Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10W7.2257154
A special new edition in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, with a stunning new cover illustration by Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick.

There is a door at the end of a silent corridor. And it's haunting Harry Potter's dreams. Why else would he be waking in the middle of the night, screaming in terror?

It's not just the upcoming O.W.L. exams; a new teacher with a personality like poisoned honey; a venomous, disgruntled house-elf; or even the growing threat of He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named. Now Harry Potter is faced with the unreliability of the very government of the magical world and the impotence of the authorities at Hogwarts.

Despite this (or perhaps because of it), he finds depth and strength in his friends, beyond what even he knew; boundless loyalty; and unbearable sacrifice.

This gorgeous new edition in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone features a newly designed cover illustrated by Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick, as well as the beloved original interior decorations by Mary GrandPré.
Paperback, 896 pages
Published on September 1, 2004 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0439358078
ISBN-13: 9780439358071
315 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Anthony Wednesday, October 21, 2020 at 6:50 am
    Cool the book
    • rbg
      rbgSunday, October 18, 2020 at 12:18 pm55 stars
      You should totally read it!
      • dragonite36345
        dragonite36345Tuesday, September 29, 2020 at 8:26 am55 stars
        My favorite and my worst Harry Potter book. Dumbledore's Army: Amazing! Sirius Black dying: Nooooooooo! :( If you want to read this it is better if you read the other books first.
        • beaners18
          beaners18Tuesday, September 22, 2020 at 11:39 am55 stars
          I loved this book so much, it is awesome!
          • indigotheiris
            indigotheirisWednesday, September 16, 2020 at 10:46 am55 stars
            BEST BOOK EVER
            • amers_24
              amers_24Wednesday, September 2, 2020 at 2:55 pm55 stars
              I LIKED it! It was REALLY good!! I'm def recommending it because it is really good!!!! I am a Harry potter lover and obsesser (is that a word XD)😂 Follow me if u like this book of just Harry potter!!!
              • amelialover24
                amelialover24Wednesday, September 2, 2020 at 10:49 am55 stars
                This is one of my fav. Harry Potter Book. I have been a potter head for like 2 years. Its so amazing and I just love it. Malfoy in the movie look supper hot lol so yeah defenety recommend that u read this book <3 :)
                • Rachel TaylorFriday, July 24, 2020 at 5:17 am
                  I really like all of the Harry Potter books but th Order of the Phoenix is the best one
                  • Luna lovegood Saturday, July 18, 2020 at 3:44 am
                    Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is a astonishing book. I am on chapter nineteen and I love the book so far it is amazing. The story takes place at the dursley and Hogwarts school of witchcraft and wizardry. Ron becomes a seeker and Hermione and Ron become prefects and the book is so good. I am guessing u already know by this little chunk of word describing the book so far that I am a potter head and I am I am also a overall geek I like star wars and Harry Potter and lot or lord of the rings I am a dork and a geek and I am proud of it . Come on you can't rate a Harry Potter book under a five star can u.
                    • warriorsgirl11
                      warriorsgirl11Thursday, July 9, 2020 at 4:47 pm55 stars
                      Hogwarts's Biggest Crisis He's back! Harry Potter (Daniel Radcliffe) waiting for the fifth year of the Hogwarts School of Magic on a long and boring summer day. I'm tired of living with Aunt Dusley's family, and I don't get a letter from my friends Ron (Rupert Grint) and Hermione (Emma Watson). Meanwhile, an unexpected letter arrives. It was news that Harry was expelled from Hogwarts School of Magic at Little Winning outside school because he used magic to prevent the attack of the mentors in front of Muggle's cousin Dudley, Muggle. Harry has a dark front. Suddenly, Dark Wizard auras appear and take Harry to the secret place of the Order of the Phoenix. The fate of the Dumbledore army and the knights of the Phoenix Knights is in their hands! Harry, who met the Phoenix Knights, including Sirius (Gary Oldman), learned of his parents' past, gained strength and expelled himself. Hardy) is put in court, but he is found innocent thanks to the mediation of Principal Dumbledore (Sir Michael Bolbol), but the Prophet Ilbo accuses Harry of the return of Voldemort (Ralph Pines) for accusing him of being a red lie, and students suspect Harry. Out of place. Besides, even Dumbledore, the principal who helped him when he was in the most difficult situation, kept Harry away for no reason... On the other hand, Dumbledore was unsatisfactory, but when Harry's expulsion became reckless, the Minister of Magic appointed Dolores Umbridge (Imelda Stirton) as a professor in the'Dark Magic Defense' course. However, Umbudji's magic defense class puts students in trouble rather than defending themselves from the power of darkness. Here comes the knights who will face the strongest magic confrontation of darkness! Hermione and Ron form a secret organization that believes in Harry's abilities and dubbed "Dumbledore's Army." Harry teaches students how to defend themselves against the magic of darkness, and prepares them for the upcoming battle. However, Harry suffers from a nightmare that predicts an ominous event every night. Now, you'll feel that the battle with Voldemort is not long before, and with the nightmare of Sirius being attacked, Harry heads for the room of prophecy in the Mystery Department of the Magic Department with the Dumbledore army. And those who eat the death that followed... The sparkling confrontation between the magic of light and the magic of darkness Harry Potter, the Order of the Phoenix, the fate of Hogwarts is up to them! Long but good, I loved this book!