Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8X4.467553
The second in a series from bestselling author Chris d'Lacey. Full of adventure and suspense, this novel about dragons reveals the truth of the fire within.

When David is assigned an essay on the history of dragons, there is only one thing he knows for sure---he wants to win the prize of a research trip to the Arctic.

As David begins to dig deeper into the past, he finds himself drawn down a path from which there is no going back . . . to the very heart of the legend of dragons, and the mysterious, ancient secret of the icefire. . . .
Paperback, 432 pages
Published on October 3, 2006 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0439672465
ISBN-13: 9780439672467
14 Book Reviews
  • WhitneyThursday, February 11, 2021 at 10:19 am
    Its such a good book and its a great fantasy book to read for a fantasy unit in school
    • thistle912
      thistle912Friday, June 19, 2020 at 8:35 pm44 stars
      Another awesomely written story...compelling and heartwarming. Great read, packed with thrill, adventure, and what it takes to make a truly good book. I liked this a lot, and recommend it for animal and dragon lovers.
      • drac
        dracTuesday, January 15, 2019 at 4:59 pm55 stars
        This book is amazing! David, Lucy, Liz, Zanna, Gadzooks{and the rest of the dragons}, I can't even list them all! My goal in reading is to read all the books about mythical creatures and keep reading once I'm done! All the books I've read so far that are by Chris D'lacey have been up to the 4th book in The Last Dragon Choranicles. OH YEAH!!
        • 4ever9904
          4ever9904Monday, December 7, 2015 at 12:02 pm55 stars
          This book is like awesome!!! I like the adventure in this book! I finished it like about a month ago.
          • jigglypuff
            jigglypuffFriday, November 6, 2015 at 7:35 am
            I want to read this sooooo bad but my library does not have it I love Dragons so much and I have a awesome dragon book and this will just be fun to read!
            • angelina2
              angelina2Thursday, November 5, 2015 at 12:24 pm
              It is a really great book!
              • nannerb
                nannerbTuesday, September 22, 2015 at 8:16 am55 stars
                This book was amazing. It had a wonderful mix of mystery and adventure. I recommend this book but you must read the WHOLE set of books.
                • shiftkitty
                  shiftkittyThursday, February 12, 2015 at 12:50 pm
                  on the first one I hope I can start it next week!
                  • kalebWednesday, November 12, 2014 at 11:47 am
                    I love this book
                    • edmodo-7wnk5qstmr
                      edmodo-7wnk5qstmrWednesday, September 18, 2013 at 4:07 pm44 stars
                      I remember going to the library to read this book, I read 2 books from the series from Chris D'Lacey. But I am not able to catch the name of the book. Well this book was about David who is frustrated that no one will publish his book. Liz is making a dragon that she wants David to name. Then, Lucy asks her mother if she can wish for something and saying that it is Davids dragon since he named it. He tells them the name Gadzooks wrote, G'reth and according to Liz it is a wishing dragon. If you want to know more about the book you can just read it! Overall I enjoyed reading this book and maybe if I have time i will read more series!