Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.851339

The most exciting road trip in history begins! In this action-packed, New York Times bestselling adventure, twelve-year-old twins Coke and Pepsi McDonald embark on a family vacation you'll have to read to believe.

With the real-kid humor that has earned Dan Gutman millions of fans around the world, and featuring weird-but-true American tourist destinations, The Genius Files is a one-of-a-kind mix of geography and fun.

As Coke and Pepsi dodge nefarious villains from the Pez museum in California all the way to the Infinity Room in Wisconsin, black-and-white photographs and maps put young readers right into the action.

And don't miss the next leg of the journey in The Genius Files: Never Say Genius!

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on January 25, 2011 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061827649
ISBN-13: 9780061827648
30 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • MalieThursday, August 29, 2019 at 4:44 pm
    This book is amazing! It is exciting and adventurous. There are so many cliffhangers and it is an awesome mystery.
    • applemango
      applemangoWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 8:38 pm55 stars
      This is a book about Coke and his sister Pepsi. Suddenly while they are walking home from school one day Pep says "I feel like someone is following us..." and when they spot a man with a bowler hat in a golf cart driving toward them they start to run when they get pulled under cover by Mya a Genius Files spy, as you can say. She says that they have to get into wing suits and jump off a cliff. So, hesitantly at the last minute they jump off starting by Coke pushing Pep off the cliff. Soon they remember to spread out their legs to let them cruise to a fall. They think that all is normal after they fall . However, the next day after getting sent for dittention by Miss Higgins the assasin teacher, she makes the school burn down! Followed by a series of attacks all close calls they are also mysterious ciper notes too! A terror attack in the ball of twine museum? Hmmmmm...
      • Thomas S. MIlleThursday, December 20, 2018 at 5:45 am
        I really liked this book the first time I read it. Then it started to get boring. It is very easy for less advanced readers and is a good up-to-date book. I would rate it a 3.8 out of 5
        • ugly geniusTuesday, November 28, 2017 at 8:31 am
          AWESOME
          • ugly geniusFriday, November 24, 2017 at 9:26 am
            i loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • dancer_cbear52
              dancer_cbear52Thursday, November 23, 2017 at 12:43 pm55 stars
              This book is about 12 year old twins, Pepsi and Coke McDonald. They are on a cross country trip to Washington D.C. However, their trip isn't the traditional vacation. Coke and Pep are being chased by crazy murderers, all because they are in a program called the Genius Files. The program was supposed to have kids solve the worlds problems, but it backfires. What will happen to Coke and Pep?
              • mike-o
                mike-oMonday, October 2, 2017 at 4:51 pm55 stars
                It's AWESOME. In real life it would be so dangerous yet amazing. Out of my 1,000 books I've read this is the creepiest ever. I chose this book because It's long and it's a series so it will take me a while to read.
                • smishball123
                  smishball123Tuesday, June 14, 2016 at 9:32 pm55 stars
                  this was an awesome book and is my favorite series! I love how dan gutman made lots of plot twists and cool names like coke and pepsi! He also made lots of suspense!
                  • carlyschwartzdps
                    Ms. SchwartzTuesday, March 8, 2016 at 6:17 pm55 stars
                    Great book, I loved how Dan talks to you
                    • renlynncoh
                      renlynncohSaturday, March 5, 2016 at 12:00 pm55 stars
                      this is the start of this book series and it is really makes me heart beating. I can't believe they did all those epic things. I'm not going to survive in there.

                      Summer Reading 2013 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 14, 2013
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2013 Stats

                      Books read:3999
                      Books reviewed:934
                      Prizes won:230
                      Schools participating:285

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      ocelot
                      ocelot
                      bookish5
                      bookish5
                      sparkling5
                      sparkling5
                      bookworm890
                      bookworm890
                      ilgrocks
                      ilgrocks
                      super
                      super
                      xxpish
                      xxpish
                      r0shni07
                      r0shni07
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      slappy
                      slappy