Mary Engelbreit's Classic Library: A Little Princess

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 2 - 5O4.22531

Sara Crewe lives happily at Miss Minchin's boarding school, where her beautiful clothes and gracious manners make her seem just like a real princess—until the day she loses everything. Now she must wear rags, sleep in the attic, and work hard for her living. Sara is poor and alone, but she keeps telling herself that she can still be a little princess inside, if only she tries hard enough.

Paperback, 320 pages
Published on December 5, 2017 by Virago
ISBN-10: 0349009333
ISBN-13: 9780349009339
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • casgirl
    casgirlTuesday, December 5, 2017 at 10:07 pm55 stars
    This is one of my favorite books of all time. It starts out with Sara having everything she could every want. but her father invested in dimend mines in inda then gets sick and dies. she mean while was in England at miss Minchin's school having every comfort you could imagine... until her father dies and she is left with no money, no home, no family. She stays at miss Minchin's school as a maid. but miss minchins horrid to her, she lives in the drafty attic ,is halfed starved , and wares close that are to small. but she keeps apositiv adatode throe thehole deel .
    • gn10ac67cl98
      gn10ac67cl98Wednesday, August 31, 2016 at 3:00 pm
      i love this because of mainly the whole story. Sara Crewe was a frail girl, so she couldn't live with her father in India. He was also a chef of the military . Her mother died when she was very young, so Sara is all her father had. However, he had to drop her off because she could stand the heat in India. Since he came from London, Sara's father decided to send Sara to Miss Minchin's boarding school for girls in London. However, before he left he had bought Sara an extraordinary wardrobe and a doll , so she would fit in with the other girls. At first, Miss Minchin said she would be a favorite pupil only because she was getting money. But when Sara got the letter 3years later that said her father gave his bank book to a friend he thought he could trust, but instead his so called "Friend," robbed him and ran away. Slowly Sara's father weaken from stress and his surroundings and soon died. Miss Minchin saw the letter and told Miss Amelia Miss Minchin's younger sister and they, including the other pupils started treating Sara badly. Now, Sara's doll emily is the only friend she has, but Sara still believes she has a friend inside her.
      • kitkat7
        kitkat7Wednesday, May 27, 2015 at 7:04 am55 stars
        loved the little princess it was a little sad at times but it was an adventure. She was creative and sweet and really a little princess. I would totally read this again.
        • maranita
          maranitaTuesday, March 10, 2015 at 10:10 pm55 stars
          Want to read this book.
          • judit
            juditTuesday, March 10, 2015 at 6:08 pm
            its really wonderfull
            • bluelove
              blueloveThursday, February 12, 2015 at 9:27 am
              I love this book❤️❤️❤️
              • ikyra_marie
                ikyra_marieMonday, December 15, 2014 at 5:06 pm
                I really would like to read this book after I read the secret garden.I read the secret Graden a couple years ago, but I never got to start it.
                • animallover123
                  animallover123Tuesday, October 21, 2014 at 2:26 pm
                  its really good
                  • bigmelo
                    bigmeloMonday, October 6, 2014 at 3:52 pm55 stars
                    A Little Princess enters a young girl's frantic world, as her father is once again, engaging in war. She is sent off to a strict boarding school in which she finds that her peers are all in a similar situation. As she gets to know her new companions, they all worry about the same issue: Will their parents ever come home?
                    • nikk
                      nikkFriday, October 3, 2014 at 4:14 am
                      i love this book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      12k_giveaway

                      I haven’t read it but it looks s...
                      Sleepover Sleuths (Nancy Drew an...

                      sandrigde_chick wrote:

                      I love this book!!
                      The Death Cure (The Maze Runner,...

                      dish
                      dish wrote:

                      JUST AMAZING
                      Drama

                      orangey2011

                      I have not read this book but i ...
                      Super Mario Adventures