Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.630340
3 hours, 9 minutes
2 cassettes
Performed by Laura Hamilton

Being eleven-going-on-twelve is hard enough, but when Margaret Simon's family moves to New Jersey she knows she needs to talk to someone. Is God listening?
Hardcover
Published on December 1, 1982 by Atheneum/Richard Jackson Books
ISBN-10: 0027109909
ISBN-13: 9780027109900
67 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sylvie55555
    sylvie55555Saturday, July 18, 2020 at 9:20 am44 stars
    Are you there god? It's me Margret is a book by Judy Blume about growing up. Margret has always lived in New York, and now she is moving to New Jersey for the first time. She makes a friend right away, and is even invited to a secret club. But Margret is still having an identity crisis. Her dad is Jewish and her mom Christian, but they both gave up thier religion when they got married, and Margret doesn't know "what" she is. Read this book to see how Margret discover who she really is. Happy Reading!
    • sirireads
      sirireadsTuesday, May 26, 2020 at 12:53 pm55 stars
      I truly LOVE this book. I recommend it to middle school OR high school girls. It is a funny, touching story of growing up and the extremes we will go to in order to grow up faster. It made me realize, that, well, I wasn't alone in wanting to grow up faster. Although it was set in the sixties, it totally holds up and relates to how girls feel now. On a last note, it is not really for boys, but each to their own...
      • emilyyadron
        emilyyadronFriday, January 10, 2020 at 8:05 am55 stars
        One day a girl named Margret was at here house. She decided to go and go see her friend. When she got to her friend's house she saw a moving truck. This book reminds me of when my friend moved away to another state. I gave this book a five stare rating because it talked about god.
        • Book loverSaturday, November 2, 2019 at 11:22 am
          Margret is a girl who was not born into religion goes to a secret "club" where she discusses tween isusse and I would recommend for 10+
          • lady_ofthe_jury
            lady_ofthe_jurySunday, September 1, 2019 at 6:04 pm55 stars
            this book is really cool,but probably ask permistion from parent before reading, as this book is a HUGE controversy
            • 13iamgroot
              13iamgrootThursday, August 15, 2019 at 2:57 pm55 stars
              This is a great book for girls ages 10-13. I loved it so much. Margaret just wants to fit in with her new friends, but she doesn't feel as grown up as them. She joins a secret club with three girls and they are called the PTS's (Pre-Teen Sensations). She can't wait to grow up, but it isn't happening as quickly as she would have hoped. A great read, I would recommend it for any tween girl.
              • Kamilica Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 7:51 am
                It's very funny to read this book
                • sylvie55555
                  sylvie55555Monday, July 15, 2019 at 4:52 am44 starsFeatured
                  Are you there god, It's me Margaret is a book about growing up and the importance of friendship and trust. In this book you learn about Margaret and her friends, who she meets after moving to New Jersey after living in New York her whole life. Margaret and her friends decide to open a "secret" club that meets every Monday to discuss "important" things. Another element to this book is the love between family, which is shown through Margaret and her grandmother and their bond. Overall I would recommend this book to tweens.
                  • applemango
                    applemangoSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 11:48 am44 stars
                    This is a girl named Margaret and when she moves to countryside from new york she meets new friends like Nancy. Then they form a group which they have to write down which boy they like and such. Margaret is struggling to also find what religion shes is in also. This is a very fun book.
                    • oofFriday, March 22, 2019 at 10:29 am
                      This book is soooo good. IT is by far one of the best books i have ever read. Im a straight up bookworm, so ive read alot of books.

                      Summer Reading 2013 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 14, 2013
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2013 Stats

                      Books read:3999
                      Books reviewed:934
                      Prizes won:230
                      Schools participating:285

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      ocelot
                      ocelot
                      bookish5
                      bookish5
                      sparkling5
                      sparkling5
                      bookworm890
                      bookworm890
                      ilgrocks
                      ilgrocks
                      super
                      super
                      xxpish
                      xxpish
                      r0shni07
                      r0shni07
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      slappy
                      slappy