Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.949208
This harrowing tale of supernatural suspense kicks off a new series from the visionary mind of #1 New York Times bestselling author Scott Westerfeld.

When a plane crash-lands in the arctic, eight young survivors step from the wreckage expecting to see nothing but ice and snow. Instead they find themselves lost in a strange jungle with no way to get home and little hope of rescue.

Food is running out. Water is scarce. And the jungle is full of threats unlike anything the survivors have ever seen before--from razor-beaked shredder birds to carnivorous vines and much, much worse.

With danger at every turn, these eight kids must learn to work together to survive. But cliques and rivalries threaten to tear them apart. And not everyone will make it out of the jungle alive.

BONUS! In the Horizon multiplatform experience, you're not just reading about the castaways, you're one of them. Join the race for survival in the FREE game, available on your browser and as an app.

 

 

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on March 28, 2017 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545916771
ISBN-13: 9780545916776
28 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • hiTuesday, June 12, 2018 at 2:23 pm
    it is slow but interesting I do not recommend 5 grade
    • GOI BYETuesday, June 5, 2018 at 7:49 am
      omg same
      • CHEESE4LIFEThursday, May 24, 2018 at 12:05 pm
        Its really good and I love it!
        • hawiian_girl
          hawiian_girlThursday, May 3, 2018 at 4:29 pm55 stars
          Even though I just started to read this book yesterday, It's already really good..;)
          • GogatorsThursday, March 29, 2018 at 11:27 am
            I loved it
            • koreanbacongirl
              koreanbacongirlThursday, February 1, 2018 at 1:29 pm55 stars
              I LOVE this book, it was so adventurous and exciting. I know there was a second book but I never got to see it, or read. I wish I could..... Anyway this is SUCH a good book, I would recommend it to people who are in the 4th to 6th grade.
              • unikai the dudeThursday, February 1, 2018 at 1:06 pm
                I really enjoyed reading this book and when hearing its gonna be a seven book series, I had a lot of collecting to do!
                • swirlycool
                  swirlycoolSunday, November 5, 2017 at 8:17 am55 stars
                  Horizon is a story where eight young survivors are the only people to have survived in a plane crash. When crossing the North Pole during the flight, they suddenly crash. But not in the North Pole, in an odd jungle with the most unusual creatures that none of the survivors know. Not only that, but they discover 2 moons in the sky, one green and one red. While discussing where they could have landed, they also suggest that they could be on another planet. If they were crossing the North Pole and there was no jungle between their destinations, they start to wonder if the plane even went the right way. Another one of their questions- where did the people go? I loved this book, and I want to read the next book because it left me on a cliffhanger! I recommend this book to action readers and survival readers. I rate this book 5/5.
                  • georgiasilver
                    georgiasilverSaturday, November 4, 2017 at 9:36 am
                    I am really grateful for getting this book; I definitely recommend Horizon. Starting with an interesting beginning, racing through a thrilling adventure and discovery, and ending with, unfortunately, a cliffhanger, this book illustrated the survival of a group of survivors from a plane crash. As they delve deeper into the jungle and make more dares, surprising discoveries are made. I really enjoyed the scenes and realizations between all the different characters: Yoshi, Molly, Akiko, Kira, Javi, Oliver, Anna, and Caleb. They all contributed to the story and had very unique personalities and decisions throughout the book. Although, I did wish for the plot to go to the realizations of where they are at more quickly, and end with the knowledge of who the was behind it all.
                    • mybooksandi
                      mybooksandiMonday, September 18, 2017 at 3:55 pm44 stars
                      Woop-ti-do, let's do this. Horizon was a novel that I enjoyed reading. Scott Westerfield's writing draws you in and never lets go. I really liked the the POV and the character development. ( But I must say my favorite character was Yoshi, no hard feelings). I enjoyed reading in a different setting. I loved the description and how it was built. But... I kinda, maybe, sorta, thought the plot was going a bit slow. BUT, BUT, BUT, it was so inty- binty that only a close- looking reader ( like myself) noticed that, you might've not. Other than that... YEEESSS! Do I recommend it? Yes, big time. I received a free copy from Scholastic/DogoBooks, this has not influenced my opinion.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      extrememsb
                      extrememsb wrote:

                      This story is about a fifth grad...
                      Gertie's Leap to Greatness

                      extrememsb
                      extrememsb wrote:

                      Ever think if trees can talk? Me...
                      Wishtree

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      I really enjoyed reading this bo...
                      Untamed: The Wild Life of Jane G...

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      I always enjoy reading these boo...
                      Bad Kitty