Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10W7.2257154
A special new edition in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, with a stunning new cover illustration by Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick.

There is a door at the end of a silent corridor. And it's haunting Harry Potter's dreams. Why else would he be waking in the middle of the night, screaming in terror?

It's not just the upcoming O.W.L. exams; a new teacher with a personality like poisoned honey; a venomous, disgruntled house-elf; or even the growing threat of He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named. Now Harry Potter is faced with the unreliability of the very government of the magical world and the impotence of the authorities at Hogwarts.

Despite this (or perhaps because of it), he finds depth and strength in his friends, beyond what even he knew; boundless loyalty; and unbearable sacrifice.

This gorgeous new edition in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone features a newly designed cover illustrated by Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick, as well as the beloved original interior decorations by Mary GrandPré.
Paperback, 896 pages
Published on September 1, 2004 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0439358078
ISBN-13: 9780439358071
293 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bmoneystudies
    bmoneystudiesSaturday, March 7, 2020 at 5:05 am
    Its a really good book I recommend it.
    • Muhammad HamzaMonday, February 24, 2020 at 8:32 am
      A type of horror and funny and intresting
      • mimiv
        mimivSunday, February 23, 2020 at 3:46 pm55 stars
        This is the longest book of the series. I was very captivated with the plot of the story till the very last page of the book. Leaving me astounded with this piece of literature. Harry is very desperate to get back to school because he wants to know why his friends have been secretive all summer. Although when he returns to Hogwarts he will soon realize his live will be turned upside down. Not trying to spoil this amazing book by giving to many details. .
        • moonlight121
          moonlight121Friday, February 21, 2020 at 9:08 am55 stars
          so scary and so many adventures!!!!!!!!!!!!want to read more!!!!!!
          • mysticmermaidla
            mysticmermaidlaWednesday, February 19, 2020 at 5:59 pm55 stars
            I decided to read this book because I LOVE Harry Potter and I want to finish all the books in the series. I haven't watched all the movies yet but I want to! I totally recommend this book and the rest of the books in the series to you guys!
            • dyzidaja-157177638462
              dyzidaja-157177638462Wednesday, February 5, 2020 at 9:18 am55 stars
              I love this book because it has adventure and is exciting ! I also love it because you do not know what will happen next.
              • starkk_22
                starkk_22Friday, January 10, 2020 at 11:53 am55 stars
                After the scene in the graveyard last year Harry tells everyone that Voldemort is back. The thing is no one believes him. Everyone goes against him except for a few people. Things get worse when Harry starts having bad dreams of a door and his scar starts hurting a lot more. This was another one of my favorite Harry Potter books. I really enjoyed it and it reminded me that your friends will always be with you.
                • Cooooooooo Wednesday, January 1, 2020 at 11:32 am
                  Fantastic I love it especially Dumbledores army
                  • visijezy-157615959492
                    visijezy-157615959492Thursday, December 12, 2019 at 6:52 am55 stars
                    This book is very adventure filled.
                    • invincikitty
                      invincikittySaturday, December 7, 2019 at 1:31 pm55 stars
                      I think that this is a very good book to read. If you are bored and have nothing to do, I recommend this book to you. I enjoyed it. I hope you do, too.