Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10n/a6.922207
Hilarious childhood biographies and full-color illustrations reveal how Leonardo da Vinci, Beatrix Potter, Keith Haring, and other great artists in history coped with regular-kid problems.

Every great artist started out as a kid. Forget the awards, the sold-out museum exhibitions, and the timeless masterpieces. When the world’s most celebrated artists were growing up, they had regular-kid problems just like you. Jackson Pollock’s family moved constantly—he lived in eight different cities before he was sixteen years old. Georgia O’Keeffe lived in the shadow of her “perfect” older brother Francis. And Jean-Michel Basquiat triumphed over poverty to become one of the world’s most influential artists. Kid Artists tells their stories and more with full-color cartoon illustrations on nearly every page. Other subjects include Claude Monet, Jacob Lawrence, Leonardo da Vinci, Vincent van Gogh, Pablo Picasso, Frida Kahlo, Beatrix Potter, Yoko Ono, Dr. Seuss, Emily Carr, Keith Haring, Charles Schulz, and Louise Nevelson.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on August 9, 2016 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594748969
ISBN-13: 9781594748967
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • grapefruit
    grapefruitFriday, December 15, 2017 at 8:20 pm55 starsFeatured
    Artists of all styles populate our world. Their stunning drawings, paintings, and collages make us amazed and awed. But did you know that Georgia O,Keefe's drawings were once so terrible that a school teacher yelled at her? And that Jackson Pollock is missing a finger (and why)? And what is Da Vinci's most famous missing painting? Find out the secrets of all our beloved artists in this exciting book!
    • tori3ghoul
      tori3ghoulSunday, November 26, 2017 at 7:06 pm44 stars
      Kid Artists tells the stories of artists as kids. From the wonders of childhood of Louise Nevelson to the nature adventures of Beatrix Potter, this book holds stories of what life was like for our favorite classic artists. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to be like them.
      • kittyunicorn
        kittyunicornFriday, September 30, 2016 at 8:07 pm
        I agree with karateka04 it does helps you understand about the secret lives of these artists.
        • karateka04
          karateka04Wednesday, August 17, 2016 at 1:16 am55 stars
          This is such a help. It helps you understand about the secret lives of these artists. Who would have thought that Schulz was teased and bellied? It's a great book. I recommend it to anyone reading this
          • sophiart
            sophiartMonday, August 15, 2016 at 5:41 am55 stars
            I really liked Kid Artists because I want to grow up to be an artist. I learned about hard things that happened to them--like Jackson Pollack was chased by a bull and had nightmares about it. Dr. Seuss was teased and scared of being on stage. Louise Nevelen moved from her country. All of the kids became great artists later. Charlz Shultz was shy. I liked in the intro where it says: "They made art, they made a difference and they made history." Read this book if you want to be an artist!
            • estellar
              estellarSaturday, August 13, 2016 at 2:58 pm55 stars
              It looks interesting... Hope I had it.
              • awesomeperson5
                awesomeperson5Thursday, August 11, 2016 at 9:06 pm55 stars
                I think it's actually really interesting
                • ocelot
                  ocelotSunday, July 10, 2016 at 1:57 pm55 stars
                  First off, I'd like to say that I recommend this book to everybody, even adults. The stories of these artists in this book are quite interesting, especially facts about their childhood. This book is one of the books that you can just pick up and open to any of the chapters and just start reading, and it actually makes sense, because you don't need any of the details from before that chapter. This book is good for younger kids as well, because there are many hand-drawn pictures (some of which I found to be very funny! :). I would definitely recommend this book to anybody that like biographies, history, and anybody interested in art. Definitely 5/5 stars.
                  • maddyp18
                    maddyp18Friday, June 17, 2016 at 9:27 pm55 stars
                    This is a great book for all kids. You don't have to love historical artists, you just have to enjoy learning about kids not unlike you. This book tells about the childhood of many famous artists. It tells you stuff that you would'nt think famous artists would have experienced, stuff that you experience every day. For example, Georgia O'Keefe lived in the shadow of her older brother, who did everything perfect. Also, did you know that Andy Warhol was one of the most celebrated pop artists of the 1960s? But, Andy Warhol had a very difficult childhood. His mother struggled to put food on the table. I love how this author made this book memorable in so many ways. It has lots of fun mixed in with true facts. The artists in this book range from quiet, nature loving Beatrix Potter, to loud, creative Dr. Seuss. I hope you enjoy this amazing book!!!
                    • llpanda
                      llpandaThursday, June 16, 2016 at 8:17 am55 stars
                      This is an awesome book! I totally loved it! If you want to know how Charles Schulz got his start as a kid then you should definitely read this book. And that is not all,you can read about Frida Kahlo , Leonardo Da Vinci , Jean Michel Basquiat, and Andy Warhol to name a few. This book makes it really interesting to learn how it was as a kid for these artists.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      jaden44
                      jaden44 wrote:

                      I really liked this book
                      Sisters

                      jaden44
                      jaden44 wrote:

                      This book sounds sooooo good!!!
                      Pax

                      Sid wrote:

                      Dak, Sera, and Riq go to Baghdad...
                      Infinity Ring Book 5: Cave of Wo...

                      arrow84
                      arrow84 wrote:

                      this book was awesome will and b...
                      The Mirror's Tale (Further Tales...