My Life as a Book (The My Life series)

Book 1 of 5 in the The My Life Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7S5.223929

Summer's finally here, and Derek Fallon is looking forward to pelting the UPS truck with water balloons, climbing onto the garage roof, and conducting silly investigations. But when his parents decide to send him to Learning Camp, Derek's dreams of fun come to an end. Ever since he's been labeled a "reluctant reader," his mom has pushed him to read "real" books-something other than his beloved Calvin & Hobbes.
As Derek forges unexpected friendships and uncovers a family secret involving himself (in diapers! no less), he realizes that adventures and surprises are around the corner, complete with curve balls. My Life as a Book is a 2011 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on July 6, 2010 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0805089039
ISBN-13: 9780805089035
52 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • catsarecool
    catsarecoolWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 5:51 pm22 stars
    My teacher chose to read this to us and honestly It was just kinda not my kinda book , but it was still decent.
    • stitch123
      stitch123Sunday, March 11, 2018 at 8:23 am55 stars
      In this book Derek is a kid who doesn't like reading and is a trouble kid. Though he is a trouble kid he still does read or try to be good. One time hiding from his mom he discovered a secret about a old baby sitter and how she died. In the summer he tries to find out everything he can, but .... he finds out to a little to much. Stuff like on how he is still ALIVE! Or on how the mother of the baby sitter lived a lie or on how the baby sitters best friend was he only person who knew the truth. Well, at least he now knows that his dog actually saved him. Now since he loves to draw he goes and draws the book he read and telling stories he told his class. (YOU SHOULD READ IT TO UNDERSTAND!)
      • kidyoutuber
        kidyoutuberWednesday, June 14, 2017 at 3:02 pm55 stars
        It is really interesting with a great plot, problem, and solution. It was fun to read, and I did it for my end of book project
        • brendon246
          brendon246Wednesday, January 18, 2017 at 8:54 am44 stars
          Its about a boy named Derek and when his babysitter comes over. he hides in the attic and finds a newspaper article thats about a woman who drowns in the ocean. My favorite part is when Derek goes on top of the roof and throws a rock at the satellite dish.
          • s138783
            s138783Tuesday, October 6, 2015 at 1:31 pm
            it cool
            • greekstyle
              greekstyleSaturday, October 18, 2014 at 8:12 pm
              My brothers x-teacher is reading it to him and I'm like "Why not Percy Jackson?!
              • maple2004
                maple2004Thursday, June 19, 2014 at 2:52 pm
                I have not read this book yet but I want to read this book
                • miahamilton
                  miahamiltonFriday, November 8, 2013 at 12:31 pm
                  I loved this book 📖📖📖📖📖
                  • tom01
                    tom01Sunday, September 15, 2013 at 2:11 pm
                    it was a good book
                    • edmodo-sa4ezxabyp
                      edmodo-sa4ezxabypThursday, September 5, 2013 at 11:35 am33 stars
                      Derek Fallon is a trouble maker!He loves to conduct silly investigations and throw water balloons at trucks.He is looking toward summer vacation until his mother ruin his plan.This book has lots of humor in it.Many kids can relate to Derek.This book isn't really bad.At the end he learns a valuable lesson.