Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.6106350
A publisher in New York asked me to write down what I know about the Greek gods, and I was like, Can we do this anonymously? Because I don't need the Olympians mad at me again. But if it helps you to know your Greek gods, and survive an encounter with them if they ever show up in your face, then I guess writing all this down will be my good deed for the week.

So begins Percy Jackson's Greek Gods, in which the son of Poseidon adds his own magic--and sarcastic asides--to the classics. He explains how the world was created, then gives readers his personal take on a who's who of ancients, from Apollo to Zeus. Percy does not hold back. "If you like horror shows, blood baths, lying, stealing, backstabbing, and cannibalism, then read on, because it definitely was a Golden Age for all that."

Dramatic full-color illustrations throughout by Caldecott Honoree John Rocco make this volume--a must for home, library, and classroom shelves--as stunning as it is entertaining.

Play Percy's Snarky Word Search

Preview & Download
Teacher's Guide

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on August 19, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423183649
ISBN-13: 9781423183648
Fans
163 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • magicalmythical
    magicalmythicalSaturday, August 29, 2020 at 4:30 pm
    I did not read this book but this will help people learn about greek mythology
    • kotlcgirl
      kotlcgirlSaturday, June 6, 2020 at 11:42 am55 stars
      Told in Percy Jackson's funnny style,this was a great book. Athena,Artemis,Ares,the almighty Zeus... If you want to learn more about Greek gods,read this book! How did Athena get born?Why did Hermes get away with stealing Apollo's sacred cows?Why does the godess of spring live in the Underworld? All these questions are answered in Percy Jackson's Greek Gods, plus much more! I loved this book!
      • girlpower4ever
        girlpower4everThursday, June 4, 2020 at 8:26 am55 stars
        I read this book before I read the Percy Jackson series itself, and definitely finally realized why Percy Jackson was so popular! Perseus Jackson returns with his iconic slapstick humor and undertones of mocking in this specialized book, "Percy Jackson's Greek Gods." If you have yet to read the Percy Jackson series, I would one hundred percent recommend buying/reading this book before the real series. It will help you understand the mythological component of the PJO much better and give you insight into Percy's personality and his world, so you'll know if you're interested!
        • annabethc101
          annabethc101Wednesday, April 29, 2020 at 12:07 pm55 stars
          This book is amazing
          • applemango
            applemangoMonday, July 8, 2019 at 2:16 pm55 stars
            R.R expressed the greek gods well. This is a story about many various gods and goddesses telling a tale of their weak points and strong ones. Zeus, he's always first so R.R decides it's someone else's turn to become first. Including fascinating stories of the goddess of love and others.......
            • brawlstarschamp
              brawlstarschampTuesday, June 4, 2019 at 4:21 pm55 stars
              THIS IS AN AWESOME BOOK!!!!!!!!!! I love it so much, that once I read it to my class every day for about a month during snack break! It tells the stories of the Greek Gods and the titans as well. Enjoy!
              • luvmylipgloss
                luvmylipglossWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 9:11 am55 stars
                Percy Jackson and the Greek Gods is a book about, well, the Greek Gods! I liked this book, and I have it. I totally recommend it to you, plus, you can also read all about the Titans.
                • watercolrwonder
                  watercolrwonderTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 5:40 am44 stars
                  This book has all the humor of Rick Riordan, but it goes through the classic (and some more obscure) myths and legends of the Greek gods. If you liked the Percy Jackson, you will love this book!
                  • unknownFriday, March 22, 2019 at 6:25 am
                    The beginning is just amazing and is so funny. It explains how much Zeus is a player.
                    • thatguy111111
                      thatguy111111Thursday, March 21, 2019 at 8:59 am55 stars
                      this is the best book and if you love greek gods as much as I do you would love this book and it is the best and I love gthe percy jaskson series a