Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.464682
A New York Times Bestselling Author -- Sequel to the Scott O'Dell Award winner Chains. The young soldiers at Valley Forge are suffering. Their newly forged bonds of friendship might help them survive. But the chains of Curzon's past threaten to shackle him again. Surrounded by the fires of ignorance, mistrust, and greed, Curzon can't risk sharing his deadly secrets. Does he have the mettle to hold on to his freedom? Is he strong enough to find the answer to the hardest question of all: Is Isabel still alive?
Hardcover, 417 pages
Published on April 1, 2011 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 1410436322
ISBN-13: 9781410436320
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • midnightfires
    midnightfiresSunday, February 2, 2020 at 6:08 pm44 starsFeatured
    I enjoyed reading the book Forge but I’m slightly disappointed too. I recommend this book to everyone who likes historical fiction. This book is about a runaway slave named Curzon and how he struggles to survive during the American Revolutionary War as a soldier. Curzon and the other soldiers at Valley Forge are suffering from the cold and icy winter, hunger, and the constant threat of the British army. With all this to suffer from already, poor Curzon has even more things to worry about. Will he be found by his master? Will this cruel war ever end? But the most important question of all. . . is Isabel alive? Overall, Forge is a thrilling, drama-filled, and slightly romantic book that really focuses on the difficulties of soldiers and slaves during the American Revolutionary War. The book has a good plot and a lot of plot twists and it’s the kind of book you would read while curled in a warm blanket with a cup of hot cocoa. I liked the way that you can understand how life was during the American Revolutionary War. The only thing that disappoints me is that the author seemed to drag out the story, and the ending was too predictable.
    • pinkyarn4
      pinkyarn4Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 6:48 am
      Forge is an interesting book that takes place during the times of the American Revolution. The main character, Curzon, is a slave who struggles to survive along with his friend Isabelle. I liked that we can understand the life of a slave better after reading this book. The reason I didn't give it all five stars is that it is a bit slow, and the ending is not surprising. Otherwise, I would really recommend reading this book!
      • angelay
        angelayWednesday, November 18, 2015 at 5:15 am44 starsFeatured
        Forge is a realistic story full of tragedy and drama that is set in the wartime of 18th century America. I really like this sequel because it also mentions how someone can maintain their dignity and integrity when their life is really unlucky and unfortunate. It shows that, even in the darkest times, we will be able to struggle on until things finally get better. I also learned about the hard path of African Americans, who, despite their really unlucky life, learn to carry on and still be determined on how to live their lives. In this book, I mostly learn about Curtis and his point of view, and I really like this character because he’s very determined and clever and stubborn, some traits we usually don’t see in a lot of characters. His voice is also really clear so that I can picture what’s really going on. I really recommend this book!
        • cat_lover429
          cat_lover429Monday, November 16, 2015 at 4:19 pmFeatured
          Forge is a great book if your looking for tragedy and drama. This book also shares about how it was in the 1700 and about slavery. It is also a historical fiction book. So if you love history books hop on and enjoy the trip to the future!
          • wreakless1234
            wreakless1234Sunday, August 17, 2014 at 2:43 pm55 stars
            SO good it is really telling me about what it was like back then.
            • pipermc11
              pipermc11Saturday, January 11, 2014 at 9:42 am
              I WANT ASHES TO COME OUT NOW!!! I AM SO EXCITED FOR IT!!!
              • marzki
                marzkiMonday, December 17, 2012 at 6:03 pm55 stars
                I like how Cuzon tells this part of the story and I can not wait for Ashes!
                • majorerika6
                  majorerika6Friday, November 23, 2012 at 3:59 pm55 stars
                  My friend and i read this book we loved it we also read Forge and I'm waiting for the third book Ashes (comes out in March 2014 i know its a long time) its about the african slave and what she experiences.