Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8W3.950273
Three siblings - India, Finn, and Mouse - have less than forty-eight hours to pack up all their belongings and fly, without Mom, to their uncle Red's in Colorado, after they lose their house to foreclosure. But when they land, a mysterious driver meets them at the airport, and he's never heard of Uncle Red. Like Dorothy in Oz, they find themselves in a place they've never heard of, with no idea of how to get home, and time is running out.

In a total departure, Gennifer Choldenko tells a story of adventure and survival, set in a fantastical place with rules all its own. Sharp dialogue, high stakes, and taut action make this a book that will stick with you long after you read the incredible ending..
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on February 8, 2011 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803735340
ISBN-13: 9780803735347
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • grapefruit
    grapefruitFriday, September 29, 2017 at 3:33 am44 stars
    I read this because I liked the Alcatraz series, also by Gennifer. But this book was completely different! It's more fantasy than creative history... and far harder to understand. But still, it's good!
    • finnWednesday, May 24, 2017 at 11:37 am
      this book is awesome and i'm only half way
      • owl96
        owl96Friday, January 6, 2017 at 10:35 am55 stars
        I really like this book! It was about 3 different kids (India, Finn,and Mouse) who lost their house and have to move to Uncle Red's. They had to move alone on a flight, but when they got there, a taxi took them to a strange place. The three have no idea of where they are, and need to find out how to get home.
        • cami4
          cami4Monday, July 14, 2014 at 10:23 am55 stars
          this book is AWESOME!!!!!!!! the kids are poor they lose their house and have to go live with their uncle, the mom has to stay behind because she needs to end the year as a teacher, the kids get of the plane and find their selfs in a dream world, they get their own house and everything they want, but then the next day they get sucked up to a scary place [alley]. they go on an adventure so they can find their uncle, do they conplete their quest or no? read to find the answers and the twist in the amazing story!!!!!
          • greekgeek
            greekgeekTuesday, March 18, 2014 at 6:01 pm22 stars
            eh..it was ok
            • paetyn
              paetynThursday, December 13, 2012 at 6:18 pm44 stars
              I thought the book was amazing and i was compeled to read it 24/7
              • cami4
                cami4Monday, July 14, 2014 at 10:29 am55 stars
                i did to this book was awesome