Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T3.826941
Jill goes along with the rest of the fifth-grade class in tormenting a classmate and then finds out what it's like when she, too, becomes a target.
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on December 1, 1982 by Atheneum/Richard Jackson Books
ISBN-10: 0027110109
ISBN-13: 9780027110104
31 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hockey_kid77
    hockey_kid77Tuesday, August 11, 2020 at 4:42 am55 stars
    This book kind of has a moral to it, which is to not bully, and then it shows you what that feels like. This book is about Jill Brenner, and how she doesn't really like to be bossed around, though she's afraid of offending Wendy, whose like the popular girl at school. Loved this book!
    • NiceFriday, July 3, 2020 at 10:53 am
      It is a very interesting book it was a nice read
      • inmemoryofcpr
        inmemoryofcprTuesday, June 11, 2019 at 8:19 am22 stars
        So i read this book because i and nothing else to read and it was super weird and confusing. The characters feelings were hard to really depict and i wouldnt recommend this unless you have nothing else to read.
        • The ReviewerSunday, May 19, 2019 at 11:49 am
          This book would be great for children who are becoming older and need to learn how it feels to be bullied wich Judy describes quite well though the consequences the children serve after the alults find out are very unrealistic. It is about a girl named Jill Brenner who bullies an obeice child in her class. This bullying turns very serious from calling her names to hurting her. But eventually Jill stands up for (this is very realistic) Linda (Blubber)and the bullies start targeting Jill. And Linda joins in! I think this is good because we get to see how it feels to bully someone and how it feels to be bullied. This book is good but not amazing. I'm going to say it is for ages 10 plus because it is very sad there is some swearing which was totally unnecessary.
          • deweyduck
            deweyduckMonday, October 15, 2018 at 7:15 pm55 stars
            Great book, Great humor, Great fun!!!! I highly roc mend this book, it's amazingly written, and amazingly funny!!!! Judy Blume is definitely going on my favorites list!!!
            • AwesomecupcakeFriday, June 15, 2018 at 7:58 pm
              The book was very good it was nice and inspiring,but i think judy should have an ending because when i finished the book i was like “it cant be like this!maybe the book missed a page”
              • catslovewaffles
                catslovewafflesThursday, February 8, 2018 at 11:22 am55 stars
                This book was really good! It's soo... good. I really recomend this book for Judy Blume book lovers
                • sunshinediver
                  sunshinediverThursday, June 9, 2016 at 1:55 pm33 stars
                  It is mean but the main character learns a very valuable lesson. The main character is a follower until one day she stands up for someone and everything is different.
                  • myabuggy
                    myabuggyFriday, October 23, 2015 at 10:04 am
                    i decided to pick this book because my class had this more program and i read like 2 or more books and i got two books for free that we can keep
                    • jalissia
                      jalissiaWednesday, October 21, 2015 at 7:12 pm55 stars
                      It was very good.

                      Summer Reading 2013 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 14, 2013
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2013 Stats

                      Books read:3999
                      Books reviewed:934
                      Prizes won:230
                      Schools participating:285

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      ocelot
                      ocelot
                      bookish5
                      bookish5
                      sparkling5
                      sparkling5
                      bookworm890
                      bookworm890
                      ilgrocks
                      ilgrocks
                      super
                      super
                      xxpish
                      xxpish
                      r0shni07
                      r0shni07
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      slappy
                      slappy