Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10R5.742328
This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are compared—and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.

LOST

Brian Robertson, sole passenger on a Cessna 406, is on his way to visit his father when the tiny bush plane crashes in the Canadian wilderness. With nothing but his clothing, a tattered windbreaker, and the hatchet his mother had given him as a present, Brian finds himself completely alone.

Challenged by his fear and despair -- and plagued with the weight of a dreadful secret he's been keeping since his parent's divorce -- brian must tame his inner demons in order to survive. It will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed.
Hardcover
Published on May 1, 2000 by Hardcover
376 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bugga_boo
    bugga_booWednesday, April 1, 2020 at 11:47 am
    this book is very sad but also very intense gary pulson is a very popular auther that can take a sad story and bring it to life ! i allows recommend woods runner its very similar to brians searies but about someone else !!!! 5 stars please !
    • natcat12
      natcat12Tuesday, March 3, 2020 at 11:43 am44 stars
      Hatchet is about a boy named Brian who is going to visit his dad. His plane crashed on the way there. He has to survive for months waiting to be rescued using only a hatchet that his mom gave him. It is a really great book, but it is a little predictable, that is why I'm only giving it four stars. Overall it is a great book, and I would read it again.
      • forever_toast09
        forever_toast09Thursday, February 27, 2020 at 6:47 pm55 stars
        This is a wonderful book! It's about hunting and the wilderness, it is a pretty serious book so i wouldn't recommend the book to people who don't like to read serious books. I recommend this book to grades 5-7 because some words in the book could be hard to pronounce for 5th and 6th graders. Overall, I loved this book!
        • cmansell
          cmansellFriday, January 10, 2020 at 10:42 am44 stars
          Hatchet is a book about Brian who is going to visit his dad in Canada. On his way, his plane crashes. All he has to survive is a hatchet,his mom gave him. He survives on his own for a while and lived. Action packed. I'm rating it four stars, because it was predicting.
          • ksbenn19
            ksbenn19Wednesday, November 20, 2019 at 6:30 pm55 stars
            Hatchet tells a great story about how hard it is to live off the wild after living in modern society. Brian has to learn most of his skill for himself without any help. Brian starts out as a normal city child, but after he is forced to survive on his own, he becomes in tune with nature, and this is investigated further in later books in the series.
            • kaiguy
              kaiguyWednesday, November 20, 2019 at 3:34 pm
              It's a very interesting book, I think there is a movie
              • fudutesi-157003850165
                fudutesi-157003850165Wednesday, November 6, 2019 at 10:55 am33 stars
                The Hatchet book is a great book. It’s good because it was all about survival and the wild. Overall, this book may teach people about survival skills, like making a shelter or make fish-spears. The book was ok and I will rate it a three-star and may suggest this book. My favorite part of the book (SPOILERS) when he got rescued by a pilot and that part was funny. In my opinion, I think brian is the best character in the book because he changes in the book and did great things.
                • flowerfox
                  flowerfoxFriday, October 18, 2019 at 6:23 am44 stars
                  Hatchet is a book about a boy named Brian Robeson. He is the only passenger on a single-engine plane he is flying in to go visit his dad for the first time after his parents divorce that happened because of the "Secret". The pilot suddenly has a heart attack and Brian has to crash-land the plane into the Canadian wilderness and learn to survive there.
                  • blobfish101
                    blobfish101Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 3:45 pm44 starsFeatured
                    The book Hatchet is an exciting, action packed adventure story, focusing on a boy named Brian who spends many days in the Canadian wilderness; starting with nothing but a hatchet after his plane goes down over the forest, Brian is forced to learn how to survive. This is a great book for kids fourth grade and up that are interested in thrilling survival and suspense stories. My favorite part is when Brian gets visited by a small creature in the middle of the night thieving Brian’s essentials. My opinion on the pilot character is not exactly being rude or terribly kind, but more “passive” at first. When he livens up a bit, he appears fairly nice, however. I believe this is a suspenseful story with many surprising twists that no reader could ever be prepared for. The conclusion is predictable but exciting nonetheless. This book kept me on the edge of my seat and wanting more, so if you are a kid eager for adventure, Hatchet is the book for you.
                    • kbug007
                      kbug007Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 1:30 pm55 stars
                      The book Hatchet is an action- packed story with a 13 year- old boy named, Brian, as the main character. In addition, Brian goes to visit his divorced father in Canada, but as he travels there, his plane crashes. Only Brian survived the crash, but now he has to survive the wild forest of Canada with no food, tools, or communication. Brian struggles to survive and sometimes loses hope in himself, my favorite part was when Brian discovered something sticking out of the lake and tries to retrieve something from it. And although some may say this book is boring or too long, I recommend this book to people who love mystery, action, drama and the wilderness, and I also think Brian is a brave character who doesn’t give up.