The Last Dragonslayer: The Chronicles of Kazam, Book 1

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.856580

In the good old days, magic was indispensable—it could both save a kingdom and clear a clogged drain. But now magic is fading: drain cleaner is cheaper than a spell, and magic carpets are used for pizza delivery. Fifteen-year-old foundling Jennifer Strange runs Kazam, an employment agency for magicians—but it’s hard to stay in business when magic is drying up. And then the visions start, predicting the death of the world’s last dragon at the hands of an unnamed Dragonslayer. If the visions are true, everything will change for Kazam—and for Jennifer. Because something is coming. Something known as . . . Big Magic.

 

Hardcover, 296 pages
Published on October 2, 2012 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0547738471
ISBN-13: 9780547738475
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • heroesofolympus
    heroesofolympusTuesday, February 21, 2017 at 10:13 am55 starsFeatured
    I really like this book. The way the author, Jasper Fforde, weaves the words of his writing is just amazing. The reason why I chose to read this book was because I was given it by a dear friend who said: "Hey! You should read this book! It's good!" (or something like that) so I took it from them with a smile and started reading it. The friend let me keep it (thank goodness!!!) and I read it again, and again, and again! I love it that much!! Well I guess this is the end of my review... Hope you like the book as much a I do!
    • penguin313
      penguin313Saturday, December 7, 2013 at 6:28 pm55 stars
      It is a great book about magic and dragons. I really want to read the sequel, it was an intriguing and it had many surprises
      • sushilover55
        sushilover55Tuesday, September 17, 2013 at 5:22 am
        awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
        • otter
          otterTuesday, September 10, 2013 at 5:21 pm
          This book is so good for people who like fantasy
          • jsmyth
            jsmythMonday, September 9, 2013 at 9:28 pm
            This is a book about a girl called Jennifer who becomes the last dragonslayer. It is a fantasy book with quirky character. I don't know if I like the book. It is somewhat different from the fantasy books I read in the past. I like the books written by Rick Riordan.
            • books247
              books247Monday, September 9, 2013 at 6:34 pm33 stars
              Magic used to be nearly unlimited. Now magic carpets do pizza deliverys and the once amazing sorcerers now do electrical work but once in a while the magical power starts increasing. This time it’s growing more rapidly and quickly than before and the day of its peak is the day of the predicted death of the last dragon in the world by the sword of a Dragonslayer. I really liked this book. The first 30 pages or so were a little slow but then it picked up and got better. I think the characters were pretty cool like the Transient Moose and all of the magicians. I hope the next book is just as good as this one.
              • pipermc11
                pipermc11Saturday, August 31, 2013 at 6:56 pmFeatured
                Jennifer has a problem. She can't find her manager, the great Zambini. That means that she has to manage about 30 crazy wizards, plus the new counseling, Tiger. The worst part? She's condemned there for 2 more years, plus now she's found out that she is the last dragonslayer ever. So, she now has to kill a dragon...but will she be ready for it?
                • gutsy2003
                  gutsy2003Saturday, August 31, 2013 at 4:10 pm44 starsFeatured
                  This was a great book in the end even though it was hard to get into at the beginning. I liked this book because it was very interesting and I loved the characters because they were very funny, especially the Quarkbeast! It really made me want to read the next book(which I am doing now) Song Of The Quarkbeast.
                  • heroesofolympus
                    heroesofolympusTuesday, February 21, 2017 at 10:19 am55 stars
                    i really want to read Song Of the Quarkbeast!!! You are soooo lucky!
                  • carlz_t
                    carlz_tThursday, August 29, 2013 at 3:55 pm22 stars
                    This book I am reading is not my kind of book. To me it's a little boring and slow, also slightly confusing. Overall, this book was not my favorite, but it might be yours! Im not saying to not read it, but i'm not recommending you to if your reading style is like mine.
                    • mimibell
                      mimibellWednesday, August 28, 2013 at 1:27 pm55 stars
                      This book is like dream come true for me. I love how the author of this story gives you a mind picture and also makes you feel like your really the main character.iI recommend this book this book for everyone in the galaxy you to aliens.

                      Summer Reading 2013 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 14, 2013
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2013 Stats

                      Books read:3999
                      Books reviewed:934
                      Prizes won:230
                      Schools participating:285

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      ocelot
                      ocelot
                      bookish5
                      bookish5
                      sparkling5
                      sparkling5
                      bookworm890
                      bookworm890
                      ilgrocks
                      ilgrocks
                      super
                      super
                      xxpish
                      xxpish
                      r0shni07
                      r0shni07
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      slappy
                      slappy