Ivy and Bean: Take Care of the Babysitter - Book 4 (Ivy & Bean)

Book 4 of 10 in the Ivy + Bean Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 1 - 4M3.18203
The adventures of Ivy and Bean continue in the latest installment from series creators Annie Barrows and Sophie Blackall. In Ivy and Bean Take Care of the Babysitter, the two girls hatch a plan to prove that Bean's big sister is the world's worst babysitter. Of course plans go awry, but fun ensues!
Hardcover, 128 pages
Published on April 17, 2008 by Chronicle Books
ISBN-10: 0811856852
ISBN-13: 9780811856850
8 Book Reviews
  • therealsnakes
    therealsnakesThursday, December 24, 2020 at 4:30 pm55 stars
    wow i want to read this book
    • cezisiwu-158048913808
      cezisiwu-158048913808Friday, February 7, 2020 at 8:57 am33 stars
      This book's genre is mischievous behavior and it was written by Annie Barrows,and Sophie Blackall. Once upon a time Bean was at her friend's house. Then her mom tells her that her older sister, Nancy will be babysitting her for the afternoon. Bean sneaks her best friend Ivy into her house and they both get stuck in the attic,while Nancy puts on makeup that her mom strictly told her she could not wear until she was older. The main characters are Ivy and Bean. Ivy is kind,an animal lover, and she is smart. I can infer this because on page 16 the illustration shows Ivy reading a big “`grown up book”. Bean loves adventures, getting dirty, she also doesn’t brush her hair, and Bean always does something weird. This is a fact because on page 1 the illustration shows Bean grinding corn on the sidewalk. Bean and Ivy change at the end of the book to become more sneaky, because they don’t get caught in the attic and makes Nancy give them both a little bit of money. Bean and Ivy can specifically make Nancy give them each $2 because while they both were trapped in the attic, Nancy was putting on makeup her mom told her she couldn’t wear. One unanswered question I'd like to ask the author is why are Bean and Ivy best friends they’re total opposites? What I enjoyed most about this book were the illustrations because they’re simple and detailed. The illustration I liked best was the cover because Bean and Ivy are tiptoeing somewhere looking sneaky. I would recommend this book because it’s a very unique book with compromises, dirt, and getting your older sister in trouble.
      • unicornbrain
        unicornbrainWednesday, June 12, 2019 at 8:52 am44 stars
        Quick and fun read! Having a baby sitter can be fun...if it's your sister, I don't think so! I enjoyed reading how Bean tries to out smart her 11 year old sister that is babysitting her. I have enjoyed reading all 4 books in this series.
        • spacepenguin
          spacepenguinMonday, June 10, 2019 at 12:28 pm55 stars
          This is Book 4 of the Ivy and Bean series (and my fifth Ivy and Bean book I've read). I really like this book. When Bean's parents go to a play for two hours, Nancy is the babysitter. She is eleven. She is Bean's big sister. Bean doesn't like that her sister is the babysitter. But Ivy comes to her house and they try to escape from the house. They both go up into the attic. It was like a secret clubhouse. But they got stuck up in the attic. The door wouldn't open. So they called Nancy to help.
          • lilbug747
            lilbug747Sunday, May 26, 2019 at 11:42 am55 stars
            I am a middle schooler and these books have made me love them since first grade, this one in particular. Bean is left alone with her big sister, and she needs to put and end to it! Bean, and Ivy are determined to take care of the baby sitter. This book and the whole series deserve a definite 5 star review!
            • tashadtasha
              tashadtashaWednesday, February 12, 2014 at 10:12 am55 stars
              A great book about two girls.
              • awesome3000
                awesome3000Tuesday, December 17, 2013 at 12:52 pm44 stars
                awesomest book ever
                • jvela
                  jvelaFriday, June 7, 2013 at 4:47 pm55 stars
                  it is about, that there parents left bean with her sister and bean's sister is very mean