Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U5.0102497
Four children have been chosen to compete in a national competition to find the tastiest confection in the country. Who will invent a candy more delicious than the Oozing Crunchorama or the Neon Lightning Chew?

Logan, the Candymaker's son, who can detect the color of chocolate by touch alone?

Miles, the boy who is allergic to merry-go-rounds and the color pink?

Daisy, the cheerful girl who can lift a fifty-pound lump of taffy like it's a feather?

Or Philip, the suit-and-tie wearing boy who's always scribbling in a secret notebook?

This sweet, charming, and cleverly crafted story, told from each contestant's perspective, is filled with mystery, friendship, and juicy revelations.
Hardcover, 464 pages
Published on October 5, 2010 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316002585
ISBN-13: 9780316002585
304 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ginnyweasley2
    ginnyweasley2Friday, September 18, 2020 at 1:36 pm55 stars
    This is my favorite book! I like it because, besides being interesting, Philip and Logan, Miles and Daisy, and Daisy and Philip have all met before. Daisy's chapter is the most interesting, but Philip's is a close second. I have never read a book like this. Some people would call this book science fiction, but I would call it fantasy because the candies that are in this book are fantastic, like jelly beans that jump in the air when you throw them on the floor.
    • bsc
      bscMonday, September 14, 2020 at 1:33 pm55 stars
      This book was really good!
      • sweetcandy6
        sweetcandy6Wednesday, September 9, 2020 at 4:55 pm55 stars
        I got this book from a family member and I wasn’t sure if I wanted to read it but once I picked it up I couldn’t stop reading it!!
        • squirrelflight
          squirrelflightMonday, September 7, 2020 at 8:21 am44 starsFeatured
          Are you ready to enter this world of sweet confections and chocolatey delights? While I normally don’t read books like this, The Candymakers completely blew me away with its sweet twists and turns, great characters, and an adventure filled with LOTS of candy. It is very heartwarming, and shows the triumphs of friendship. Summary: Logan has lived his whole life eating and making candy. His dad, also known as the Candymaker, runs the Life is Sweet Candy Factory, which means he gets to participate in a national competition to see who can make the best candy in the country. Logan’s excited—until he meets Miles, Daisy, and Philip, three other contestants. They seem nice...but Logan knows that one of them has stolen the Candymaker’s secret ingredient—and he needs to get it back, before it’s too late. When the four of them are thrown into a whirlpool of mystery and mayhem, each trying to win the candy competition and figure out who stole the secret ingredient, they must stand together as friends. Can they solve the mystery? Read this book to find out! Overall, I liked this book, and rate it 4/5 stars. I recommend it for readers who like realistic fiction and mystery.
          • ginnyweasley2
            ginnyweasley2Friday, September 18, 2020 at 1:43 pm55 stars
            I'm following you because you write descriptive, long, unspoilery, interesting reviews.
            • ginnyweasley2
              ginnyweasley2Friday, September 18, 2020 at 1:40 pm55 stars
              Squirrelflight, you could become a professional dust jacket designer, you are so good at describing this book. I mean that as a compliment. But what part of this book is like realistic fiction? also, I don't think Logan ever knew that someone stole the secret ingredient.
            • toodorky
              toodorkyMonday, June 8, 2020 at 9:23 am55 stars
              This is the first book in the Canymaker series. I loved it so much that I even created a fanfiction book about it! This book is about Logan, a boy who had an incident in his home factory, Phillip, a boy who loves music and hates candy, a boy names Miles, who is super smart, and knows a lot about the afterlife due to an incident on his own, and a girl named Daisy, who has a mystery behind allm that goodness. They re all competing to win the cany makiing contest. Or so they think. They each have their own goals besides just winning, but they have to figure out the true maning of friendship in order to be happy with the results. ....
              • sjsj
                sjsjMonday, May 18, 2020 at 3:17 pm44 stars
                This is a great novel, but it has some sad parts about it too. When Logan, son of the Candymaker (a person who owns a humongous chocolate factory), got burned. Phillip, a boy competing in a competition against Logan and two other kids, is trying to save the factory. Meanwhile, Daisy, another kid in the competition, seems friendly, but is actually on a mission to steal the Candymaker's secret ingredient! Miles, the last competing kid, is not sure about himself, but has more courage than he could ever imagine.
                • extrememsb
                  extrememsbFriday, May 8, 2020 at 6:44 am44 stars
                  This book is about 4 people who are chosen to participate in a candy making competition. They all have secrets from each other. For example, one of the people is a spy. Another person's dad is trying to steal the secret ingredient from the factory. This book is kinda like a mystery. It is also a fun book. I recommend this book to anyone who likes fun mystery books.
                  • bsc
                    bscWednesday, May 6, 2020 at 8:25 am55 stars
                    Four children have been picked and entered to go in the great candy making contest. They will learn how to make the candy, and make friends and learn secrets. All want to win, but just one can win. I give this book 5 stars.
                    • blossomreader
                      blossomreaderThursday, April 30, 2020 at 4:47 pm55 stars
                      This wonderful book shows you the true meaning to winning and the value of friendship. This book is about 4 kids who are chosen to compete in a candy competition. Whoever makes the best candy gets to broadcast it the world! There's only one problem. Daisy and Phillip might not be there just for the competition. They have much bigger plans. Much bigger. Phillip wants revenge. For what? Oh, it's simple enough. A little incident at the candy factory supposedly got him kicked out of the factory, and he wants revenge. I can't tell you what Daisy is doing and why because I don't want to spoil this book completely. Miles and Logan become friends, and a friend just might be what Logan needs, but there's something else they need, something none of them would guess in a million years: Teamwork. Who will win the competition, and what will be the cause and effect of it?
                      • ginnyweasley2
                        ginnyweasley2Friday, September 18, 2020 at 1:41 pm55 stars
                        That is a very dramatic description.
                      • cats20090
                        cats20090Friday, January 10, 2020 at 9:14 am55 stars
                        This is an extraordinary book with amazing characters, crazy secrets, and lots of candy! Four kids all with different personalities are competing to create a new candy, but when a problem arises, the competitors have to become a team to solve the mystery!

                        Summer Reading 2013 has ended!

                        May 14 - September 14, 2013
                        Terms and Conditions

                        Summer Reading 2013 Stats

                        Books read:3999
                        Books reviewed:934
                        Prizes won:230
                        Schools participating:285

                        Recent Members

                        Top Summer Readers

                        ocelot
                        ocelot
                        bookish5
                        bookish5
                        sparkling5
                        sparkling5
                        bookworm890
                        bookworm890
                        ilgrocks
                        ilgrocks
                        super
                        super
                        xxpish
                        xxpish
                        r0shni07
                        r0shni07
                        penguin313
                        penguin313
                        slappy
                        slappy