Horizon (Horizon, Book 1)

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7n/an/an/an/a
This harrowing tale of supernatural suspense kicks off a new series from the visionary mind of #1 New York Times bestselling author Scott Westerfeld.

When a plane crash-lands in the arctic, eight young survivors step from the wreckage expecting to see nothing but ice and snow. Instead they find themselves lost in a strange jungle with no way to get home and little hope of rescue.

Food is running out. Water is scarce. And the jungle is full of threats unlike anything the survivors have ever seen before -- from razor-beaked shredder birds to carnivorous vines and much, much worse.

With danger at every turn, these eight kids must learn to work together to survive. But cliques and rivalries threaten to tear them apart. And not everyone will make it out of the jungle alive.

BONUS! In the Horizon multiplatform experience, you're not just reading about the castaways, you're one of them. Join the race for survival in the FREE game, available on your browser and as an app.

 

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on January 17, 2017 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545916771
ISBN-13: 9780545916776
11 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • happypug12
    happypug12Saturday, April 22, 2017 at 5:10 am33 stars
    Horizon was...omoshiroi. That means "interesting" in Japanese. The word "omoshiroi" is used a lot in Horizon, because of the two Japanese sisters, Kira and Akiko, who are two of the eight survivors of the mysterious plane crash. The other six passengers are Molly, an optimistic engineer, Javi, a member of Team Killbot, Anna, a twelve year old who sometimes doesn't know when to keep her mouth shut, Yoshi, a thief, Oliver, a guy whose mother had to be persuaded to let him come, and Caleb, a headstrong teen. After anticipating reading Horizon for WEEKS, I was really disappointed. The writing feels bland in most chapters, and the characters feel more like empty, soulless robots. There isn't any raw emotion expressed in the writing; it feels like I just opened a flat soda. There are a few rare chapters spread out in the book that genuinely caught my interest, but most were just "meh". The concept itself is pretty omoshiroi, but the execution really fell short in character development. I'll check out the second book, Deadzone, when it's published, but for now, 3 stars.
    • readwriter
      readwriterWednesday, April 19, 2017 at 8:02 pm55 starsFeatured
      A random and 1-in-a-million chance plane crash finds itself leaving 8 kids stranded in the middle of a jungle. But the jungle shouldn't even be there. And, aside from its strange location, the jungle is full of strange animals, plants, and noises. With several predators, little food, and almost no resources, can the kids find out why the plane crashed, where the other 492 passengers went, and figure out how to get home? But, the biggest question of all is: Will they be able to survive? This captivating book will have you under its spell with the first sentence and keep you reading until the last page is turned and the cover is shut!
      • sydstar
        sydstarMonday, April 17, 2017 at 2:11 pm
        This is a 4 star book. It's about 8 kids who survive a plane crash and have no idea where they are. My favorite character was Anna because she says the truth and doesn't try to make things seem less dangerous than they really are. She controls the gravity machine and protects it. The story was interesting and the characters were engaging and relatable...except for Caleb. He was not likable. Overall, I highly recommend this book!
        • kltoad
          kltoadTuesday, March 28, 2017 at 7:39 pm
          I heard it is about eight kids who survived a plane crash. It might be a suspense book. I don't know. All I do know is that I want to read this book.
          • beast2323
            beast2323Tuesday, March 28, 2017 at 5:33 pm
            I love adventure books!! They are awesome. This seems like a perfect book.
            • danTuesday, March 28, 2017 at 4:10 pm
              This book is about when a group of kids crash into the arctic expecting to see nothing but snow they find themselves in a strange jungle, they must work together to make it out of the jungle alive, or possibly dead? this book has a lot of twists in it that are sometimes happy or sad. I give this book a 10/10 I loved it.
              • Swag_AlienTuesday, March 28, 2017 at 4:04 pm
                I give the book a 10/10, this book is about how this team named "killbot" is going to a tournament and then they crash in the artic they jump out of the plane to see nothing but snow but instead they're found in a forest. They have to work together to get out of the forest alive using teamwork! Great book loved it! 10/10!!!!
                • Swag_AlienTuesday, March 28, 2017 at 4:02 pm
                  also the guy with the karate sword is awesome!
                  • Swag_AlienTuesday, March 28, 2017 at 4:02 pm
                    I love it they crash and at the end no one dies except for Caleb and they find a way out at the end and a sequel to this is going to happen (book 2) and they'll also escape in that one!!!
                    • loganTuesday, March 28, 2017 at 10:22 am
                      socool

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      olopolobear125

                      Despite how many pages it has De...
                      Zac Power #2: Deep Waters

                      jeffdaboss
                      jeffdaboss wrote:

                      For those who have read the enti...
                      Middle School: Escape to Australia

                      jeffdaboss
                      jeffdaboss wrote:

                      This comic book is pretty medioc...
                      5 Worlds Book 1: The Sand Warrior

                      olopolobear125

                      I think shouldn't you be in sch...
                      "Shouldn't You Be in School?" (A...