Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.261113
This Newbery Honor-winning, hilarious Floridian adventure involves new kids, bullies, alligators, eco-warriors, pancakes, pint-sized owls, and more. A New York Times bestseller!

Everybody loves Mother Paula’s pancakes. Everybody, that is, except the colony of cute but endangered owls that live on the building site of the new restaurant. Can the awkward new kid and his feral friend prank the pancake people out of town? Or is the owls’ fate cemented in pancake batter?

“A wonderful tour de-force.” —The Boston Globe

“A rollicking, righteous story.” —The Miami Herald

“Yes, it is a hoot.”—The Washington Post
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on September 10, 2002 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375821813
ISBN-13: 9780375821813
158 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hockey_kid77
    hockey_kid77Tuesday, July 21, 2020 at 8:52 am55 stars
    Roy Eberhardt moved so often he has lost track of how many times he has changed schools. After moving from Montana to Florida's Gulf Coast, he befriends Beatrice and her brother. The siblings show Roy their hideaway, where they secretly take care of a flock of wild owls. When they learn that a restaurant will be built where the owls live, the three decide to enlist the help of a local policeman to save the birds. Then, the day the boss of the new restaurant comes to see the work, many kids from the school come to the construction site and form a circle around the wholes in the ground where the owls live to prevent the restaurant from being built.
    • baker-2772
      baker-2772Thursday, June 4, 2020 at 6:27 am44 stars
      When he gets theban news nothing else matters anymore he needs to save the owls at any cost.
      • daniel09
        daniel09Wednesday, June 3, 2020 at 8:12 am44 stars
        I read Hoot by Carl Hiaasen. In this book the main character is Roy A. Eberhardt. Roy tries to save the owls that have burrows under where Mother Paula’s wants to build a new pancake house. Nobody believed Roy when they tried to tell everybody about the owls. Also, Roy could not find where Mother Paula’s kept their EIS (environmental impact statement) which is a permit that lets them build on the land. In this book we see that Roy is determined because when nobody believed him about the owls he kept trying to show people that there were owls where Mother Paulas wanted to build. I liked this book because there is a lot of action in the middle and it was suspenseful. I also liked how they were trying to save the owls. I rate this book 4/5 stars because the ending of the book was a little boring and confusing because of all the story lines. I would recommend this book to people who like action and animals.
        • emily fret headThursday, April 16, 2020 at 11:07 am
          it was a very good book
          • KeeleySaturday, January 4, 2020 at 2:20 pm
            Hoot is a book about Roy, a middle school boy who one day sees a strange boy running past his bus where Roy is looking through the window of. Roy soon tries to follow the boy and is swept up in a mystery of a soccer player names Beatrice, her step brother, a pancake house about to be built, an amateur police officer wanting to be a detective, and most of all, a nesting family burrowing owl. This is a powerful book about standing up for what's right!
            • sylvie55555
              sylvie55555Monday, July 15, 2019 at 4:48 am44 stars
              Hoot is a book about Roy, a middle school boy who one day sees a strange boy running past his bus where Roy is looking through the window of. Roy soon tries to follow the boy and is swept up in a mystery of a soccer player names Beatrice, her step brother, a pancake house about to be built, an amateur police officer wanting to be a detective, and most of all, a nesting family burrowing owl. This is a powerful book about standing up for what's right!
              • starlordWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 6:04 am
                I love this book so much :)
                • alienkid12Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 11:15 am
                  I love this book so much. I own it at home, and I recommend it to anyone age 7-100. I'm reading it aloud to my younger siblings. They love it.
                  • inmemoryofcpr
                    inmemoryofcprSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 11:00 am
                    If you liked The FunJungle series then I would recommend this book. It's not really a mystery novel but it is centered around saving animals. I would definitely recommend this book.
                    • quail
                      quailThursday, May 16, 2019 at 4:34 pm55 stars
                      Everybody loves pancakes. Well everybody except a small family of owls hiding underneath the construction site for the brand new Mother Paula pancake house that is. So when a boy stumbles upon this brood he knows he cant just let them die or have to relocate. He knows that he must stop the evil pancake people before its too late! But he cant do it alone; Through this compelling tale of love, protection and new beginning's Roy Eberhardt, Beatrice Leap and a kid named Mullet Fingers out smart the police and a guy named Curly and even the school bully Dana Matherson. All just to speak up for those without a voice. Save the owls!!!