Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.777369

And as streams of light fan out behind the darkened sun like the wings of a butterfly, I realize that I never saw real beauty until now.

At Moon Shadow, an isolated campground, thousands have gathered to catch a glimpse of a rare and extraordinary total eclipse of the sun. It's also were three lives are about to be changed forever:

Ally likes the simple things in life--labyrinths, star-gazing, and comet-hunting. Her home, the Moon Shadow campground, is a part of who she is, and she refuses to imagine it any other way.

Popular and gorgeous (everybody says so), Bree is a future homecoming queen for sure. Bree wears her beauty like a suit of armor. But what is she trying to hide?

Overweight and awkward, jack is used to spending a lot of time alone. But when opportunity knocks, he finds himself in situations he never would have imagined and making friends in the most unexpected situations.

Told from three distinct voices and perspectives, Wendy Mass weaves an intricate and compelling story about strangers coming together, unlikely friendships, and finding one's place in the universe.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on October 1, 2008 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316002569
ISBN-13: 9780316002561
62 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sylvie55555
    sylvie55555Wednesday, July 29, 2020 at 1:07 pm44 stars
    Ally and Bree are two very different people. Ally lives in a campsite with her family, and she is home schooled and mostly isolated from the rest of the world and other kids her age. Bree is popular, and she works hard to stay there. She loves her life, and her new summer job. She wants to be a model when she grows up. Ally loves living in the campsite with her family. Bree loves living in the suburbs with her family. So when they find out the Bree's parents will be handling the campsite for 3 years, neither is happy. Will they be able to work together and solve it? Read the book to find out! Happy Reading!
    • toodorky
      toodorkyMonday, June 8, 2020 at 9:56 am55 stars
      I loved this book! Ally, Jack, and Bree are brought together at a rare solar eclipse. Ally has to move to the city, and Bree has to move to Ally's old house, the campground. They both hate the arrangement, and they work together to try to stop their parents from deciding on the worst. Meanwhile, Jack doesn't want to be here, but tht all changes when he meets Bree and Ally and Ryan and Kenny, Ally's brother. They become friends and help each other through the tough times, even when the worst arrives.
      • nac
        nacMonday, May 18, 2020 at 4:12 pm55 stars
        Ally is going to have to leave the only home she has ever known. Bree is going to move away from her friends and dreams for the future. Jack is going to be an assistant eclipse guide when he can hardly understand science at all. When they meet, they seem to have nothing in common, but when they see the eclipse, everything changes, and all of the sudden they have everything in common. A heart touching story about how small we are compared to the universe. And how everybody has something in common.
        • blossomreader
          blossomreaderMonday, May 4, 2020 at 10:45 am55 stars
          I loved this book! Wendy Mass does it again! Ever Soul A Star is a very touching novel about finding out you true self. Three kids, Ally, Bree, and Jack, are brought together by a rare solar eclipse. Thy are totally different people; Jack likes to draw and is not at all the smartest kid there is. Bree is a ll about fashion, and Ally is a smart and carefree girl who loves science and helping others. Little did they know that one extraordinary event will change their lives forever. Where exactly do they belong in the world? It's up to them to find out. I love this book about friendship and the true meaning behind it.
          • J HAPPYREADERWednesday, August 7, 2019 at 4:57 pm
            This book shows that people can change and that nature's presence can bring out who you really are. I liked how the book was separated into chapters based on the person's perspective (Ally, Jack and Bree). By the end of the book the main characters have changed. Jack was way more into science. Bree was less " anti-outside" , and Ally was less attached to the camp. These characters rely on each other and help each other change. It was interesting to watch their evolution. Wendy Mass has done a great job making characters become close to your heart. It was a lovable book.
            • Angel Wang Saturday, February 23, 2019 at 11:36 am
              I love reading it really entertains me with characters and their personalities. It’s a really book. ( I’m almost half way done with this book. It’s really fun to read
              • GraceTuesday, December 18, 2018 at 3:01 pm
                I love it sooooooooooo much it was inspiring* I wanna create something like that but the book was sooooo good I couldn't write a book like that
                • GraceTuesday, December 18, 2018 at 2:59 pm
                  I love dis book
                  • amela
                    amelaThursday, September 13, 2018 at 7:04 pm33 stars
                    I didn't really like this book, but I have to say that the story line was really interesting. Even though I didn't really like this book, Wendy Mass is a great Author, and I hope that other readers will like this book better than I did! (Sorry to all the people who love this book!)
                    • bookstory14
                      bookstory14Wednesday, June 27, 2018 at 11:23 am55 stars
                      I think this is a really good book because of the ending. (I'm not going to spoil it for you though) Basically, there is Ally, a girl who loves nature and it is all she's ever known, Bree, the girl who dreams and is well on the way of being a supermodel, and Jack, who is nice but has terrible grades. These characters meet and begin a unique friendship. It is unique because they wouldn't have probably be friends with the other person. It's just not their type I guess. Another reason why I like this book is because Jack lucid dreams...like being awake but dreaming at the same time. I've been TRYING and it's not working but hey I'm still trying! DEFINITELY read this heartwarming book even if you're busy! --BKS reviews