Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.674186
For four long months, ten-year-old Cass has been dreaming of the day her mom, Toodi, will come home. But when Toodi’s welcome back party takes a turn for the disastrous, Cass finds herself stuck alone with her dull-as-dirt dad, who insists that they set off for the summer on a mysterious adventure—just the two of them.

It turns out Cass’s dad has some big-time surprises up his sleeve. Once they hit the road in an old RV named The Roast, he introduces her to the amazing power of “Sway,” a seemingly magical force that can bring inspiration and joy to people in major need of help.

Cass can think of one particular person who could really use some Sway. If only she could track down Toodi, Cass knows she could convince her mom to come home. But with the help of a little home-spun magic, Cass realizes that the things she needs most have always been within her reach.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on May 15, 2012 by Hyperion Book CH
ISBN-10: 142313477X
ISBN-13: 9781423134770
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • livinowhereThursday, February 22, 2018 at 10:24 am
    i loved this book and i recomend this book to others because i could not put this book down until i finished it and once i did i was like wow that was a great book and i loved it so much
    • redheadperson22
      redheadperson22Wednesday, January 15, 2014 at 4:43 pm33 starsFeatured
      Cass completely idolizes her mom, Toodi Bleu (she basically thinks her mom is the best thing since sliced bread). Toodi Bleu volunteers for a rescue squad, so she's never home for very long. Cass dreams of being just like her mom. Cass's dad, Douglas, is fine, but not as cool. But when Toodi Bleu abandons Cass and Douglas, Cass is completely heartbroken, and blames her dad. So Douglas takes Cass on a road trip in an old RV called The Roast, in hope that they can bond. What I thought of it: Honestly, I wanted to love this book because I thought the plot was great. But the way it was written kept me from really liking it. I liked Cass, but she could be annoying and jerky at times especially when it came to her mom. I liked Douglas, and I felt bad for him when Cass blamed him for Toodi Bleu's absence. I liked Cass's cousin Syd too, and I wish he was in more of the book. Overall it was an ok book.
      • bookworm890
        bookworm890Friday, September 13, 2013 at 8:40 pm55 stars
        This book is great for people who are missing their moms. When her uninteresting dad takes her on an exciting road trip, Cass discovers the power of Sway that helps people when they need it most. She then tries to use it to make her mother come home.
        • sparkling5
          sparkling5Thursday, September 12, 2013 at 6:38 pm55 stars
          I love this book a lot! Its about a girl who misses her mom and is super excited that her mom is coming home... but then she finds out that its only her father coming back.Her dad decides for them to go to an "adventure." on their way, her dad teaches her a power called 'Sway.' the power makes people joyous and happy. She decides she wants to use this power to make her mom come back home... read it to find what happens next.
          • ocelot
            ocelotMonday, August 19, 2013 at 4:15 pm55 stars
            This book is great! It's about a girl, who really wants her mother back, but then for the summer her dad thinks they should go on a trip--just the 2 of them. On the way, her father introduces her to the power of SWAY. Read this book and find adventure, mystery, and lifelong expieriences.
            • ilgrocks
              ilgrocksMonday, July 22, 2013 at 8:32 am55 stars
              turns out Cass's dad has some big-time surprises up his sleeve. Once they hit the road in an old RV named The Roast, he introduces her to the amazing power of "Sway," a seemingly magical force that can bring inspiration and joy to people in major need of help.
              • celesteblue
                celesteblueWednesday, June 26, 2013 at 3:41 pm55 stars
                It's the best book ever !! It was sort of sad at times especially because Cass really looked up to her mom. But in the end Dad was the cheese.All in all it was a really good book and sometimes it was real funny so you SHOULD READ IT!!!!!!
                • faith427
                  faith427Tuesday, June 18, 2013 at 12:06 pm55 stars
                  I loved this book. It was fun to read about Cass and her dad and their road trip. I want to go on a road trip now.
                  • faith427
                    faith427Tuesday, June 18, 2013 at 12:06 pm55 stars
                    I loved this book. It was fun to read about Cass and her dad and their road trip. I want to go on a road trip now.
                    • faith427
                      faith427Tuesday, June 18, 2013 at 12:01 pm55 stars
                      I love this book. It's so beautifully written. It made me want to visit all of the places where they go on their road trip.

                      Summer Reading 2013 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 14, 2013
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2013 Stats

                      Books read:3999
                      Books reviewed:934
                      Prizes won:230
                      Schools participating:285

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      ocelot
                      ocelot
                      bookish5
                      bookish5
                      sparkling5
                      sparkling5
                      bookworm890
                      bookworm890
                      ilgrocks
                      ilgrocks
                      super
                      super
                      xxpish
                      xxpish
                      r0shni07
                      r0shni07
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      slappy
                      slappy