Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8T5.220165
Whatever you do, don’t ask Greg Heffley how he spent his summer vacation, because he definitely doesn’t want to talk about it.

As Greg enters the new school year, he’s eager to put the past three months behind him . . . and one event in particular. Unfortunately for Greg, his older brother, Rodrick, knows all about the incident Greg wants to keep under wraps. But secrets have a way of getting out . . . especially when a diary is involved.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Rodrick Rules chronicles Greg’s attempts to navigate the hazards of middle school, impress the girls, steer clear of the school talent show, and most important, keep his secret safe.
The highly anticipated sequel to the #1 New York Times bestselling book!
Paperback, 228 pages
Published on August 20, 2009 by Seuil
ISBN-10: 2020988186
ISBN-13: 9782020988186
333 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • tweety_cardinal
    tweety_cardinalWednesday, September 30, 2020 at 6:45 am44 stars
    Really loved this book! It was a fun book to read.
    • blossomreader
      blossomreaderSunday, August 16, 2020 at 12:42 pm55 stars
      This is the second book in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and It's my favorite book in the whole series. Rodrick is Greg's older brother, and he is a bad influence, but it's like Greg knows that. Rodrick ends up locking his brothwer in his basement, and more. I loved this book, and I think you would too.
      • warriorsgirl11
        warriorsgirl11Tuesday, August 4, 2020 at 4:49 pm55 stars
        Rodrick rules / by Jeff Kinney. Greg Heffley tells about his summer vacation and his attempts to steer clear of trouble when he returns to middle school and tries to keep his older brother Rodrick from telling everyone about Greg's most humiliating experience of the summer. Brothers can be annoying!
        • E loves slimeMonday, July 20, 2020 at 1:46 am
          I am going to read this book and l have a feeling it is going to be a good book
          • swirlycool
            swirlycoolFriday, June 5, 2020 at 1:17 pm55 stars
            Rodrick Rules is about Gregory (Greg) Heffley's troubles with his brother, Rodrick. Rodrick throws a party when Greg's parents go away for a little bit, and he locks Greg in the basement. Greg knows they are going to get in trouble. Not only that, but Rodrick knows about the secret Greg is trying to hide. Overall, I think that this book was really funny, and it showed the troubles Greg has with his brother, Rodrick. I recommend this book to people who enjoy other Diary of a Wimpy Kid books. I rate this book 5/5.
            • cherry-blossom
              cherry-blossomTuesday, May 19, 2020 at 8:53 pm44 stars
              A slightly sad and awkward book in some and many parts of itself, Rodrick is portrayed as rude and pesky and very very annoying until the end of this book...
              • toodorky
                toodorkySunday, May 17, 2020 at 2:31 pm44 stars
                Yikes! Greg has one awful brother! This book was so funny, but I think it could have used a bit more detail. Greg is always bullied and bossed around by his brother, and when his parents leave for a while, Rodrick is in charge, and he wants to party. Greg knows they will get in trouble, but he plays along. However, his brother locks him up in the basement. How will he get out? Will Rodrick learn his lesson? What will happen? This book was awesome, but like I said, a little more detail couldn't hurt.
                • jillu Saturday, January 25, 2020 at 3:44 pm
                  its so good and amazing !
                  • Charlie Sunday, December 8, 2019 at 7:47 am
                    Awesome book
                    • Jaaziel Wednesday, October 30, 2019 at 9:07 am
                      Cool,funny book of my life