Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10W7.2257154
A special new edition in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, with a stunning new cover illustration by Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick.

There is a door at the end of a silent corridor. And it's haunting Harry Potter's dreams. Why else would he be waking in the middle of the night, screaming in terror?

It's not just the upcoming O.W.L. exams; a new teacher with a personality like poisoned honey; a venomous, disgruntled house-elf; or even the growing threat of He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named. Now Harry Potter is faced with the unreliability of the very government of the magical world and the impotence of the authorities at Hogwarts.

Despite this (or perhaps because of it), he finds depth and strength in his friends, beyond what even he knew; boundless loyalty; and unbearable sacrifice.

This gorgeous new edition in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone features a newly designed cover illustrated by Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick, as well as the beloved original interior decorations by Mary GrandPré.
Paperback, 896 pages
Published on September 1, 2004 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0439358078
ISBN-13: 9780439358071
276 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • avacadosmoothie
    avacadosmoothieTuesday, September 3, 2019 at 4:18 pm33 stars
    Harry Potter: Probably one of the most popular book series. Here's why I recommend it. This book is perfect for anyone who LOVES fantasy because it has a lot of fictional concepts in it. Even if you don't like fantasy (like me) it doesn't hurt to give this a try. The only reason why I gave this book three stars is because it's very long and it's not your typical chapter book.
    • cubanito
      cubanitoSaturday, August 10, 2019 at 12:15 pm55 stars
      Loved it. Will read all the books.
      • rina123aaa
        rina123aaaThursday, July 11, 2019 at 12:03 pm33 stars
        I only recommend this book because it is part of a series. The action parts are fairly interesting, and the book itself is fun, but there is a bit too much dialogue. this makes it boring to me. The way it is so mysterious adds some frizzle to it and I liked the tricks that Voldemort played on Harry.
        • hedgeguin2
          hedgeguin2Wednesday, July 10, 2019 at 6:08 pm44 stars
          This book is full of detail and makes you seem you are right in the action. It’s about Harry, and the new Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher, Professor Umbridge, who they all hate and wants her to leave. Harry starts a club, Dumbledore’s Army, but Umbridge will do anything to stop him! Along the way, Harry encounters many challenges, but that isn’t going to stop him!
          • lawalex
            lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 11:21 am55 stars
            This book, although slow at the start, is a great part of the Harry Potter saga. Lord Voldemort is rising, and battle is coming opon the wizarding world. Their only hope is the Order of the Phoenix.
            • sansasunlsans
              sansasunlsansTuesday, June 4, 2019 at 7:22 am55 stars
              10 out of 10
              • brawlstarschamp
                brawlstarschampMonday, May 27, 2019 at 4:28 pm55 stars
                This is the longest book in the "Harry Potter" series. Harry learns about the Order of the Phoenix. Also, Harry, Ron and Hermione have to take their O.W.L.S. If you can't imagine, there is a new "Defense Against the Dark Arts" teacher. Enjoy!
                • katherina_8268
                  katherina_8268Friday, April 5, 2019 at 4:20 pm55 stars
                  This is my FAVORITE book in the whole Harry Potter series! However, I do suggest you read the first couple of books. LUNA LOVEGOOD IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE CHARACTERS!
                  • haydenFriday, February 15, 2019 at 7:20 am
                    i love this book
                    • Potterhead Friday, February 15, 2019 at 6:24 am
                      I love and just looooooooove the book it is the best best ever apart from the other Harry Potters but just if you could add a quiz that would be great here is a picture of me or at least how me friends describe me 🤓 Harry Potter for All!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!