Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.6106350
A publisher in New York asked me to write down what I know about the Greek gods, and I was like, Can we do this anonymously? Because I don't need the Olympians mad at me again. But if it helps you to know your Greek gods, and survive an encounter with them if they ever show up in your face, then I guess writing all this down will be my good deed for the week.

So begins Percy Jackson's Greek Gods, in which the son of Poseidon adds his own magic--and sarcastic asides--to the classics. He explains how the world was created, then gives readers his personal take on a who's who of ancients, from Apollo to Zeus. Percy does not hold back. "If you like horror shows, blood baths, lying, stealing, backstabbing, and cannibalism, then read on, because it definitely was a Golden Age for all that."

Dramatic full-color illustrations throughout by Caldecott Honoree John Rocco make this volume--a must for home, library, and classroom shelves--as stunning as it is entertaining.

Play Percy's Snarky Word Search

Preview & Download
Teacher's Guide

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on August 19, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423183649
ISBN-13: 9781423183648
Fans
140 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • zingisme213
    zingisme213Wednesday, April 18, 2018 at 8:23 am44 stars
    This book was really good, it was funny how Percy said, 'Zeus always goes first, this time we're going woman first' or something, it's been a while since I read it.
    • meadowlark12
      meadowlark12Monday, January 15, 2018 at 12:11 pm55 stars
      This book is a hilarious spin on what we know about the greek gods. It is impossible not to laugh when you are reading this book- the god's personalities and rules are so twisted and silly! Full of betrayal (mainly caused by Aphrodite), foolishness, crazy past experiences, and wit, this book takes everything we thought we knew about the greek gods and gives it an insane twist. Rick Riordan could even make American history seem awesome.
      • alien9098
        alien9098Sunday, December 17, 2017 at 11:20 am55 stars
        Percy Jackson is awesome and so is mortal Apollo!!!!!
        • grapefruit
          grapefruitWednesday, October 11, 2017 at 5:35 am55 stars
          OMG this book was so incredibly amazing and funny!!!!!It's the kind of book that will bring tears of laughter to your eyes and leave you giggling on the bed for at least 10 minutes after you've finished it. I've read it FIVE times and still laugh at the funny parts, which probably means the whole book.
          • tripathyaditi12
            tripathyaditi12Sunday, June 4, 2017 at 7:19 pm44 stars
            Percy Jackson provides information about each of the gods. He gives their backstory and a few stories or myths about them.
            • Annabeth chaseFriday, May 19, 2017 at 6:33 am
              Love love love love this book!⚡️
              • ajawesomegirl
                ajawesomegirlTuesday, March 28, 2017 at 12:28 pm55 stars
                OMG YES! ANOTHER ADDITION TO THE PERCY JACKSON! thank you rick ;) Basically It just funny stories about the gods and their encounters. Even my favorite goddess (Artemis) had a funny story (and she has no sense if humor whatsoever)
                • Super cool bro2Sunday, February 26, 2017 at 6:57 pm
                  I totally agree Super cool bro I mean like really why!!
                  • butterfly18
                    butterfly18Sunday, February 12, 2017 at 5:53 am
                    Such a good book
                    • the_awesome_one
                      the_awesome_oneWednesday, January 11, 2017 at 10:32 am44 stars
                      The old myths brought back for new life!