Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a

Award-winning comics creator and author of the bestselling Invisible Emmie Terri Libenson returns with a companion graphic novel that captures the drama, angst, and humor of middle-school life. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Jennifer Holm, and Victoria Jamieson.

Middle school is all about labels.

Izzy is the dreamer. There’s nothing Izzy loves more than acting in skits and making up funny stories. The downside? She can never quite focus enough to get her schoolwork done.

Bri is the brain. But she wants people to see there’s more to her than just a report card full of As. At the same time, she wishes her mom would accept her the way she is and stop bugging her to “break out of her shell” and join drama club.

The girls’ lives converge in unexpected ways on the day of a school talent show, which turns out to be even more dramatic than either Bri or Izzy could have imagined.

Paperback, 224 pages
Published on May 1, 2018 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 0062484966
ISBN-13: 9780062484963
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • mmm2009
    mmm2009Tuesday, December 1, 2020 at 1:28 pm44 stars
    very interesting tell a story of two people one is the mother and one is the daughter the mother loves to perform and would do anything for it like escaping the house because she got grounded because she got bad grades and couldn't go to the performance whilst on the other hand her daughter is very smart and get good grades but hates to perform. the mum and dad are divorced and the girl called Brianna is living with her dad most of the time. Brianna gets chosen to play a role for the school performance by her mum she panics and practices with her partner called Dev. she does really well and is more confident in her self.
    • girlpower4ever
      girlpower4everMonday, August 17, 2020 at 9:53 am55 stars
      In this electrifying sequel to the bestselling Invisible Emmie graphic novel, Terri Libenson brings her mad comic skills to the table with Positively Izzy! This book follows the school life of Izzy and Brianna, two wildly different middle schoolers. Izzy is an outgoing, positive girl who's a sucker for theater. Her whole life is about acting - until something happens that blockades her from auditioning for the talent show! Brianna, on the other hand, Emmie's best friend, is known as The Brain of school. She's smart and friendly and hasn't a care for theater, even though her mom is the theater teacher. But what happens when a freak accident lands her an audition in the talent show? Watch these two girls' worlds collide and unfold - with a spectacular plot twist at the end, this book cannot disappoint.
      • sunshine2010
        sunshine2010Thursday, June 18, 2020 at 12:03 pm55 stars
        I looooooooove this author
        • pizzagirl7
          pizzagirl7Monday, June 15, 2020 at 5:21 am55 stars
          In this book it goes back and forth between Izzy and Brianna .. They is a lot of labels at the school and Brianna wants to be MORE then the brains. They was a school play happening and both Izzy and Brianna want to be a part of it. All through out this book it seems as the two girls are going to the same school and talking about the same play . But at the end Brianna throughs a birthday party for her mom and we find out her mom is izzy!!I thought this was a very awesome book. I recommend to all ages. I rate this book 5/5 stars . Thank you for this review! - Pizzagirl7 💋
          • rina123aaa
            rina123aaaSaturday, May 23, 2020 at 9:33 am55 stars
            Wow! This book is about two completely opposite people. A brainiac and a actress. I really loved how this book was designed. At first, it seems as though Izzy and Bri are in the same school at the same time. Bri's mom is drama teacher. But in the end, we find out Izzy is Bri's mom!
            • princessari
              princessariFriday, March 13, 2020 at 7:07 am55 stars
              This is a great book. It is about a girl that goes to school and she is not that popular . Also she gets bullied some times. I can related to the book because I am not that popular. I give this a five star because I can relate to the book very well.
              • blue_monkeyMonday, November 11, 2019 at 8:09 am
                this book is really good and i became addicted to it right away.
                • legendsneverdie
                  legendsneverdieThursday, September 12, 2019 at 6:55 pm55 stars
                  I love this comic book! Well, this book was kind of like a chapter book mixed with comics. I loved it and I kept loving it! I think what Terri could have done was put Izzy's real name in the book. I keep wondering that XD!!
                  • inmemoryofcpr
                    inmemoryofcprWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 2:40 pm33 stars
                    This book was pretty good but some parts were really confusing like how Izzy was related to Bri but then everything finally made sense in the end. Pretty good, but could have a better pace and more interesting.
                    • kruzingwithk9s
                      kruzingwithk9sThursday, May 30, 2019 at 11:29 am55 stars
                      Izzy isn't her real name, but so many people call her that she can barely remember her real name. Brianna is nicknamed the brain at her school, when she isn't hanging out with Emmie, shes studying. Izzy and her sister made up a play for the talent show. But when her sister chickens out she takes it over as a one-woman-show. This book switches between Izzy and Brianna, and its really good. You need to read it. Like. Right now. SO GO CHECK IT OUT