Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 5 - 8X5.319756
This gripping story, written in sparse first-person, free-verse poems, is the compelling tale of Billie Jo's struggle to survive during the dust bowl years of the Depression. With stoic courage, she learns to cope with the loss of her mother and her grieving father's slow deterioration. There is hope at the end when Billie Jo's badly burned hands are healed, and she is able to play her beloved piano again. The 1998 Newbery Medal winner.
Hardcover
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0307259668
ISBN-13: 9780307259660
114 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • MeghanSTuesday, February 14, 2017 at 10:02 am
    The book was interesting, I never really knew how bad the storms actually were until I heard about the living conditions Billie Jo and her family were facing topped off with all the drama in their family.
    • caitlynp
      caitlynpTuesday, February 14, 2017 at 5:37 am
      The book the Out of the Dust, was a fun, sad, and interesting. The book got boring sometimes but got more exciting as major events came.
      • HeMonday, February 13, 2017 at 7:13 pm
        Karen Hesse really made Billie Jo's life interesting with her mom dead but it was sad for me.😢
        • nateOliMonday, February 13, 2017 at 6:19 am
          Out of the Dust was a fascinating book about the dust back in the 1900's. It was interesting how big the dust storms were and Billie Jo's life.
          • taviane
            tavianeFriday, February 10, 2017 at 10:09 am
            The book Out of the dust follows a Girl named Billie Jo through her hardships, the depression
            • chloedomico
              chloedomicoFriday, February 10, 2017 at 10:07 am
              I thought it was a good book, even though it got boring sometimes while they were leading up to major events and it was sad at times. It was very well written.
              • kramergirl
                kramergirlFriday, February 10, 2017 at 10:06 amFeatured
                This book fills young readers minds with all the troubles from our past as a county. It shows readers to always have hope in rough times. I personally liked this book, but i believe it should have more action because at times, it lost my attention at times. This book was dramatic! but also at many times very sad and depressing. But overall it let you reflect back on your own life and made you realize yours isn't as bad as you thought it was. It also reminds you that family is forever, no matter what happened
                • FerryFriday, February 10, 2017 at 10:06 am
                  I really think this book was really great. This book was amazing and it had many suspenses and sad parts. This book was great to read from beginning to end because it had its sad moments and its happy moments.
                  • EwingLFriday, February 10, 2017 at 10:06 am
                    This book was a great book and had very unexpected parts that made me want to keep reading. The only problem was the end, I didn't like when Louise replaced Ma. Other than the end it was a good book.
                    • brianw
                      brianwFriday, February 10, 2017 at 10:05 am
                      Out of the dust was a good book it had a lot of emotion parts that I can relate too It was a great book overall

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      jaden44
                      jaden44 wrote:

                      I really liked this book
                      Sisters

                      jaden44
                      jaden44 wrote:

                      This book sounds sooooo good!!!
                      Pax

                      Sid wrote:

                      Dak, Sera, and Riq go to Baghdad...
                      Infinity Ring Book 5: Cave of Wo...

                      arrow84
                      arrow84 wrote:

                      this book was awesome will and b...
                      The Mirror's Tale (Further Tales...