Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 4n/a3.313784

Moving is tough. Being the new kid in school is even tougher. But the hardest thing of all about the move that Doreen "Dodo" Bussey's family is making is that she suspects it might be because of her. She got into trouble at her last school.

On the drive to their new home, her mother gives Dodo a blank notebook, which she uses to chronicle the move, the first days in a new city, and the ups and downs of starting a new school and making new friends. In the process, she reinvents herself as the Doodlebug. Her little sister seems to adjust to everything so easily―why is it so hard for Dodo?

Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on July 6, 2010 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 0312561563
ISBN-13: 9780312561567
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hunt3214
    hunt3214Tuesday, February 20, 2018 at 7:39 am55 stars
    GREAT I WANT MORE
    • hunt3214
      hunt3214Tuesday, February 20, 2018 at 7:38 am55 stars
      best book ever!
      • kiwikat
        kiwikatFriday, June 24, 2016 at 6:43 pm
        I didn't enjoy this book very much because it was hard to read. Good plot, but I didn't like how it was structured overall. I give this book 3/5 stars.
        • aariaSaturday, March 1, 2014 at 2:23 pm
          I've never read this but in my head I'm guessing from the front cover of the book, that the book is all about getting driving lessons.
          • ocelot
            ocelotMonday, September 9, 2013 at 4:42 pm55 stars
            Dodo is moving. She is not very happy for moving and she can't seem to settle in on her move. Her sister can very easily, but she can't. On the drive there Dodo gets a blank notebook and she doodles in it the adventure she is taking. And that is what I just read. Find out all the things that could possibly go wrong with Dodo in "Doodlebug: A Novel In Doodles"
            • bookish5
              bookish5Wednesday, August 14, 2013 at 4:06 pm55 stars
              I really liked the unique story this book told, but I overall didn't enjoy it that much. Although it was kind of interesting, I found it boring at times and hard to continue with.
              • ocelot
                ocelotThursday, August 8, 2013 at 3:02 pm55 stars
                Cute story review, should I read it?
                • mckayla18
                  mckayla18Monday, July 15, 2013 at 5:35 pm55 stars
                  doodle bug has many twists and turns through out the book I thought it is a very good book I would love to read books by Karen Romano Young and I thought this is the best yet and the drawings are amazing so this book is five star to me
                  • pippypenguin
                    pippypenguinSaturday, June 22, 2013 at 2:05 pm44 stars
                    I really like the idea of telling a story in mostly doodles. I can also relate to Dodo (A.K.A. Doodlebug) because when I moved I was really mad at my parents for not asking how I felt about that, but my new house was (and still is) better than my old one. My school is way better too! =)
                    • nmedi1
                      nmedi1Monday, June 17, 2013 at 10:25 pm
                      Doodlebug is an very funny book about a girl and her family that move. Will they make it? Find out when you read the book.

                      Summer Reading 2013 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 14, 2013
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2013 Stats

                      Books read:3999
                      Books reviewed:934
                      Prizes won:230
                      Schools participating:285

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      ocelot
                      ocelot
                      bookish5
                      bookish5
                      sparkling5
                      sparkling5
                      bookworm890
                      bookworm890
                      ilgrocks
                      ilgrocks
                      super
                      super
                      xxpish
                      xxpish
                      r0shni07
                      r0shni07
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      slappy
                      slappy