Let's Pretend This Never Happened (Dear Dumb Diary, No. 1)

Book 1 of 12 in the Dear Dumb Diary Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 6 - 12X6.18094
Read the hilarious, candid (& sometimes mean) diaries of Jamie Kelly, who promises that everything in her diary is true...or at least as true as it needs to be. In this book, Jamie contends with Angeline, the school's prettiest, most popular girl (who Jamie thinks is a goon!) and the impending visit of her troll-like little cousin. Will Jamie survive? Will she go mad? Will she send her mom's nasty casserole to starving children in Wheretheheckistan? You'll just have to read the first installment of Dear Dumb Diary to find out!
Mass Market Paperback, 129 pages
Published on July 1, 2004 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0439629047
ISBN-13: 9780439629041
61 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • WolfboyThursday, April 26, 2018 at 12:42 pm
    OK so it is a good book not say its bad but it needs work
    • sofia0-0
      sofia0-0Thursday, April 26, 2018 at 11:48 am
      I read the book and watch the movie it was the best book ever you will love the book so much.
      • minersteph117
        minersteph117Friday, September 29, 2017 at 6:27 pm55 stars
        I LOVE Dear Dumb Diary. The pictures are hilarious. I started this book on Tuesday it's Friday and I'm on book three now. I recommend this book to readers on a middle level. It's a highly relatable book.
        • janyiaboo1234
          janyiaboo1234Monday, October 2, 2017 at 2:09 pm44 stars
          I know right its sooo funny and its tells u that ur not the only one and its kinda relaxing to just have a laugh every once in a while right?
        • villager15
          villager15Friday, July 14, 2017 at 3:07 pm
          OMG
          • jer403870
            jer403870Friday, July 14, 2017 at 3:07 pm
            my friend has all the DEAR DUMB DIARY book's.
            • Leilani 101Tuesday, March 28, 2017 at 9:41 am
              this book is so me .
              • bgfrjkgFriday, March 24, 2017 at 12:39 am
                I couldnt borrow it
                • unicornhearts
                  unicornheartsThursday, December 29, 2016 at 12:58 pm
                  it is a very cool series i am on book 10 right now the books are very short though
                  • csal1617
                    csal1617Tuesday, December 6, 2016 at 7:21 amFeatured
                    The name of this book is Dear Dumb Diary. The author is Jim Benton. The book Dear Dumb Diary is a very good book. The setting is at her school. The time and period is modern time period. The protagonist, Jamie Kelly, she is nice and funny. The antagonist, Angelina, she is pretty and she has pretty blonde hair. There were two conflicts. Jamie likes this kid and Angelina stole him. The other confit is she is probably going to get in F because her dog ripped up her project. Both conflicts were solved the same way. I do not want to give it away so all I will say is Angelina helped. If you are in 6th of 7th grade this is a good book for you. I liked this because it was a funny book and relates to my grade. This book is about Jamie Kelly and her dairy. Jamie was telling us in her diary that her mom is not a very good cook and if she doesn't eat. Her mom gives her a big speech on the hungry kids would love to have this food. Jamie said that she always eats it so she doesn't get that speech that much. When she was walking into class she knew she was going to be first. At the end, it got a lot better and now Jamie and Angelina are good because Jamie did not have a project. When she got called up Angelina knew that she did not have a project . Angelina said they worked on the project together and Angelina wanted to help Jamie because Jamie took the blame when Angelina throw the meat loaf. I would recommend this book to a 6th or 7th grader because this could really happen in middle school.
                    • linakapeteni
                      linakapeteniWednesday, September 14, 2016 at 2:31 pm
                      This book is cool. I can really tell that she really hates angeline