Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 1 - 5U4.3n/a
Winner of the 2014 Newbery Medal

Holy unanticipated occurrences! A cynic meets an unlikely superhero in a genre-breaking new novel by master storyteller Kate DiCamillo.


It begins, as the best superhero stories do, with a tragic accident that has unexpected consequences. The squirrel never saw the vacuum cleaner coming, but self-described cynic Flora Belle Buckman, who has read every issue of the comic book Terrible Things Can Happen to You!, is just the right person to step in and save him. What neither can predict is that Ulysses (the squirrel) has been born anew, with powers of strength, flight, and misspelled poetry — and that Flora will be changed too, as she discovers the possibility of hope and the promise of a capacious heart. From #1 New York Times best-selling author Kate DiCamillo comes a laugh-out-loud story filled with eccentric, endearing characters and featuring an exciting new format — a novel interspersed with comic-style graphic sequences and full-page illustrations, all rendered in black-and-white by up-and-coming artist K. G. Campbell.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on September 24, 2013 by Candlewick Press
ISBN-10: 076366040X
ISBN-13: 9780763660406
91 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • pineapplecat
    pineapplecatThursday, October 1, 2020 at 3:47 pm44 stars
    It is a AMAZING book I love it so much and it is nice to read anytime
    • hedgeguin2
      hedgeguin2Wednesday, July 29, 2020 at 6:09 pm44 stars
      I’ve wanted to read this book for so long, since it’s such a classic! Flora and Ulysses is about a girl named Flora, who she believes is a natural born cynic. She loves to read comics, but thinks her mother doesn’t like her one bit. But when her next door neighbor accidentally vacuums up a squirrel, things all change. The squirrel, now named Ulysses, has superpowers. It can write poetry, fly, and lift things with one paw. Together, Flora and Ulysses set off to try to save the world from evil, but learns more things about her family than Flora thought she would ever know instead. This book is great, but it can get a little confusing in some parts. However I would recommend it! :)
      • borupyhy-156623588802
        borupyhy-156623588802Wednesday, September 11, 2019 at 9:00 am
        You should read this book
        • vyvufoky-156623590383
          vyvufoky-156623590383Wednesday, September 11, 2019 at 8:59 am44 stars
          I like the book and I think It was a really cool for the school to read this book and the questions where right in the book. There is a lot of questions to ask and that is good , asking questions make the book more interesting then it already is. There was a lot of events happening in this book, that can make it hard to remember. I think this book is really interesting.
          • inmemoryofcpr
            inmemoryofcprSunday, July 28, 2019 at 4:10 pm33 stars
            So I first read this in 4th grade but I never finished it. 1 year later, I have finished it. In 4th grade. I thought that the book was weird. Maybe because I'm too normal XD Anyways...I have a new perspective of the book: Flora is not mature enough. I would not recommend this because I think this is the worst book that Kate DiCamillo has ever wrote. I am disappointed in her. This book would be suitable for ages 7+ and maybe I didn't like this because I wasn't a cynic.
            • THE GUY Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 7:11 am
              These characters have been through a lot. I mean getting your back getting ran over by a truck is pretty painful but still have being apologetic and much much more but the thing is that there just covering up their pain and doubts and this is a real life phenomenon I've even been through it but even though It's sad it makes it have a little more depth and more relatable.
              • wolfdog
                wolfdogThursday, February 21, 2019 at 7:57 am55 starsFeatured
                For starters, it is the best superhero story around, with it's shiny Newbery Medal it's hard to miss! The superhero in this story turns out to be a squirrel- but not just a squirrel! Ulysses discovers his powers from a vacuum cleaner accident, giving him abilities like super strength, flight, and intelligence! Flora takes in poor Ulysses and the two form a close-knit bond! Flora wonders how Ulysses will use his powers for good, and how they will both 'save the world!' But Flora's mother is acting suspicious, and when Ulysses goes missing Flora must team up with her friend and the neighbor to find him and they set off on a wild adventure! What happened to Ulysses? What does it mean to be a superhero? And, What will happen next as you turn every page? Read Flora and Ulysses to find out!
                • ravenclaw35
                  ravenclaw35Thursday, January 24, 2019 at 12:46 pm44 stars
                  This is a novel that will honestly make you say "Holy Bagumba!" Flora is a young girl who is described as a natural born cynic. And Ulysses is a super squirrel who is shocking swept up by an unruly vacuum and can type poetry. As the half bald squirrel is still trying to find his powers, he eats...a LOT! Flora is positive Ulysses can be just as great as Incandesto, hero comic book ideal. She pushes Ulysses to become the best super squirrel he can be. Then Ulysses is kiddnapped by Flora's mother and sent to be kill with a shovel while laying still in a skratchy sack. Ulysses then attacks Flora's mother and literally flies to Flora. Meanwhile, Flora and her friends rush off with her mother's beloved lamp and search madly for Ulysses. They are once again united and Ulysses' final poem warms the hearts of the characters and the reader.
                  • chlooe
                    chlooeWednesday, January 23, 2019 at 3:34 pm55 starsFeatured
                    I just finished this outstanding novel yesterday, and I really loved it! I would recommend this book to others on DOGO, including people from the internet. I would recommend this book to others because this book has it's potential, that's why this novel earned it's medal. Another reason why I would recommend this book to others is because the moral of this novel is that you should always follow your heart, superhero or not, Incandesto or not, everyone can accomplish their own dreams. This novel is heartwarming and I hope that you can understand my words, and understand the moral too! Enjoy the book, and please enjoy your reading!
                    • miniongirlFriday, December 28, 2018 at 6:27 pm
                      i read this book and i liked it. it made me love squirrels even more than i already did

                      Summer Reading 2013 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 14, 2013
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2013 Stats

                      Books read:3999
                      Books reviewed:934
                      Prizes won:230
                      Schools participating:285

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      ocelot
                      ocelot
                      bookish5
                      bookish5
                      sparkling5
                      sparkling5
                      bookworm890
                      bookworm890
                      ilgrocks
                      ilgrocks
                      super
                      super
                      xxpish
                      xxpish
                      r0shni07
                      r0shni07
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      slappy
                      slappy