Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 6Grades 3 - 8V5.153752
Having no one to help her with her problems, a widowed mouse visits the rats whose former imprisonment in a laboratory made them wise and long lived.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on April 24, 1997 by Hamish Hamilton Ltd
ISBN-10: 0241138760
ISBN-13: 9780241138762
34 Book Reviews
  • michaeliscool
    michaeliscoolMonday, May 24, 2021 at 5:22 am44 stars
    My teacher read it in the class.
    • thistle912
      thistle912Thursday, September 24, 2020 at 10:26 am44 starsFeatured
      I would have never opened this book if it wasn’t for my fourth grade teacher, who read Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH to my class. At first, I was hesitant to start reading, but soon, I found myself astounded by Robert O’Brien’s writing and how he describes each detail. I really loved the characters, plot, and heart-pounding adventure that was in this book, and so did my fellow classmates. By the end, I was laughing, crying, and simply loved this book! Summary: Mrs. Frisby is a mouse who has three children and lives in hiding. If she comes out of her hole to do something other than look for food or move to a different place, the people who live on the nearby farm might find and capture her. If she takes one wrong step, she’ll be in danger. But luckily, she knows how to survive and stay safe...or so she thinks. One day, when she comes upon a crow and helps him escape from a cat, everything turns upside down. She finds a group of highly intelligent rats called the rats of NIMH, who have a mysterious connection to Mr. Frisby, her dead husband. This unexpected chain of events takes Mrs. Frisby on an adventure that she will never forget. Can she do it? Read this book to find out! Overall, I liked this book, and rate it 4/5 stars. I would definitely recommend it to people who like animal fiction and fantasy!
      • tazzie
        tazzieFriday, July 3, 2020 at 11:01 pm55 stars
        I liked it because it had adventure in it and was realistic. It showed the rats point of view. I really liked it
        • inmemoryofcpr
          inmemoryofcprSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 10:15 am44 stars
          So me and my friends held a book club meeting about the book and i found out that I was the only person who read the first chapter because they said the first chapter was too boring. I think the author could have started off with a really good + exciting beginning but he didn't so that was disappointing. After that the story was really fun and enjoyable. I would recommend this if you can stand one chapter of boredom.
          • chlooe
            chlooeTuesday, April 2, 2019 at 3:20 pm44 stars
            Mrs. Frisby is the heroine of this story. In this story, Mrs. Frisby has to help save her son Timothy find a cure for his pneumonia and also while discovering that her husband helped alongside with the rats of NIMH before his death. Mrs. Frisby is a widowed mouse that has 5 children. This story is actually about Mrs. Frisby trying to find a cure for her son Timothy and going places to places, learning new information about her husband's past too. (Note: Mrs. Frisby lives near a farm of a family of 4.) While reading this book, I hope you understand the perspective of a widowed mouse that lives on her own without a husband but with kids. This vigorous story has earned a medal for the best children's literature. This book is great, not only because it's a perspective about a mouse, but also because the plot really grabs your attention, and it will make you want to read more of this great story.
            • ?Wednesday, February 7, 2018 at 8:54 am
              Love it
              • marlo137144147
                marlo137144147Tuesday, December 12, 2017 at 10:09 am
                i love it
                • marlo13
                  marlo13Friday, November 17, 2017 at 5:50 pm55 stars
                  i love this is cool
                  • marlo1371474414
                    marlo1371474414Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 6:25 pm
                    this book i very awesome i have read it before and i recommend that you read this book.
                    • kwilson10
                      kwilson10Wednesday, November 15, 2017 at 11:46 am
                      the book is cool lol