Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.777369

And as streams of light fan out behind the darkened sun like the wings of a butterfly, I realize that I never saw real beauty until now.

At Moon Shadow, an isolated campground, thousands have gathered to catch a glimpse of a rare and extraordinary total eclipse of the sun. It's also were three lives are about to be changed forever:

Ally likes the simple things in life--labyrinths, star-gazing, and comet-hunting. Her home, the Moon Shadow campground, is a part of who she is, and she refuses to imagine it any other way.

Popular and gorgeous (everybody says so), Bree is a future homecoming queen for sure. Bree wears her beauty like a suit of armor. But what is she trying to hide?

Overweight and awkward, jack is used to spending a lot of time alone. But when opportunity knocks, he finds himself in situations he never would have imagined and making friends in the most unexpected situations.

Told from three distinct voices and perspectives, Wendy Mass weaves an intricate and compelling story about strangers coming together, unlikely friendships, and finding one's place in the universe.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on October 1, 2008 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316002569
ISBN-13: 9780316002561
58 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • J HAPPYREADERWednesday, August 7, 2019 at 4:57 pm
    This book shows that people can change and that nature's presence can bring out who you really are. I liked how the book was separated into chapters based on the person's perspective (Ally, Jack and Bree). By the end of the book the main characters have changed. Jack was way more into science. Bree was less " anti-outside" , and Ally was less attached to the camp. These characters rely on each other and help each other change. It was interesting to watch their evolution. Wendy Mass has done a great job making characters become close to your heart. It was a lovable book.
    • Angel Wang Saturday, February 23, 2019 at 11:36 am
      I love reading it really entertains me with characters and their personalities. It’s a really book. ( I’m almost half way done with this book. It’s really fun to read
      • GraceTuesday, December 18, 2018 at 3:01 pm
        I love it sooooooooooo much it was inspiring* I wanna create something like that but the book was sooooo good I couldn't write a book like that
        • GraceTuesday, December 18, 2018 at 2:59 pm
          I love dis book
          • amela
            amelaThursday, September 13, 2018 at 7:04 pm33 stars
            I didn't really like this book, but I have to say that the story line was really interesting. Even though I didn't really like this book, Wendy Mass is a great Author, and I hope that other readers will like this book better than I did! (Sorry to all the people who love this book!)
            • bookstory13
              bookstory13Wednesday, June 27, 2018 at 11:23 am55 stars
              I think this is a really good book because of the ending. (I'm not going to spoil it for you though) Basically, there is Ally, a girl who loves nature and it is all she's ever known, Bree, the girl who dreams and is well on the way of being a supermodel, and Jack, who is nice but has terrible grades. These characters meet and begin a unique friendship. It is unique because they wouldn't have probably be friends with the other person. It's just not their type I guess. Another reason why I like this book is because Jack lucid dreams...like being awake but dreaming at the same time. I've been TRYING and it's not working but hey I'm still trying! DEFINITELY read this heartwarming book even if you're busy! --BKS reviews
              • armcginn
                armcginnFriday, June 22, 2018 at 10:23 am
                Three very different lives, collide unexpectedly at the time of the solar eclipse, told from the perspectives of Ally,(who loves the simple things in life), Bree, who loves being popular, and Jack the awkward, and misunderstood artist.
                • #SlimeLover Friday, April 27, 2018 at 7:36 am
                  I love this book ❤️💕📖
                  • doggieelsie12
                    doggieelsie12Friday, April 27, 2018 at 7:03 am55 stars
                    I gave this book a 5-star rating because I really like this book because it gives a lot of facts about the stars and the solar system. I also like this book because there are different perspectives and they all meet together. If you like humor and science books, then you should check this book out.
                    • unicornhearts
                      unicornheartsThursday, December 29, 2016 at 1:03 pm33 stars
                      it was really good