Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y4.360779
Is it possible to grow up while getting younger?

Welcome to Elsewhere. It is warm, with a breeze, and the beaches are marvelous. It’s quiet and peaceful. You can’t get sick or any older. Curious to see new paintings by Picasso? Swing by one of Elsewhere’s museums. Need to talk to someone about your problems? Stop by Marilyn Monroe’s psychiatric practice.
Elsewhere is where fifteen-year-old Liz Hall ends up, after she has died. It is a place so like Earth, yet completely different. Here Liz will age backward from the day of her death until she becomes a baby again and returns to Earth. But Liz wants to turn sixteen, not fourteen again. She wants to get her driver’s license. She wants to graduate from high school and go to college. And now that she’s dead, Liz is being forced to live a life she doesn’t want with a grandmother she has only just met. And it is not going well. How can Liz let go of the only life she has ever known and embrace a new one? Is it possible that a life lived in reverse is no different from a life lived forward? This moving, often funny book about grief, death, and loss will stay with the reader long after the last page is turned.
Elsewhere is a 2006 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on September 9, 2005 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN-10: 0374320918
ISBN-13: 9780374320911
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • love_books
    love_booksTuesday, March 12, 2019 at 7:53 pm55 stars
    I loved this book❤❤❤❤. It is he best book in the whole world. Some people might disagree and i'm fine with that but i highly recommend reading it. It makes you not want to put it down. i already read it 8 times in one month. ❤❤❤❤📖📖📖📖❤❤❤❤
    • sofi_22
      sofi_22Tuesday, February 5, 2019 at 10:38 am
      This book was such an amazing book! I love this book so much. READ IT OR ELSE YOU WILL DIE AND GO TO ELSEWHERE!!!!!!! Sorry for the spoilers.
      • futbolmagicican
        futbolmagicicanWednesday, December 19, 2018 at 4:39 pm55 stars
        Liz, an adelescont teenager who happened to die after a tragic accident suddfenly finds herself in elsewhere. A place where no one dies or grows old. Instead they grow younger. Here liz learns love,loss,and grows stronger as the book goes on. I highly recomend this book for readers of all ages. BEST BOOK EVER!
        • quirkysquirrel
          quirkysquirrelTuesday, October 23, 2018 at 11:59 am55 stars
          Wonderful book! If only there was a sequel about the life of Liz who is not Liz!
          • sharpeigrace
            sharpeigraceTuesday, October 23, 2018 at 11:48 am55 stars
            This is a wonderful story about the life of Liz after she gets killed in an accident. She finds herself in Elsewhere, where she must live her life in reverse.
            • wow257
              wow257Tuesday, June 21, 2016 at 5:35 pm
              I think the author has opened up a new and interesting theory about how the afterlife could be. I have seen many theories about it, through religions and stories, but none as unique as this one. It's like the scientific concept of a parallel universe.
              • kittycat87
                kittycat87Monday, November 2, 2015 at 10:49 am55 stars
                In the book Elsewhere, Elizabeth Hall has found herself in Elsewhere after dying in a car accident. After taking a long ride on the SS Nile, Liz has finally realized that she's not in a dream after all, but dead. When she arrives on Elsewhere, she meets her grandmother, Betty, for the very first time. And learns in Elsewhere, lives are lived backward from the age of a person's death. Liz would never be sixteen, never have a driver's license, never graduate from high school or go to college or get married. The only thing she has to look forward to is growing younger, until she becomes an infant and is sent back to Earth to be born again. Liz spends her first month on Elsewhere at the Observation Decks where she can watch her family, and friends back on Earth. In the end Liz gets closer to grandmother Betty, takes a job in the animal shelter helping pets find new owners, until she is sent back to earth. I really liked the book. I liked the book because it was really interesting. I also really liked it because it was a cool idea, how it took place after the main character dies.
                • cami4
                  cami4Monday, November 10, 2014 at 10:00 pm55 stars
                  oh may gosh. i could use three words for this book... BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!! wow just the book i've been wating for, so amazing!!!!!!!!!!<3
                  • cami4
                    cami4Monday, July 14, 2014 at 10:39 am55 stars
                    oh may gosh. i could use three words for this book... BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!! wow just the book i've been wating for, so amazing!!!!!!!!!!
                    • ikyra_marie
                      ikyra_marieMonday, April 28, 2014 at 8:19 pm
                      This author has an amazing imagination.