Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

Book 1 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Kindle Edition
2070 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • magicalmythical
    magicalmythicalMonday, August 3, 2020 at 3:22 pm11 star
    I don't like this book, because I don't seem it interesting to me than Percy Jackson. I'm sorry Mr. Rowling, but I do must say I hate this book.
    • hermionegrangerSunday, August 2, 2020 at 6:41 am
      Well I didn't read it on here but I've read it before and it's really good!
      • coxy2012
        coxy2012Friday, July 31, 2020 at 7:55 am55 stars
        Realy good
        • Hardik raj thakTuesday, July 28, 2020 at 7:33 pm
          I like the story
          • major123
            major123Monday, July 27, 2020 at 9:54 am55 stars
            The 5-star rating does not do this book justice. It is so amazing that I cant put it in words. I am a hardcore Harry Potter fan and this book is lifechanging. Read each book in order, and watch the movies in this order: Read the book and watch the corresponding movie. My favorite book is the Order of the Pheonix. The best movies, however, are the 2 Deathly Hallows (part 1 and part 2), the graphics are out of this world! I started reading these in the summer after 2nd grade so that is a good time to start reading. Make sure that you are comfortable with reading chapter books. All of the books in the series are awesome, and by reading these you will have an awesome life long experience! Enjoy reading the books! Welcome to the Wizarding World!
            • the-odd1sout
              the-odd1soutMonday, July 27, 2020 at 8:31 am55 stars
              Amazing book!!!!!!!!!
              • rainbowdeer18
                rainbowdeer18Monday, July 20, 2020 at 9:03 am55 stars
                11 year old Harry potter discovers he is a wizard he has lived with The Dursley's since he was a little boy and he was under the stairs until one day he received a letter addressed to him it was from Hogwarts, Harry Potter had discovered that his parents were wizards and died from a wizard gone bad Voldmort. On his eleventh bird a big giant came to Harry's cottage and took him shopping for wand and other school supplies he needed for his first year at Hogwarts. With the help from his friends Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley he will kill he who shall not be named. i loved this book and the movie so so much. I hope you will too. Thank you for reading this. 😊😊😍
                • major123
                  major123Monday, July 27, 2020 at 9:56 am55 stars
                  Nitwit! Blubber! Oddment! Tweak! Lol that's my favorite line!
                • starsabove
                  starsaboveSunday, July 19, 2020 at 7:30 pm55 stars
                  Harry Potter finds out he is a famous wizard and he is really happy because fof once people don't hate him anc his cousin isnt here. He finds out about the world of wizards and becomes friends with Herminoe Granger and Ron Weasley.
                  • tigerwolf957
                    tigerwolf957Monday, July 13, 2020 at 9:21 am44 stars
                    This book is amazing I seriously loved it but the second book is better but that is only what I think so yeah don’t read the second book first.
                    • dogogirl1000
                      dogogirl1000Sunday, July 12, 2020 at 8:22 am55 stars
                      I love Harry Potter and i am only 8 right now i am on book 4 The goblet of fire i think this is a great book