Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.6125061
Sophie uncovers shocking secrets—and faces treacherous new enemies—in this electrifying third book in the Keeper of the Lost Cities series.

Sophie Foster is ready to fight back.

Her talents are getting stronger, and with the elusive Black Swan group ignoring her calls for help, she’s determined to find her kidnappers—before they come after her again.

But a daring mistake leaves her world teetering on the edge of war, and causes many to fear that she has finally gone too far. And the deeper Sophie searches, the farther the conspiracy stretches, proving that her most dangerous enemy might be closer than she realizes.

In this nail-biting third book in the Keeper of the Lost Cities series, Sophie must fight the flames of rebellion, before they destroy everyone and everything she loves.
Paperback, 640 pages
Published on August 4, 2015 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442446005
ISBN-13: 9781442446007
28 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • squirrelflight
    squirrelflightWednesday, September 9, 2020 at 3:51 pm55 starsFeatured
    Okay, Everblaze completely exceeded my expectations. That’s all I have to say about this book. I was crying, laughing, and simply astounded while I read this, and the characters were amazing. Every time Shannon Messenger writes a book, her writing seems to get better and better, even when you think there’s no room for improvement. The third book in the Keeper of the Lost Cities is a sweet surprise that will keep you on your toes in anticipation throughout the whole book. Summary: Thirteen-year-old Sophie Foster is ready. She has waited for too long, looking at information that may be a hoax—and now, it’s time for her to fight back against the evil kidnappers who tried to kill her because of her telepathic abilities. She has friends by her side...and she will not lose this battle. But when Sophie encounters an ogre and makes a big mistake that everyone blames her for, she feels anxious, trapped in her own world. Soon, she is thrown into a conspiracy, which makes her think...that her enemies may be closer than she realized—and they’re just waiting for the right moment to strike. Can she and her friends defeat the kidnappers, before it’s too late? Read this book to find out! I would definitely rate this book 5/5 stars, and I can guarantee that you will love reading Everblaze, as well as the rest of the books in the Keeper of the Lost Cities series.
    • Vi-vi 5Wednesday, September 9, 2020 at 10:14 am
      Just like all the other books in this series, I was amazed. It lured me in, and I couldn't seem to stop until I was done.
      • kkgautamm
        kkgautammFriday, August 14, 2020 at 12:39 pm44 stars
        i love sophie and fitz together so much! the plot points focused on financing are so interesting, and they make the book impossible to put down. the battle on mount everest was super fast paced and cool to read about.
        • bsc
          bscWednesday, August 12, 2020 at 7:46 am55 stars
          This book was so good! There was a lot if heartbreak, but I still loved it. In this book, Sophie finds some secrets that are shocking, and has some sad loses. Join Sophie again in the 3rd book,for another adventure.
          • annafantastic
            annafantasticTuesday, July 28, 2020 at 1:43 am55 stars
            OMG really good!!
            • toodorky
              toodorkySunday, May 17, 2020 at 1:54 pm44 stars
              This book was so cool! I loved the secrets! This book is about Sophie doing something terribly wrong with the encounter of an ogre, which causes people to think that Sophie has finally gone to far. Sophie is forced to wear something that will block her abilities, which makes her in pain and humiliated. Her friends and family are furious, mainly because Dex, Sophie's friend, made the gadget! That's not the only thing wrong. Sophie is trying to find Jolie's kidnapper, and if she finds him, that means she found another unregistered pyrokinetic. Who set the fire that killed Grady and Edaline's daughter? Turns out that Sophie has seen him numerous times.... Mean while, the bad guys are still on the hunt. Sophie and her friends plan to ambush them, but what they find out will change Keefe entirely. Her friends are in for a treat. A yucky, disgusting treat.
              • blossomreader
                blossomreaderFriday, May 8, 2020 at 8:41 am55 stars
                Oh My God! This book was so thrilling!!! I loved it! Shannon Messenger does it again! Everblaze is about Sophie, and Jolie's killer. Who is it? Is it someone they know? It turns out he/she was right in front of her this whole time. They know it's a pyrokinetic, but who is that pyrokinetic? Sophie has also been asked to heal Fintan, but what if it was a mistake? This book is amazing, with twists and turns you never expect. This book was a little scary for me, but it was so great that I had to read it all night! I know this book will satisfy anyone because it covers trust and other qualities that everyone can have.
                • 4usa
                  4usaThursday, May 7, 2020 at 5:36 am55 stars
                  This is the third book in the best series ever! Sophie is asked to bring a certain broken mind back with Fitz as her guide! When they do so a counselor dies and when they chose a new one they decide that they are going to take Sophies abilities! When she finds the Neverseen member who killed Jolie and realizes that her friends are in danger! Dex helps her get her abilities back and she goes to help them! They find out who is leaking information to the Neverseen and make the decision to go join the Black Swan!
                  • nac
                    nacSunday, May 3, 2020 at 11:14 am55 stars
                    Now that Sophie's powers are fixed, everything is supposed to go back to normal- but it hasn't. Now she under an assignment from the council, and she has to heal the mind of a dangerous criminal. On top of that she has to telepathicly check-in on Silveny the Alicorn, Find a password for a mirror, and give the verminion a bath. But Sophie's kidnappers are still out there- and they have plans of there own.
                    • bsc
                      bscThursday, April 16, 2020 at 12:13 pm55 stars
                      This book was awesome! So Sophie knows she has to fight back. Sophie is able to fix broken minds. So the council wants Sophie to fix Fintan's mind. Sophie has to do this and to find her kidnappers. In this book, Sophie discovers secrets and this book was a page turner!!