Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a5.035793
Meet a guardian angel like no other, from a writer like no other. Bold rising star, Victoria Schwab, makes her whimsical, inspiring, and clever middle-grade debut.

At a first glance, Aria seems like your average twelve-year-old girl. She has coppery hair, colored shoelaces, and a passion for cupcakes. But there's more to Aria than meets the eye. She can dream things into existence, use her own shadow like a door, and change the world in small, important ways. Aria is a guardian angel. She's been sent here to earn her wings. But to do that, she'll have to help three different girls.

Aria's first mission is Gabby Torres. Gabby's always been quiet, but ever since her brother got sick, she's barely said a word.When a new school offers her a fresh start, Gabby wants badly to be someone new, but she quickly learns it's hard to make friends while keeping half her life a secret.

And then Aria shows up. Aria, who knows exactly what to say and do to make Gabby feel better. Will she be able to help Gabby find her voice? And will Gabby still trust Aria when she finds out exactly what she is?

Think John Green for middle grade, with a touch of magic!
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on May 27, 2014 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0545528461
ISBN-13: 9780545528467
29 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kgautam
    kgautamWednesday, June 12, 2019 at 10:55 am
    really 'magical' book! it was a super heart warming read, and i really liked the bond that the two girls formed. if only we could always have amazing friendships.
    • ellaFriday, May 18, 2018 at 5:15 am
      I just finished this book and it was AMAZING!!! If anyone is looking for a book to read, I suggest you pick up this and the other two books of the series!!!
      • ashleyTuesday, January 30, 2018 at 7:06 pm
        this book is amazing ! I'm already a 7th grader and this book is still my favorite book! I really recommend reading I because u will not resist reading it over. trust me. I've read it over like 3 times already and this is already my 4th time reading it over. I havn't yet gotten the second book but when I have the chance to get it I wont hesitate.
        • silverpheonix20
          silverpheonix20Tuesday, January 3, 2017 at 3:30 pm
          Hi everyone! I am in 4rth grade, and loved this book! Very interesting and very descriptive at the same time. I would totally recommend this book for 4rth graders and up!!
          • hannah Monday, October 10, 2016 at 4:50 pm
            this was a great book and I loved it
            • oreoshershey
              oreoshersheyWednesday, September 28, 2016 at 1:05 pm55 stars
              I love this book I didn't put it down until I was finished I totally recommend it it is an amazing story about an insecure girl and her brother with cancer and an angel comes to be her friend and help her.
              • silverpheonix20
                silverpheonix20Tuesday, January 3, 2017 at 3:31 pm
                Great summary! But no spoilers! Remember?
              • oreoshershey
                oreoshersheyTuesday, September 27, 2016 at 7:38 am55 stars
                I love this book I didn't put it down until I was finished
                • nonstopreader
                  nonstopreaderWednesday, September 21, 2016 at 4:47 am
                  This book is very good and I recommend it to older kids. It is very interesting and at some parts you can't put it down.
                  • puppy Monday, August 29, 2016 at 9:35 am
                    I love this book it is really amazing and it shows you that when you have a hard time your guardian angel will always help you hope you like this book
                    • hihi2468
                      hihi2468Sunday, April 24, 2016 at 10:47 am
                      I WANT TO READ THIS BOOK. I think it would be enjoyable, engaging and interesting!