Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.682879
The true story of an all-American girl and a boy from Zimbabwe and the letter that changed both of their lives forever.

It started as an assignment. Everyone in Caitlin's class wrote to an unknown student somewhere in a distant place.

Martin was lucky to even receive a pen-pal letter. There were only ten letters, and fifty kids in his class. But he was the top student, so he got the first one.

That letter was the beginning of a correspondence that spanned six years and changed two lives.

In this compelling dual memoir, Caitlin and Martin recount how they became best friends --and better people--through their long-distance exchange. Their story will inspire you to look beyond your own life and wonder about the world at large and your place in it.
Paperback, 416 pages
Published on May 3, 2016 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316241334
ISBN-13: 9780316241335
34 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bookwormilg
    bookwormilgMonday, July 9, 2018 at 7:40 am55 stars
    You can read this book over and over and never get bored!!
    • bookwormilg
      bookwormilgMonday, July 9, 2018 at 7:31 am55 stars
      AMAZING!!!!! This book changed my life! I cried and laughed at the same time! Truly incredible, inspiring, and a must-read for children of all ages!
      • bookworm 15Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 9:55 am
        this book changed my world. It taught me to look at the world a different way.
        • vavazaza
          vavazazaSaturday, December 30, 2017 at 8:01 am55 stars
          My friend told me about it and now I want to get the book
          • hummingbird1
            hummingbird1Tuesday, November 14, 2017 at 2:33 pm55 stars
            For a class project, Caitlin has to choose a country to have a pen pal in. There are a lot of choices, but Caitlin decides to pick Zimbabwe, a country in Africa, to send her letter to. She has no idea that by picking Zimbabwe, her life is changed forever. Martin is living in Zimbabwe when he gets a letter all the way from America. He decides as soon as he reads that letter that he will respond no matter what. He doesn't know by that writing back to Caitlin, his life is also changed. Martin and Caitlin keep sending letters to each other, and those letters turn into much more than a class project - it turns into a huge friendship. This incredible true story is one of my favorite books. I could read it again and again. I highly recommend this book to boys and girls ages 11+.
            • strawberry1234
              strawberry1234Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 2:46 pm55 stars
              I have finished this book 10 times and i find so intresting that i don't think i will ever get bored with this book i recommend this book to anyone its my favorite book
              • mayu0327
                mayu0327Monday, October 10, 2016 at 1:23 pm
                This story is about how 2 pen pals all the way across thw world and help each other out and go through hard times together. This book is heart touching and the sacrifices Caitlin makes are unimaginable.
                • rrwwnn
                  rrwwnnSunday, September 25, 2016 at 5:22 pm
                  Caitlin and Martin's story is very touching, and to think that others have to deal with this makes my heart hurt. It is one of my favorite books and I give it 5 stars! 0 Reply
                  • 400bella
                    400bellaFriday, September 16, 2016 at 1:50 pm55 stars
                    I will always write back is a book about a american girl and a indian boy who write letters to each other this book is soo good
                    • peppershaker
                      peppershakerWednesday, August 31, 2016 at 4:24 pm55 stars
                      Overall, I loved this book. It would be amazing to have a friend all the way across the ocean, but still be able to communicate. I thought it was amazing that she kept his family alive and fed, just by sending him her baby-sitting money. I would definitely recommend this book for ages 11-16.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      rainawave
                      rainawave wrote:

                      This is such a good book!
                      Harry Potter and the Prisoner of...

                      Grade6 wrote:

                      Awesome book, I gave 4 stars. I ...
                      National Geographic Kids Why Not...

                      DJ CJ Books wrote:

                      This is my favourite Harry Potte...
                      Harry Potter and the Prisoner of...

                      Our Apps and Plugins