Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.657852
Thirteen-year-old Celeste Harris is no string bean, but comfy sweatpants and a daily chocolate cookie suit her just fine. Her under-the-radar lifestyle could have continued too, if her aunt hadn?t entered her in the HuskyPeach Modeling Challenge. To get out of it, she?s forced to launch Operation Skinny Celeste?because, after all, a thin girl can?t be a fat model! What Celeste never imagined was that losing weight would help her gain a backbone . . . or that all she needed to shine was a spotlight.

A hilarious debut featuring friendship, family, mean girls and even celebrity crushes, Celeste?s story is a delicious treat that doesn?t add a pound.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on February 5, 2009 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803734352
ISBN-13: 9780803734357
15 Book Reviews
  • vonicat
    vonicatTuesday, May 13, 2014 at 3:49 pm
    I read this book twice, I really love the way the author put the story together and I really recommend this book, and author to any reader.
    • pipermc11
      pipermc11Saturday, February 15, 2014 at 12:37 pm
      Celeste is chubby, on a good day. It doesn't help that her aunt enters her for a modeling contest-for chubby girls. She'll be labeled as a chubby model if she wins, so she has an idea- Operation Skinny Celeste- to make SURE she won't win. So what happens when she actually likes it?
      • vonicat
        vonicatTuesday, May 13, 2014 at 3:46 pm
        She becomes thinner, it's ok if you say that you are not spoiling anything if thats what happens in real life
      • ikyra_marie
        ikyra_marieFriday, February 14, 2014 at 10:30 am
        I read this book thinking it wouldn't be that good,but I really enjoyed it.It was sad but still a great story
        • jbgurl
          jbgurlWednesday, April 24, 2013 at 1:37 pm33 starsFeatured
          This is a nice book so far. this book has thirty chapters and is for young adults. it is about this girl that is really fat and gets bullied for being fat and all so now she is losing weight by dieting because she is 20 numbers over the weight she needs to be also girls should only read this book
          • kelsey
            kelseyWednesday, March 20, 2013 at 9:10 am
            Hellooo? Is this a good book? kelsey loves the flowerpowerbooks
            • sweettart23
              sweettart23Saturday, February 23, 2013 at 11:05 am
              I really want to read this book. It looks good, and I saw it also at a book fair but got something else instead.
              • kittykat123
                kittykat123Thursday, January 24, 2013 at 1:47 pm55 stars
                This book is the best book ever! My best friend, TETRIS, recommended it to me, and once is started reading this book, i couldn't put it down. This book is about a girl named Kaitlin Burke who is a Hollywood star but is tired of being on. To take a break, she attends a local public school in disguise, but she doesn't want her co-star and enemy, Sky Mackenzie to know, or she'll ruin her cover forever. With a twinge of romance, a bunch of excitement, this book is for readers who love to snuggle up with a good book!
                • hgonsi
                  hgonsiTuesday, January 22, 2013 at 8:38 pm44 stars
                  i wnat to read this book so bad everyone says it is REALLY good so i am eager to read it.
                  • mach
                    machTuesday, January 22, 2013 at 5:26 pm
                    WANT TO READ THIS BOOK
                    • mmg
                      mmgTuesday, January 22, 2013 at 5:08 pm
                      This book looks great because one, I like chocolate cookies, and two, I wonder what it is about. I wonder.