Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.527197
As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, 10-year-old Annemarie Johansens's family takes in annemaries' best friend, Ellen Roxen, and pretend she is part of the family. Ellen and Annemarie must htink quickly when three Nazi officers arrive late one night and question why Ellen is not blond, like her sisters. Through Annemaries' eyes, we see the Danish Resistance as they manage to smuggle almost the entire Jewish population, nearly seven thousand people, across the sea to Sweden. In this tale of an entire nation's heroism, Lois Lowry reminds us that there is pride and human decency in the world even during a time of terror and war.
Paperback, 168 pages
Published on December 22, 2014 by Sandpiper
398 Book Reviews
  • weworofy-160798470925
    weworofy-160798470925Monday, March 8, 2021 at 7:29 am55 stars
    Number the Stars is an amazing book. Annemarie when through a lot still being young kid. I felt bad for her friend Ellen, she had bad stuff happen to her but she is finally free.
    • babyyodafan1
      babyyodafan1Wednesday, January 6, 2021 at 6:30 pm55 stars
      This book is really good I read it in 5th grade.
      • bootiful\Tuesday, October 27, 2020 at 5:31 pm
        i read this book at my class once and this book is amazing i suggest u to read it.
        • itsmekaitduh123
          itsmekaitduh123Tuesday, October 27, 2020 at 5:04 pm55 stars
          I read this book bck in 5th grade bruh best book ever
          • animallovinggal
            animallovinggalTuesday, October 27, 2020 at 4:20 pm55 stars
            Really good!!!!! Loved Kristi!💓💓💓💓💓💓💓
            • Daisy 😄Thursday, October 1, 2020 at 5:15 am
              Omg the teacher read this book before
              • sweet-readlover
                sweet-readloverFriday, July 24, 2020 at 7:29 am55 stars
                I read this book and it is a really good book. It is about World War 2 and how it is important about friendships.💕
                • ginny3weasley
                  ginny3weasleyThursday, May 28, 2020 at 3:54 pm55 stars
                  THIS is a good storie it is about FRIENDSHIP mostly WORLD WAR 2 but i like learning about it
                  • willow123goma
                    willow123gomaThursday, May 28, 2020 at 9:10 am55 stars
                    This book was one of the most touching I have ever read. It is a testimony that friendship and love can defeat evil, which in this book was the Nazis who did terrible things against Jews. I was amazed that there were people out their like Annemarie and her family that were willing to risk their lives to help other people. Although history can be sad because of death and hatred, if we don't educate ourselves with it, history will just repeat itself. That is why I think we, even as children should study the horrors and sadness of the past, learn about those who tried to help other people even by risking their lives, and stand up for those who are hated and despised.
                    • queen19
                      queen19Tuesday, March 31, 2020 at 10:52 am55 stars
                      I read this book in my class, and I was sure that I wouldn't like it. THIS BOOK IS NOT WHAT YOU EXPECT. It is the most heart-touching book that I can think of.