This harrowing tale of supernatural suspense kicks off a new series from the visionary mind of #1 New York Times bestselling author Scott Westerfeld.

When a plane crash-lands in the arctic, eight young survivors step from the wreckage expecting to see nothing but ice and snow. Instead they find themselves lost in a strange jungle with no way to get home and little hope of rescue.

Food is running out. Water is scarce. And the jungle is full of threats unlike anything the survivors have ever seen before--from razor-beaked shredder birds to carnivorous vines and much, much worse.

With danger at every turn, these eight kids must learn to work together to survive. But cliques and rivalries threaten to tear them apart. And not everyone will make it out of the jungle alive.

BONUS! In the Horizon multiplatform experience, you're not just reading about the castaways, you're one of them. Join the race for survival in the FREE game, available on your browser and as an app.

 

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on March 28, 2017 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545916771
ISBN-13: 9780545916776
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • dictionary
    dictionarySunday, November 5, 2017 at 8:17 am55 stars
    Horizon is a story where eight young survivors are the only people to have survived in a plane crash. When crossing the North Pole during the flight, they suddenly crash. But not in the North Pole, in an odd jungle with the most unusual creatures that none of the survivors know. Not only that, but they discover 2 moons in the sky, one green and one red. While discussing where they could have landed, they also suggest that they could be on another planet. If they were crossing the North Pole and there was no jungle between their destinations, they start to wonder if the plane even went the right way. Another one of their questions- where did the people go? I loved this book, and I want to read the next book because it left me on a cliffhanger! I recommend this book to action readers and survival readers. I rate this book 5/5.
    • georgiasilver
      georgiasilverSaturday, November 4, 2017 at 9:36 am
      I am really grateful for getting this book; I definitely recommend Horizon. Starting with an interesting beginning, racing through a thrilling adventure and discovery, and ending with, unfortunately, a cliffhanger, this book illustrated the survival of a group of survivors from a plane crash. As they delve deeper into the jungle and make more dares, surprising discoveries are made. I really enjoyed the scenes and realizations between all the different characters: Yoshi, Molly, Akiko, Kira, Javi, Oliver, Anna, and Caleb. They all contributed to the story and had very unique personalities and decisions throughout the book. Although, I did wish for the plot to go to the realizations of where they are at more quickly, and end with the knowledge of who the was behind it all.
      • mybooksandi
        mybooksandiMonday, September 18, 2017 at 3:55 pm44 stars
        Woop-ti-do, let's do this. Horizon was a novel that I enjoyed reading. Scott Westerfield's writing draws you in and never lets go. I really liked the the POV and the character development. ( But I must say my favorite character was Yoshi, no hard feelings). I enjoyed reading in a different setting. I loved the description and how it was built. But... I kinda, maybe, sorta, thought the plot was going a bit slow. BUT, BUT, BUT, it was so inty- binty that only a close- looking reader ( like myself) noticed that, you might've not. Other than that... YEEESSS! Do I recommend it? Yes, big time. I received a free copy from Scholastic/DogoBooks, this has not influenced my opinion.
        • cblocksurprise
          cblocksurpriseThursday, July 6, 2017 at 7:10 pm55 stars
          I liked the book, but I'm annoyed that it ends on a cliffhanger. I like the theme of the plot (the future, in a 'Jungle' with deadly creatures, well all of the usual plane-crash-with-robot-enginers-and-some-other-kids-including-a-kid-with-a-old-katana-and-they-end-up-in-a-jungle-with-crazy-creatures) I would rate it 5 stars.
          • Cool Hanna!!!Monday, May 22, 2017 at 7:30 am
            I LOVE IT!!!!!!!
            • magnacharge1600
              magnacharge1600Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 4:48 pm
              I won this from the giveaway and I think that it is awesome. I love the characters and I also love the plot. I really want the next book soon. (It comes out at the end of the year) I loved this book because it is full of tech and creepiness. I hope everyone else enjoyed this as much as I did!!
              • jeffdaboss
                jeffdabossThursday, May 11, 2017 at 8:34 am44 stars
                Horizon is a pretty good book. A plane filled with 500 people crashes during a 14 hour trip from America to Japan. 8 kids (7 teens and a tween) are the only ones to survive. They establish leadership and alliances are formed. They salvage anything left of the plane and find a mysterious device that changes gravity. Molly is the scientist who has Javier, Anna, and Oliver on her side. Yoshi is the Japanese-American who has Kira, Akiko, and an antique sword on his side. Caleb is the oldest teen who is the lone wolf. No one knows why there are two moons and how they got to some alien planet when 500 people noticed nothing. Theories are formed and plans are made. While they prove to be successful in finding out things, they can't save one's life. This book is a mix of Survivor with teens and the TV show Total Drama. I felt like this book was slow in its pace, but I feel you will expect more action in the next book, which is already out. Jennifer Nielson is a good author, so the next book should be a really good one.
                • alyana
                  alyanaMonday, May 8, 2017 at 8:16 pm
                  I'm also Japanese
                  • alyana
                    alyanaMonday, May 8, 2017 at 8:15 pm
                    the book was great. I got it from the scholastic book fair. by the way I'm a multi-millionare
                    • snicker9
                      snicker9Monday, May 8, 2017 at 7:24 pmFeatured
                      Horizon is an adventure tale about 8 rag-tag kids who have little in common-except for the fact that they are all passengers on a plane headed for Japan. A plane, which half-way through the flight breaks down(literally) and crashes. The kids wake up to find themselves in a tropical jungle. Which shouldn't be possible, since they should have landed in the Artic. The kids have no idea where they are and no way to get home and things are getting worse by the hour. Of course there's the problem of limited food and water. But it doesn't stop there. In the jungle are shredder birds, poisonous berries, carnivorous vines and a very large mysterious creature heard groaning at night. Not to mention the fact that the kids found an amazing machine among the plane wreckage-a machine that can lesson or increase gravity and who knows what else. This machine could be key to their survival-or it could destroy them all. With their lives on the line, these kids have to learn to trust each and work together. One thing I liked about this book is that each chapter is told my a different viewpoint. Although some viewpoints are used more than others, and some not at all. From what I can tell, Molly and Yoshi are the two main characters. Besides that are Molly's science nerd teammates: Javi, Oliver, and Anna; the *slightly* older and temperamental Caleb; the rich young man with a sword-Yoshi, along with the twins Kira and Akiko(who don't speak English). I think that adventure and mystery fans will enjoy this book. I rate it 5 out of 5. ***Warning: It ends on a cliffhanger. This is the first book in a planned series of 7. Similar to the series "The 39 Clues" and "Spirit Animals" each book will be penned by a different author. The stakes are high!***

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      mar char wrote:

                      I AM almost done with the book o...
                      Wonder

                      mar char wrote:

                      I LOVE MAGIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                      The Magic Thief

                      yebuku57
                      yebuku57 wrote:

                      I read the whole series and its ...
                      Dork Diaries 12: Tales from a No...

                      misstan2003

                      im reading this book in class it...
                      Black and White