Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.527197
As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, 10-year-old Annemarie Johansens's family takes in annemaries' best friend, Ellen Roxen, and pretend she is part of the family. Ellen and Annemarie must htink quickly when three Nazi officers arrive late one night and question why Ellen is not blond, like her sisters. Through Annemaries' eyes, we see the Danish Resistance as they manage to smuggle almost the entire Jewish population, nearly seven thousand people, across the sea to Sweden. In this tale of an entire nation's heroism, Lois Lowry reminds us that there is pride and human decency in the world even during a time of terror and war.
Mass Market Paperback, 136 pages
Published on February 9, 1998 by Laurel Leaf
ISBN-10: 0440227534
ISBN-13: 9780440227533
397 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • babyyodafan1
    babyyodafan1Wednesday, January 6, 2021 at 6:30 pm55 stars
    This book is really good I read it in 5th grade.
    • bootiful\Tuesday, October 27, 2020 at 5:31 pm
      i read this book at my class once and this book is amazing i suggest u to read it.
      • itsmekaitduh123
        itsmekaitduh123Tuesday, October 27, 2020 at 5:04 pm55 stars
        I read this book bck in 5th grade bruh best book ever
        • animallovinggal
          animallovinggalTuesday, October 27, 2020 at 4:20 pm55 stars
          Really good!!!!! Loved Kristi!💓💓💓💓💓💓💓
          • Daisy 😄Thursday, October 1, 2020 at 5:15 am
            Omg the teacher read this book before
            • sweet-readlover
              sweet-readloverFriday, July 24, 2020 at 7:29 am55 stars
              I read this book and it is a really good book. It is about World War 2 and how it is important about friendships.💕
              • ginny3weasley
                ginny3weasleyThursday, May 28, 2020 at 3:54 pm55 stars
                THIS is a good storie it is about FRIENDSHIP mostly WORLD WAR 2 but i like learning about it
                • willow123goma
                  willow123gomaThursday, May 28, 2020 at 9:10 am55 stars
                  This book was one of the most touching I have ever read. It is a testimony that friendship and love can defeat evil, which in this book was the Nazis who did terrible things against Jews. I was amazed that there were people out their like Annemarie and her family that were willing to risk their lives to help other people. Although history can be sad because of death and hatred, if we don't educate ourselves with it, history will just repeat itself. That is why I think we, even as children should study the horrors and sadness of the past, learn about those who tried to help other people even by risking their lives, and stand up for those who are hated and despised.
                  • queen19
                    queen19Tuesday, March 31, 2020 at 10:52 am55 stars
                    I read this book in my class, and I was sure that I wouldn't like it. THIS BOOK IS NOT WHAT YOU EXPECT. It is the most heart-touching book that I can think of.
                    • loketoke
                      loketokeTuesday, March 17, 2020 at 12:01 am44 stars
                      From the second I saw this book, I knew I didn’t want to read it. I left it alone for many weeks, and forgot about it. When my mom found out I didn’t read it, she persuaded me to read a chapter or two to see how I liked it. I reluctantly picked up the book, and read a few chapters. I became addicted quickly. This wonderful story about how Annemarie and her family protect a Jew is heartbreaking, happy, and sometimes sad.