Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.527197
As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, 10-year-old Annemarie Johansens's family takes in annemaries' best friend, Ellen Roxen, and pretend she is part of the family. Ellen and Annemarie must htink quickly when three Nazi officers arrive late one night and question why Ellen is not blond, like her sisters. Through Annemaries' eyes, we see the Danish Resistance as they manage to smuggle almost the entire Jewish population, nearly seven thousand people, across the sea to Sweden. In this tale of an entire nation's heroism, Lois Lowry reminds us that there is pride and human decency in the world even during a time of terror and war.
Paperback, 168 pages
Published on December 22, 2014 by Sandpiper
363 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • slushie
    slushieWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 6:07 pm55 stars
    omg, I read this book when I was in 4th grade it was such a great book I love history I loved this book so much that I couldn't stop reading it! now that I moved up to a higher grade I still read it heh... but keep up the good work! plus I love Lois Lowry's books she was my childhood author!
    • 48nation
      48nationWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 8:41 am55 stars
      This book was very well written, and had lots of great parts to it. It always kept me wanting to read more of it then my reading time was aloud. The excitingness created dramatic suspense sometimes and even made me a little scared, but over all this book was very good.
      • superkid10k1
        superkid10k1Tuesday, April 9, 2019 at 11:03 am55 stars
        My class is reading it.
        • mdawg14
          mdawg14Tuesday, April 9, 2019 at 8:30 am55 stars
          I loved this book
          • fifth gradeMonday, March 25, 2019 at 4:21 pm
            this book is amazing and is full of friendship. Annemarie grows up and helps the Jewish people escape. During this time Annemarie finally understands the meaning of bravery. And shows bravery during this scary time. Ellen journeys through hardships and the Johansens's are there to help them. In the end the Rosens finally find freedom. But is Ellen and Annemarie able to met again.
            • FoxyTuesday, March 5, 2019 at 10:23 am
              This is nice
              • theofficelover
                theofficeloverTuesday, March 5, 2019 at 9:41 am55 stars
                I think that Kristi was so brave her and Ellen I mean so brave and there parents are brave to you know. I know that I would've been not brave but just the thought of it scares me so much I would've been to scared I wouldn't be able to do it
                • theofficelover
                  theofficeloverTuesday, March 5, 2019 at 9:08 am55 stars
                  wow i love this so much
                  • vioMonday, March 4, 2019 at 3:53 pm
                    LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                    • shootingstars
                      shootingstarsThursday, February 21, 2019 at 8:25 am
                      Beautifully wrote! :D