Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6S5.040009
Now a musical!

Matilda is a sweet, exceptional young girl, but her parents think she's just a nuisance. She expects school to be different but there she has to face Miss Trunchbull, a menacing, kid-hating headmistress. When Matilda is attacked by the Trunchbull she suddenly discovers she has a remarkable power with which to fight back. It'll take a superhuman genius to give Miss Trunchbull what she deserves and Matilda may be just the one to do it!

Here is Roald Dahl's original novel of a little girl with extraordinary powers. This much-loved story has recently been made into a wonderful new musical, adapted by Dennis Kelly with music and lyrics by Tim Minchin.
Paperback, 352 pages
Published on August 23, 2011 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 0141341246
ISBN-13: 9780141341248
349 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • swirlycool
    swirlycoolThursday, July 30, 2020 at 2:06 pm
    ooh i wanna read this book!
    • MillyThursday, July 2, 2020 at 1:45 am
      I love the book. It was amazing. Matilda is a very creative book 💫
      • devbaiba
        devbaibaFriday, June 19, 2020 at 3:49 am44 stars
        Matilda is a very creative book.
        • DevFriday, June 19, 2020 at 3:40 am
          Matilda was a very creative book.
          • creativity37
            creativity37Thursday, June 11, 2020 at 7:08 am55 stars
            Matilda is a sweet, kind, and exceptional young girl, but her parents think she's just a annoying immature kid. At school, she has to face Miss Trunchbull, a menacing, kid-hating headmistress. When Matilda is attacked by Miss Trunchbull she suddenly discovers she has a remarkable power with which to fight back. She has the ability to move items with only using her mind. Matilda loves to read and is really smart, but no one cares enough to notice. She plans revenge on her parents and anyone who hated on her. This is an amazing story and I do recommend it. I have seen the musical (Which was great!), the movie (Also great!), and the book (You guessed it! Great!). The play and movie did not disappoint. They were just as fun and whimsical as the book! Roald Dahl bring his characters to life and gives them personality. This is one of my favorite books by him. Thanks for reading.
            • rina123aaa
              rina123aaaMonday, June 1, 2020 at 9:34 am55 stars
              This book is so cool. It is magical, but also seems like it could almost be real. I think this book is just really funny and Maltida is honestly so smart, she is smarter than a lot of adults. I really recommend this book!
              • cherry-blossom
                cherry-blossomThursday, May 21, 2020 at 9:17 pm55 stars
                Matilda is a nice girl, but her parents just think that she is an annoying ugly young wart. They want to pick her off and throw her away when the time is right, which won't be long now...but Matilda has extraordinary POWERS!
                • RemasTuesday, March 17, 2020 at 2:43 pm
                  Sooooo cool
                  • frien519114
                    frien519114Tuesday, March 17, 2020 at 11:46 am
                    I want to see how much the musical was like the book
                    • Musfirah Sunday, February 2, 2020 at 11:45 pm
                      I think that is book is good for kidz

                      Summer Reading 2013 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 14, 2013
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2013 Stats

                      Books read:3999
                      Books reviewed:934
                      Prizes won:230
                      Schools participating:285

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      ocelot
                      ocelot
                      bookish5
                      bookish5
                      sparkling5
                      sparkling5
                      bookworm890
                      bookworm890
                      ilgrocks
                      ilgrocks
                      super
                      super
                      xxpish
                      xxpish
                      r0shni07
                      r0shni07
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      slappy
                      slappy