Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 2 - 8V4.158129

In the kingdom of Ayortha, who is the fairest of them all? Certainly not Aza. She is thoroughly convinced that she is ugly. What she may lack in looks, though, she makes up for with a kind heart, and with something no one else has–a magical voice. Her vocal talents captivate all who hear them, and in Ontio Castle they attract the attention of a handsome prince – and a dangerous new queen. In this masterful novel filled with humour, adventure, romance, and song, Newbery Honor author Gail Carson Levine invites you to join Aza as she discovers how exquisite she truly is.

Ages 8 – 14

Paperback, 352 pages
Published on July 24, 2012 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060734108
ISBN-13: 9780060734107
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • raindrop07
    raindrop07Monday, May 11, 2020 at 9:03 am55 stars
    Fairest by Gail Carson Levine is a fanatstic story about a girl named Aza living in the kingdom of Ayortha. She is certainly not the fairest of them all in this land, since she is convinced that she is thoroughly ugly. But her voice is quite the opposite. It is magical, and captivates all who hear it...even a dashing prince from the Ontio Castle and an evil, dangerous new queen. This is a wonderful book about the power of song! I loved reading this book :)
    • reader_red
      reader_redFriday, July 12, 2019 at 12:34 pm55 stars
      Aza thinks she is very ugly. Though Aza is ugly she is also kind and her singing is radiant. One day Aza is sent off to Ontario Castle. The new queen hears Aza sing and convinces Aza to help her. Aza also meets a handsome prince. When things go terribly wrong Aza questions who she really is.
      • queen_luna
        queen_lunaMonday, November 26, 2018 at 4:39 pm55 stars
        This book is fantastic. I am a sucker for fairy tale retellings, and this one is simply superb! If you're looking for something that will pull on your heartstrings, than this is the book for you! An excellent example of creative and exciting writing.
        • reader_red
          reader_redTuesday, July 3, 2018 at 7:36 am55 stars
          This book was really good. I'm not a whole lot into romance but this was still really good. Gail Carson Levine is a very good fairy tale writer and re-writer.
          • wiccanbat666
            wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 1:07 pm55 starsFeatured
            I pulled this book off of the Young Adult shelves expecting some light fiction, but I really enjoyed some of the deeper meanings behind this story! Yes, it is a retelling of Snow White, but with insights that really apply to most women today. First of all, the two most prominent female characters are alike in that they find themselves unacceptable- like two sides of a coin, even their names are like each other. One, however, becomes the villain, and the other, the heroine. But Levine paints the two characters so you can see how one, in coming to accept herself as she is, finds happiness and bestows grace on those around her, and how the other, in hating herself and trying to be other than what she is, ends up destroying the kingdom.
            • bookqueen1o13
              bookqueen1o13Thursday, May 4, 2017 at 6:26 pm55 stars
              o my goodness this book is the best all should read it now! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
              • kitten7260
                kitten7260Monday, December 5, 2016 at 8:33 am
                This is a pretty good book. It's about this girl named Aza as she has many encounters with the new queen. She is a wonderful singer, something appreciated in her kingdom, but she lacks the other thing; beauty. She watches the queen's coronation one day and then talks to the new queen. The queen wants Aza to be her lady-in-waiting, and when Aza is she finds herself more than she thought she was. Later she becomes convinced she is an ogre, but not without being admired by a handsome prince. Soon she has to go and hide in the gnome's home and finds herself really more different than she ever expected.
                • mila9
                  mila9Tuesday, January 27, 2015 at 2:58 pm
                  I would recommend if you like tell me and follow me
                  • happypug12
                    happypug12Saturday, January 24, 2015 at 6:38 am44 stars
                    I read this a long time ago, but I still remember this book and how much I loved the ending. It's sad that Aza thought she was an ogre, though.
                    • slythrnsweetie
                      slythrnsweetieMonday, December 15, 2014 at 6:32 pm
                      This book is great. I love Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted, so naturally I wanted to read more by her. This book has an amazing message, that true beauty comes from within.