Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 2 - 4n/a3.727581
Rufus has been dreaming of getting a dog. His best friend has one. His worst friend has one. But his dad has a few objections: They whine. They gnaw. They bark. They scratch. They beg. They drool.

Rufus pays no attention when his mom offers her think-outside-the-box suggestion, because she can't be serious. She can't be.

She can be. And she actually comes home with a guinea pig. And if Rufus's dad thinks dogs are a problem, he won't know what hit him when he meets the Guinea Pig that Thinks She's a Dog. She barks. She bites. She'll eat your homework.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on April 13, 2010 by EgmontUSA
ISBN-10: 1606840533
ISBN-13: 9781606840535
36 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bananamana
    bananamanaTuesday, October 22, 2019 at 8:25 am44 stars
    Someone tell me how good this is!!!!!! please I want to read it soo bad
    • owl5day
      owl5dayFriday, September 27, 2019 at 10:48 am
      I love this book but the dude should not have been mean to his guinea pig pets are awesome .I have a lot of pets and i am saving for a gecko i have 3 birds and 2 dogs
      • green_monkey25
        green_monkey25Friday, June 7, 2019 at 3:01 pm55 stars
        This book is very satisfying I love this book because I want a guinea pig myself and this book inspired me a lot for one🐹❤️
        • random guyThursday, October 26, 2017 at 6:57 am
          great 5 stars
          • snowyowl
            snowyowlThursday, June 8, 2017 at 8:09 pm
            good book
            • samn
              samnFriday, January 24, 2014 at 12:32 pm55 stars
              i like the book but i didn;t at the same time ;)
              • nice Sunday, December 1, 2013 at 7:44 am
                it is fine but it could not be the best do you like it
                • melissag960
                  melissag960Tuesday, October 15, 2013 at 6:12 pm
                  I so want to have a guinea dog who doesn't
                  • kimsam123
                    kimsam123Thursday, September 12, 2013 at 7:05 pm33 stars
                    Who doesn't want a pet guinea pig and a dog combined? Well, Rufus has been waiting all his life to get one. When his mom brings him a guinea pig home one day, Rufus will be surprised. What kind of animal is this?
                    • lotrlover
                      lotrloverMonday, September 9, 2013 at 7:18 pm
                      A boy really wants a dog, but his dad doesn't want a dog. His mother gets him a guinea pig instead. The boy is mad, and even a bit sad, but lives through it. In the end, the guinea pig acts like a dog, so the boy and his family are satisfied.

                      Summer Reading 2013 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 14, 2013
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2013 Stats

                      Books read:3999
                      Books reviewed:934
                      Prizes won:230
                      Schools participating:285

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      ocelot
                      ocelot
                      bookish5
                      bookish5
                      sparkling5
                      sparkling5
                      bookworm890
                      bookworm890
                      ilgrocks
                      ilgrocks
                      super
                      super
                      xxpish
                      xxpish
                      r0shni07
                      r0shni07
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      slappy
                      slappy