Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8W3.748814
A New York Times Bestseller!

The author of the beloved One for the Murphys gives readers an emotionally-charged, uplifting novel that will speak to anyone who’s ever thought there was something wrong with them because they didn’t fit in.

“Everybody is smart in different ways. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its life believing it is stupid.”

Ally has been smart enough to fool a lot of smart people. Every time she lands in a new school, she is able to hide her inability to read by creating clever yet disruptive distractions. She is afraid to ask for help; after all, how can you cure dumb? However, her newest teacher Mr. Daniels sees the bright, creative kid underneath the trouble maker. With his help, Ally learns not to be so hard on herself and that dyslexia is nothing to be ashamed of. As her confidence grows, Ally feels free to be herself and the world starts opening up with possibilities. She discovers that there’s a lot more to her—and to everyone—than a label, and that great minds don’t always think alike.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on February 5, 2015 by Nancy Paulsen Books
ISBN-10: 0399162593
ISBN-13: 9780399162596
120 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lolaWednesday, January 22, 2020 at 9:34 pm
    this book teaches a really amazing lesson. even though people may not know some things you do, or don’t persue what you do, doesn’t mean you are different.
    • roxanne3
      roxanne3Wednesday, January 22, 2020 at 6:03 pm55 stars
      I love this book and I think it is so cool that all those famous people have/had dyslexia like Ally. She is so cool!!
      • heavens_angel12
        heavens_angel12Thursday, January 16, 2020 at 8:58 pm55 stars
        I read this book in a class reading, but it was AMAZING! I really loved it, even though I didn't think I would. I read this book about 3 or 4 times and it was really good every time. It's about a girl named Ally Nickerson, Who has Dyslexia. She gets a new teacher named Mr. Daniels. He tries to help her through her bullying and problems. I tried not to spoil the whole thing for you!;)
        • AlFriday, December 13, 2019 at 4:00 am
          Ally is the best she is so smart even though she has dilexia
          • nasuada
            nasuadaMonday, December 2, 2019 at 6:37 pm44 starsFeatured
            Ally Nickerson is dyslexic, but doesn't know it. She's tricked her teachers for years, and believes that her learning disability is entirely her fault. Ally finds herself in difficult situations at both home and school, with no visible escape. Art is her only distraction. The book offers a window into the workings of a fellow human's mind, which I find fascinating.
            • heth24
              heth24Saturday, November 30, 2019 at 7:31 am55 stars
              This is an amazing story to read. If you are a teacher like this in the book you are definitely awesome. The writer definitely took time into this book to write it. Every student teacher should read this book.
              • DillonSaturday, November 16, 2019 at 5:21 am
                Best book EVER !!!!!!!!!!!!
                • avacadosmoothie
                  avacadosmoothieSunday, September 22, 2019 at 4:46 pm55 stars
                  This book made me cry and feel melancholy, but in a GOOD way. This book is realistic fiction, so I can totally relate to it. This book is about a girl that has dyslexia, a chronic condition that makes you have trouble with reading. The girl's name is Ally. Ally is prone to trouble, but she can't help herself. Every year, she has to get through days of bullying, teasing, and mean teachers and classmates. Nobody likes her. One year, however, she gets a kind teacher, Mr. Daniels, that helps her improve her reading skills, a brave friend named Keisha, and a kid named Albert, who has secrets of his own. The three of them face conficts together and stay true to each other. Nobody actually likes to be made fun of and be left out, and this book is a perfect way to demonstate that.
                  • legendsneverdie
                    legendsneverdieThursday, September 12, 2019 at 6:52 pm55 stars
                    I personally LOVE this book! <3 I've read it a gazillion times and I think this book is amazing! Honestly, Ally felt like a 4th or 5th grader instead of a 6th 7th grader. I think the author could have made more details in it. The story was great and the plot was great, maybe elaborated a little more would be better.
                    • ccswishingstar
                      ccswishingstarSaturday, August 10, 2019 at 8:27 am33 stars
                      Every time Ally goes to a new school, she hides her inability to read by creating clever, but disruptive distractions. Ally is tired of being called loser and slow, but she is afraid to ask for help. She thinks that no one could cure her. But, Ally's newest teacher, Mr. Daniels, believes that she is a creative and bright kid beneath the troublemaker and helps her reveal them. Ally finally makes some friends, baking whiz Keisha and science and facts obsessed Albert, who also try to help her. They stand together against those in their class who are not so kind. As they begin to fit in with everyone else, surprising things begin to happen in her classroom that reveal to her that there is a lot more to her and everyone else than a label, and not everyone thinks in the same way as everyone else.