Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grade 4n/a3.752603
Something terrible has happened. Eleven-year-old Aubrey is on her own. 'It was fun at first, playing house. Nothing to think about but T.V and cheese. A perfect world'. She's determined to hide away and take care of herself, because facing the truth is too much to bear. 'I couldn't let anyone know that I was alone. I was staying right here'. But with the love of her grandmother and the letters she writes, can Aubrey begin to see that even though she's lost everything - all is not lost?
Paperback, 272 pages
Published on February 8, 2011 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0375851593
ISBN-13: 9780375851599
38 Book Reviews
  • ochaco
    ochacoThursday, December 24, 2020 at 4:35 pm55 stars
    Love Aubrey is an amazing book I read it in 2nd grade and I loved it! It's a great chapter book along with amazing characters, and a good plot and plot twist Aubrey is a little girl who lives with her grandmother one day Aubrey gets a call from her aunt. Go read the story to know what happens next!
    • xdcotton_candy
      xdcotton_candyThursday, April 25, 2019 at 11:31 am55 stars
      I love this book sooo much I would give a summary but I did before I had a account on DOGO news. It’s the one with my name as bets book ever
      • MmeesFriday, March 29, 2019 at 11:32 am
        Plz I love this book sooooo much I just want my summary to be on when the book pops up
        • YeahTuesday, March 26, 2019 at 6:20 am
          Yeah best book ever does have a good summary 👍
          • PurplestarsTuesday, March 26, 2019 at 6:17 am
            That best book ever person has a great summary don’t you think
            • MeeSaturday, March 2, 2019 at 7:33 am
              Love this book
              • Bets book everFriday, March 1, 2019 at 8:55 am
                It’s hard to explain how much I love this book. It is the best book ever it’s is so touching how a Aubrey deals with ever thing that is going on in her life. The book is about a girl named Aubrey who is in 6 th grade. Aubrey’s life has been tunred upside down when her family got in a car crash that had killed her dad and her little sister. Which put her mother with all the grief of losing them taking over and leaves Aubrey. Aubrey was found by her grandma alone at her house. When she goes to her grandmas house it is like she has a new happy life we’re she makes friends and helps her grandma find her mom. She goes on a journey of slef discovery and sadness until she finally decided she has found were she wants to be. I love this book because of how inspiring it is and touching what Aubrey is going through. It’s a great book and I highly recommend it.
                • bookstory14
                  bookstory14Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 5:38 pm55 stars
                  I have a really good friend named Audrey (similar to Aubrey) so it made me sad because I thought of something like this happening to her. I love the insight from Aubrey and how she writes letters to people. I think the most touching thing for me is how she cares for her beta fish, Sam, because it is all she has left. It was an easy read, but I recommend it for anyone wanting a quick, good book with a lot of meaning and lessons that you will remember.
                  • Keala27Wednesday, February 14, 2018 at 8:25 pm
                    This is now my favorite book, so sad at some parts but Aubrey gets through them. And every time I finished a chapter or a page or even a paragraph I wanted to read more and more! Awesome book and I will totally recommend it to anyone!
                    • alestr1718
                      alestr1718Friday, September 22, 2017 at 6:25 am
                      Great book, if you don't like emotional books this is not the book for you. I cried over this book actually, very very good book. I absolutely love this book. I can't imagine eating cheese for a long period of time. I just wish she reached out for help sooner.