Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 1 - 5U4.3n/a
Winner of the 2014 Newbery Medal

Holy unanticipated occurrences! A cynic meets an unlikely superhero in a genre-breaking new novel by master storyteller Kate DiCamillo.


It begins, as the best superhero stories do, with a tragic accident that has unexpected consequences. The squirrel never saw the vacuum cleaner coming, but self-described cynic Flora Belle Buckman, who has read every issue of the comic book Terrible Things Can Happen to You!, is just the right person to step in and save him. What neither can predict is that Ulysses (the squirrel) has been born anew, with powers of strength, flight, and misspelled poetry — and that Flora will be changed too, as she discovers the possibility of hope and the promise of a capacious heart. From #1 New York Times best-selling author Kate DiCamillo comes a laugh-out-loud story filled with eccentric, endearing characters and featuring an exciting new format — a novel interspersed with comic-style graphic sequences and full-page illustrations, all rendered in black-and-white by up-and-coming artist K. G. Campbell.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on September 24, 2013 by Candlewick Press
ISBN-10: 076366040X
ISBN-13: 9780763660406
95 Book Reviews
  • wolfdog
    wolfdogTuesday, May 4, 2021 at 8:14 am55 stars
    Now a movie!
    • cocoa14
      cocoa14Tuesday, April 13, 2021 at 1:16 pm55 stars
      It looked like a cute book. I adore animals, they are so cute. Its a silly superhero book. Its about a squirrel that turns into a superhero. It also has little comics in there. So I for sure reccomend this book for those who love animals, superheros, and action!
      • kenna626
        kenna626Friday, March 5, 2021 at 5:32 pm44 stars
        This book is awesome and has animals in it.
        • rgjj2
          rgjj2Wednesday, February 24, 2021 at 2:00 pm55 stars
          it's about a girl that found a super squirrel. This girl thought she was dreaming was she... read it to find out.
          • pineapplecat
            pineapplecatThursday, October 1, 2020 at 3:47 pm44 stars
            It is a AMAZING book I love it so much and it is nice to read anytime
            • hedgeguin2
              hedgeguin2Wednesday, July 29, 2020 at 6:09 pm44 stars
              I’ve wanted to read this book for so long, since it’s such a classic! Flora and Ulysses is about a girl named Flora, who she believes is a natural born cynic. She loves to read comics, but thinks her mother doesn’t like her one bit. But when her next door neighbor accidentally vacuums up a squirrel, things all change. The squirrel, now named Ulysses, has superpowers. It can write poetry, fly, and lift things with one paw. Together, Flora and Ulysses set off to try to save the world from evil, but learns more things about her family than Flora thought she would ever know instead. This book is great, but it can get a little confusing in some parts. However I would recommend it! :)
              • borupyhy-156623588802
                borupyhy-156623588802Wednesday, September 11, 2019 at 9:00 am
                You should read this book
                • vyvufoky-156623590383
                  vyvufoky-156623590383Wednesday, September 11, 2019 at 8:59 am44 stars
                  I like the book and I think It was a really cool for the school to read this book and the questions where right in the book. There is a lot of questions to ask and that is good , asking questions make the book more interesting then it already is. There was a lot of events happening in this book, that can make it hard to remember. I think this book is really interesting.
                  • inmemoryofcpr
                    inmemoryofcprSunday, July 28, 2019 at 4:10 pm33 stars
                    So I first read this in 4th grade but I never finished it. 1 year later, I have finished it. In 4th grade. I thought that the book was weird. Maybe because I'm too normal XD Anyways...I have a new perspective of the book: Flora is not mature enough. I would not recommend this because I think this is the worst book that Kate DiCamillo has ever wrote. I am disappointed in her. This book would be suitable for ages 7+ and maybe I didn't like this because I wasn't a cynic.
                    • THE GUY Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 7:11 am
                      These characters have been through a lot. I mean getting your back getting ran over by a truck is pretty painful but still have being apologetic and much much more but the thing is that there just covering up their pain and doubts and this is a real life phenomenon I've even been through it but even though It's sad it makes it have a little more depth and more relatable.