The Sasquatch Escape (The Imaginary Veterinary)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 5Q4.225408
When Ben Silverstein is sent to the rundown town of Buttonville to spend the summer with his grandfather, he's certain it will be the most boring vacation ever. That is, until his grandfather's cat brings home what looks like . . . a baby dragon?

Amazed, Ben enlists the help of Pearl Petal, a local girl with an eye for adventure. They take the wounded dragon to the only veterinarian's office in town -- Dr. Woo's Worm Hospital. But as Ben and Pearl discover once they are inside, Dr. Woo's isn't a worm hospital at all -- it's actually a secret hospital for imaginary creatures.

After Ben accidentally leaves the hospital's front door unlocked, a rather large, rather stinky, andvery hairy beast escapes into Buttonville. Ben and Pearl are tasked with retrieving the runaway creature, and what started out as an ordinary summer becomes the story of a lifetime.

Suzanne Selfors delivers a wild journey filled with mythical creatures and zany adventures that are anything but imaginary.

This book includes bonus writing, art, and science activities that will help readers discover more about the mythological creatures featured in The Sasquatch Escape. These activities are designed for the home and the classroom. Enjoy doing them on your own or with friends!

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on April 2, 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316209341
ISBN-13: 9780316209342
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • CuteBunnies Wednesday, January 11, 2017 at 3:33 pm
    This book taught me about sasquatches while still being funny. The part I thought was funniest was the picture where the sasquatch is in a quickly moving shopping cart and wearing a tiny hat with a flower sticking out of it. I like that the book is not just about the sasquatch but also about a baby dragon.
    • bloonstdfan2455
      bloonstdfan2455Friday, January 15, 2016 at 12:07 pm
      This is cool looking
      • hana cogglnFriday, January 15, 2016 at 12:03 pm
        this book is lol and hillarious
        • spiderfire
          spiderfireThursday, June 4, 2015 at 11:39 am55 stars
          This book is for kids who would like to become imaginary vets when they grow up(or for kids who want a sasquatch for a pet)
          • hana cogginTuesday, February 24, 2015 at 12:50 pm
            this book is lol and hillarious
            • mckenzi3
              mckenzi3Sunday, November 2, 2014 at 5:11 pm
              This book is really great.... Its like a mystery. I recommend this book if you like imaginary books or mystery books. if you didn't know, a sasquatch is bigfoot
              • nachos
                nachosThursday, October 9, 2014 at 5:11 pm55 stars
                I have read this book a bunch of times and I couldn't put the book down. Its a mystery adventure book with a sasquatch on the loose.
                • moth238
                  moth238Thursday, June 5, 2014 at 7:35 am44 stars
                  this book is amazing
                  • BookReader129Tuesday, January 28, 2014 at 2:55 pm
                    fun book but what lvl is it
                    • bookworm890
                      bookworm890Friday, September 13, 2013 at 9:40 pm55 stars
                      This book delves into the world of legends when two kids discover that the town vet is running a secret hospital for legendary creatures. When they accidentally set a Sasquatch loose in the town, they are charged with the task of bringing it back.

                      Summer Reading 2013 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 14, 2013
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2013 Stats

                      Books read:3999
                      Books reviewed:934
                      Prizes won:230
                      Schools participating:285

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      ocelot
                      ocelot
                      bookish5
                      bookish5
                      sparkling5
                      sparkling5
                      bookworm890
                      bookworm890
                      ilgrocks
                      ilgrocks
                      super
                      super
                      xxpish
                      xxpish
                      r0shni07
                      r0shni07
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      slappy
                      slappy