, 2013 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062104896
ISBN-13: 9780062104892
297 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • magicalmythical
    magicalmythicalTuesday, September 1, 2020 at 7:55 pm55 stars
    This book is fab!!!!!
    • willowschultz
      willowschultzTuesday, September 1, 2020 at 2:53 pm
      I found the first book of the series a while back, and I loved the series, recently, (2020) the final book came out, ending the saga, if I told you anymore, it would spoil how good it is.
      • starsabove
        starsaboveSunday, July 19, 2020 at 6:55 pm44 stars
        The book essentially taught me that evil is not all bad and good is not all good. The main characters are both "readers " and have found themselves in a place of magic. Their world back home did not have magic, though they have heard if it in their storybooks.
        • waterdroplet
          waterdropletSunday, July 19, 2020 at 6:33 pm55 stars
          I was hooked on to the book by the time I finished the first page. At first I thought that Sophie would go to the good school, and Agatha would go the school for evil. The book throws drama, love, action, plot twists. They all misunderstood the power of friendship!
          • Ravenclaw FanWednesday, July 15, 2020 at 5:00 am
            So good, by far my favorite book series ever 5***** ( stars )
            • catholic
              catholicSaturday, July 11, 2020 at 3:31 pm55 stars
              I think this book is very interesting to read about. I said I want to read it because the last time I was starting to read it was on my dads computer and something happened to the computer and my dad had to restart it so I try to get it but I didn't find it. Also i have an other account called lavenderpurple but i haven't put anything in my account.
              • belle252
                belle252Sunday, June 14, 2020 at 10:40 pm55 stars
                This is an amazing book about a school that teaches good and evil, which is nicely put together by the author in lines of attracting words. In it, Agatha and Sophie are kidnapped by the school master and taken to the school- but it feels like a mix up when both of them end up in schools they do not like. As an effect, they want to go home, but that is when the story kicks up a level. Together, Sophie and Agatha must break a curse, and they even accomplish the extraordinary- evil and good become...
                • roxanne3
                  roxanne3Sunday, June 14, 2020 at 11:31 am
                  This series is so good! So, Agatha ans Sophie are from this town where every 4 years, 2 kids get kidnapped to go to the School for Good and Evil. Everyone knows that Sophie will be Good and Agatha Evil. But really, who knows? Agatha is put in Good and Sophie in Evil!! They don't know what to think. Read this to find out who truly belongs where!!
                  • creativity37
                    creativity37Thursday, June 11, 2020 at 7:39 am22 stars
                    So this book. Lets start with the positives of the book. It has a great plot and story line with fun characters. It has a really great story line. Like, a really really great story line and plot. The only thing is though (moving on to the negatives) I found myself trying to understand where the characters are, and how they got places, and what are they doing. Overall, it lacks description. If you need detail and description to read a book. this may not be for you. Let's see . . . The summery. Sophie has always wanted her happily ever after. Every four years, two kids are chosen and taken by a headmaster to The School Of Good And Evil. These kids live a magical fairy tale life on the good or evil side. In the town where Sophie lives, the bookseller gets a book delivered to his door once in a while that tells the tale of those children and what they did. The bookseller copies them and sells them. That's not important though. Sophie wants to be chosen and the day finally arrives. She has hope her dreams will finally come true and she will be chosen for The School Of Good! On the other hand, her best friend Agatha doesn't really care and the town suspects she might be chosen for The School Of Evil. While Sophie is good and beautiful, Agatha is dark and scary as you know. Sophie is kidnapped and Agatha tries to hold her back but comes along instead. They see the two castles in the distance and they get dropped off one in one of the castles, and the other one in the other castle. Want to take a wild guess who go dropped off in which castle? Agatha ended up in The School Of Good and Sophie ended up in The School Of Evil. Sophie's roommates are Hester, Anadil, and Dot, who teach Sophie their ways of evil and revenge while Agatha has to deal with pink dresses, candy, and annoyingly handsome boys. So. I guess you can read this if you want to, I just gave you my opinion. If you read through this whole review, great! I know this was long. So If you do read it, I hope you like it and . . . Yup that's all I have to say about this book. Thanks for reading!!
                    • catella88Tuesday, May 26, 2020 at 9:32 am
                      wow. this book is amazing.

                      Summer Reading 2013 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 14, 2013
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2013 Stats

                      Books read:3999
                      Books reviewed:934
                      Prizes won:230
                      Schools participating:285

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      ocelot
                      ocelot
                      bookish5
                      bookish5
                      sparkling5
                      sparkling5
                      bookworm890
                      bookworm890
                      ilgrocks
                      ilgrocks
                      super
                      super
                      xxpish
                      xxpish
                      r0shni07
                      r0shni07
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      slappy
                      slappy