Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8Y4.977017
2011 National Book Award FinalistAs a fourteen-year-old who just moved to a new town, with no friends and a louse for an older brother, Doug Swieteck has all the stats stacked against him. So begins a coming-of-age masterwork full of equal parts comedy and tragedy from Newbery Honor winner Gary D. Schmidt. As Doug struggles to be more than the “skinny thug” that his teachers and the police think him to be, he finds an unlikely ally in Lil Spicer—a fiery young lady who “smelled like daisies would smell if they were growing in a big field under a clearing sky after a rain.” In Lil, Doug finds the strength to endure an abusive father, the suspicions of a whole town, and the return of his oldest brother, forever scarred, from Vietnam. Together, they find a safe haven in the local library, inspiration in learning about the plates of John James Audubon’s birds, and a hilarious adventure on a Broadway stage. In this stunning novel, Schmidt expertly weaves multiple themes of loss and recovery in a story teeming with distinctive, unusual characters and invaluable lessons about love, creativity, and survival.
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on April 5, 2011 by Clarion Books
ISBN-10: 0547152604
ISBN-13: 9780547152608
25 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • JacobThursday, October 1, 2020 at 8:57 am
    This is a great book with an inspiring character who faces many hardships but gets through them and he learns to like his life and see the silver lining in life. When he gets made fun of or characterized because of others' actions, he gets upset and eventually he works to fix that.
    • kkgautamm
      kkgautammMonday, July 20, 2020 at 5:12 pm33 stars
      i read this book for school, but it was much more interesting than i thought it would be! its a great coming of age novel, and the ending made me really happy.
      • kkgautamm
        kkgautammWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 11:07 am33 stars
        pretty good, read it for school. interesting to see him change throughout the story. nice to see the relationships form between characters that normally would not create relationships.
        • kkgautamm
          kkgautammTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 3:19 pm33 stars
          pretty good, read it for school. interesting to see him change throughout the story.
          • loganTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 9:46 am
            this book was not that good. some parts were kind of interesting but there was no major problem and half the book was him drawing a bird.
            • bacon_bitzz
              bacon_bitzzWednesday, January 23, 2019 at 3:54 pm55 stars
              I love this author! This is a great book.
              • pinkiepie1a1
                pinkiepie1a1Sunday, April 30, 2017 at 7:44 am55 starsFeatured
                This book is amazing, It is really an emotional rollercoaster. You began with this 8th grader called Douglas (He is referenced as "Doug" or "Douggo") moving to a new town called Marysville. He finds himself talking to a girl who happened to be Lilian Spicer or Lil for short. Her dad is the owner of a store with a delivery service and Doug gets the job. He soon goes to the library and meets Mr.Powell, a librarian. Mr.Powell brings out Doug's interest in drawing and soon Doug uncovers a big mystery. This Book is really good, It's like a mystery, drama, comedy, and love novel all in one. I really recommend this book for people who are going through some issues because this book helped me out with mine. I don't know how, but it did.
                • bacon_bitzz
                  bacon_bitzzWednesday, January 23, 2019 at 3:52 pm55 stars
                  Great review!
                • lolo517200
                  lolo517200Monday, November 2, 2015 at 12:58 pm55 stars
                  this book is so good i really recommend this book
                  • booknerd01
                    booknerd01Thursday, February 19, 2015 at 6:11 pm55 stars
                    We had this book read aloud to us but i couldn't wait to see what happened so I just got the book and finished it. It is a very good book and a great read.
                    • xxpish
                      xxpishSaturday, September 7, 2013 at 12:01 pm55 stars
                      The first few pages really are interesting. I think this book will have a very different and unique plot line. I bet the rest of it will be awesome.

                      Summer Reading 2013 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 14, 2013
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2013 Stats

                      Books read:3999
                      Books reviewed:934
                      Prizes won:230
                      Schools participating:285

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      ocelot
                      ocelot
                      bookish5
                      bookish5
                      sparkling5
                      sparkling5
                      bookworm890
                      bookworm890
                      ilgrocks
                      ilgrocks
                      super
                      super
                      xxpish
                      xxpish
                      r0shni07
                      r0shni07
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      slappy
                      slappy