Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8W3.748814
A New York Times Bestseller!

The author of the beloved One for the Murphys gives readers an emotionally-charged, uplifting novel that will speak to anyone who’s ever thought there was something wrong with them because they didn’t fit in.

“Everybody is smart in different ways. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its life believing it is stupid.”

Ally has been smart enough to fool a lot of smart people. Every time she lands in a new school, she is able to hide her inability to read by creating clever yet disruptive distractions. She is afraid to ask for help; after all, how can you cure dumb? However, her newest teacher Mr. Daniels sees the bright, creative kid underneath the trouble maker. With his help, Ally learns not to be so hard on herself and that dyslexia is nothing to be ashamed of. As her confidence grows, Ally feels free to be herself and the world starts opening up with possibilities. She discovers that there’s a lot more to her—and to everyone—than a label, and that great minds don’t always think alike.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on February 5, 2015 by Nancy Paulsen Books
ISBN-10: 0399162593
ISBN-13: 9780399162596
107 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Trashdelete1235Friday, March 8, 2019 at 4:51 am
    It was AMAZING❤❤❤
    • wackyismyname
      wackyismynameThursday, February 21, 2019 at 2:43 pm55 stars
      awesomeness strait awesomeness
      • RainTuesday, February 12, 2019 at 7:22 am
        omg this book was amazingggggg it was so good totally recommend
        • Little StrangeMonday, February 11, 2019 at 6:16 pm
          I think this book is amazing
          • wackyismyname
            wackyismynameMonday, February 11, 2019 at 4:09 pm55 stars
            some spoils warning warning!!!!! this book has a very important meaning. so...….. there is this girl who has dyslexia and people make fun of her because she doesn't know how to read. although she is very smart.
            • Coolgirl27Sunday, December 9, 2018 at 1:41 pm
              My class is reading this book!!!! I think it is very cool and interesting so far!!
              • kittengirlSunday, December 9, 2018 at 9:35 am
                A book of great teamwork, friendship, standing up for others, doodles of impossible things and dyslexia. A must read for anyone who likes a little difference in the world of books. One of the best car ride reads in the world. I really felt like I was in the book always by Ally's side. The kids reading this book will go alongside Ally and her friends, defending each other from Jessica and Shay. The book's lesson is that you should always believe in yourself and not let anyone else take you down. In the beginning, Ally is with a teacher that doesn't really understand her. In the end she has a teacher who helps her with her dyslexia. She also does not have any friends. In the the ends she has 2 new friends and a maybe friend. NOT GOING TO SPOIL ANY MORE!!!!! 😊😎😁💟✨✔
                • ubergirl
                  ubergirlSaturday, December 1, 2018 at 5:25 am
                  A Great Book for all ages
                  • raakelWednesday, November 28, 2018 at 6:31 am
                    For my novel review, I decided to read Fish in a Tree by Lynda Mullay Hunt. It was a very inspiring book in the sense that it was saying that you need to always believe in yourself and don't let other people tell you otherwise. Fish in a Tree is about a girl named Ally who has trouble learning. Ally is trying to keep this a secret, but still gets bullied because of it. Eventually, someone steps up and defends her. Finally she has a friend. One school day, Ally discovers she has a new teacher. He helps her in ways she never thought would help her. In the end, she realizes with enough confidence, she could do anything she wants. This book was such a great book to read because I got really sucked into it (and I don't usually get really into books). The book was very descriptive and I got to know the characters well with the description. The characters all had very distinct traits. I love how well described this book was overall. I would recommend this book for grades 5-7 because some of the words would be hard to read for someone who’s grade 4 and under. The book length would also be a bit challenging for grades 1-4.
                    • wolllf123
                      wolllf123Monday, October 22, 2018 at 11:03 am
                      Ummmmmm have not reeded yet need to read it NOW!!!

                      Our Apps and Plugins