Horizon (Horizon, Book 1)

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7n/an/an/an/a
This harrowing tale of supernatural suspense kicks off a new series from the visionary mind of #1 New York Times bestselling author Scott Westerfeld.

When a plane crash-lands in the arctic, eight young survivors step from the wreckage expecting to see nothing but ice and snow. Instead they find themselves lost in a strange jungle with no way to get home and little hope of rescue.

Food is running out. Water is scarce. And the jungle is full of threats unlike anything the survivors have ever seen before -- from razor-beaked shredder birds to carnivorous vines and much, much worse.

With danger at every turn, these eight kids must learn to work together to survive. But cliques and rivalries threaten to tear them apart. And not everyone will make it out of the jungle alive.

BONUS! In the Horizon multiplatform experience, you're not just reading about the castaways, you're one of them. Join the race for survival in the FREE game, available on your browser and as an app.

 

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on January 17, 2017 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545916771
ISBN-13: 9780545916776
17 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • Cool Hanna!!!Monday, May 22, 2017 at 7:30 am
    I LOVE IT!!!!!!!
    • magnacharge1600
      magnacharge1600Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 4:48 pm
      I won this from the giveaway and I think that it is awesome. I love the characters and I also love the plot. I really want the next book soon. (It comes out at the end of the year) I loved this book because it is full of tech and creepiness. I hope everyone else enjoyed this as much as I did!!
      • jeffdaboss
        jeffdabossThursday, May 11, 2017 at 8:34 am44 stars
        Horizon is a pretty good book. A plane filled with 500 people crashes during a 14 hour trip from America to Japan. 8 kids (7 teens and a tween) are the only ones to survive. They establish leadership and alliances are formed. They salvage anything left of the plane and find a mysterious device that changes gravity. Molly is the scientist who has Javier, Anna, and Oliver on her side. Yoshi is the Japanese-American who has Kira, Akiko, and an antique sword on his side. Caleb is the oldest teen who is the lone wolf. No one knows why there are two moons and how they got to some alien planet when 500 people noticed nothing. Theories are formed and plans are made. While they prove to be successful in finding out things, they can't save one's life. This book is a mix of Survivor with teens and the TV show Total Drama. I felt like this book was slow in its pace, but I feel you will expect more action in the next book, which is already out. Jennifer Nielson is a good author, so the next book should be a really good one.
        • alyana
          alyanaMonday, May 8, 2017 at 8:16 pm
          I'm also Japanese
          • alyana
            alyanaMonday, May 8, 2017 at 8:15 pm
            the book was great. I got it from the scholastic book fair. by the way I'm a multi-millionare
            • snicker9
              snicker9Monday, May 8, 2017 at 7:24 pmFeatured
              Horizon is an adventure tale about 8 rag-tag kids who have little in common-except for the fact that they are all passengers on a plane headed for Japan. A plane, which half-way through the flight breaks down(literally) and crashes. The kids wake up to find themselves in a tropical jungle. Which shouldn't be possible, since they should have landed in the Artic. The kids have no idea where they are and no way to get home and things are getting worse by the hour. Of course there's the problem of limited food and water. But it doesn't stop there. In the jungle are shredder birds, poisonous berries, carnivorous vines and a very large mysterious creature heard groaning at night. Not to mention the fact that the kids found an amazing machine among the plane wreckage-a machine that can lesson or increase gravity and who knows what else. This machine could be key to their survival-or it could destroy them all. With their lives on the line, these kids have to learn to trust each and work together. One thing I liked about this book is that each chapter is told my a different viewpoint. Although some viewpoints are used more than others, and some not at all. From what I can tell, Molly and Yoshi are the two main characters. Besides that are Molly's science nerd teammates: Javi, Oliver, and Anna; the *slightly* older and temperamental Caleb; the rich young man with a sword-Yoshi, along with the twins Kira and Akiko(who don't speak English). I think that adventure and mystery fans will enjoy this book. I rate it 5 out of 5. ***Warning: It ends on a cliffhanger. This is the first book in a planned series of 7. Similar to the series "The 39 Clues" and "Spirit Animals" each book will be penned by a different author. The stakes are high!***
              • happypug12
                happypug12Saturday, April 22, 2017 at 5:10 am33 stars
                Horizon was...omoshiroi. That means "interesting" in Japanese. The word "omoshiroi" is used a lot in Horizon, because of the two Japanese sisters, Kira and Akiko, who are two of the eight survivors of the mysterious plane crash. The other six passengers are Molly, an optimistic engineer, Javi, a member of Team Killbot, Anna, a twelve year old who sometimes doesn't know when to keep her mouth shut, Yoshi, a thief, Oliver, a guy whose mother had to be persuaded to let him come, and Caleb, a headstrong teen. After anticipating reading Horizon for WEEKS, I was really disappointed. The writing feels bland in most chapters, and the characters feel more like empty, soulless robots. There isn't any raw emotion expressed in the writing; it feels like I just opened a flat soda. There are a few rare chapters spread out in the book that genuinely caught my interest, but most were just "meh". The concept itself is pretty omoshiroi, but the execution really fell short in character development. I'll check out the second book, Deadzone, when it's published, but for now, 3 stars.
                • readwriter
                  readwriterWednesday, April 19, 2017 at 8:02 pm55 starsFeatured
                  A random and 1-in-a-million chance plane crash finds itself leaving 8 kids stranded in the middle of a jungle. But the jungle shouldn't even be there. And, aside from its strange location, the jungle is full of strange animals, plants, and noises. With several predators, little food, and almost no resources, can the kids find out why the plane crashed, where the other 492 passengers went, and figure out how to get home? But, the biggest question of all is: Will they be able to survive? This captivating book will have you under its spell with the first sentence and keep you reading until the last page is turned and the cover is shut!
                  • sydstar
                    sydstarMonday, April 17, 2017 at 2:11 pm
                    This is a 4 star book. It's about 8 kids who survive a plane crash and have no idea where they are. My favorite character was Anna because she says the truth and doesn't try to make things seem less dangerous than they really are. She controls the gravity machine and protects it. The story was interesting and the characters were engaging and relatable...except for Caleb. He was not likable. Overall, I highly recommend this book!
                    • kltoad
                      kltoadTuesday, March 28, 2017 at 7:39 pm
                      I heard it is about eight kids who survived a plane crash. It might be a suspense book. I don't know. All I do know is that I want to read this book.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      cobrazeus10

                      I loved this book. It was an i...
                      The Isle of the Lost: A Descenda...

                      ndog8
                      ndog8 wrote:

                      I thought this book was pretty g...
                      Wedding Crasher (Geronimo Stilto...

                      me wrote:

                      this book is to good. its awesom...
                      Walk Two Moons

                      Davisisawesome wrote:

                      it was not good, but amazing and...
                      Valkyrie